All holders of trade licences, including both non-left-hand-drive trade licences (“red plates”) and left-hand-drive trade licences (“blue plates”), are required to submit applications in advance if they wish to have their trade licences re-issued under the same numbers upon expiry.

The documents and procedures required for applying for a trade licence under the same trade plate number are as follows:

Licence holder is required to submit application in advance, and send the following documents in person or by post to the Driving-offence Points Office of the Transport Department at United Centre, 95 Queensway, Hong Kong, or by fax to 2143 6194:

  1. a letter stating the reason(s) for applying for trade licence using the same trade plate number;
  2. a copy of holder's H.K. Identity Card / Certificate of Incorporation;
  3. a copy of holder's valid Business Registration Certificate
  4. copies of register of journeys in respect of trade licence showing all journey records of the preceding 3 months (with company chop and the authorized signature); and
  5. copies of address proof of all showroom, carpark or garage used for operating the business (only utility bills, bank statements or a rental agreement with rental receipts issued within the recent 3 months are accepted)

Depending on the circumstances, the Transport Department may require an applicant to provide additional information to show that he still operates in the relevant motor business, such as (a) photos of the business venue, (b) advertisement copy with invoice for placing the advertisement, (c) contractual agreement with other motor businesses, (d) details of the vehicles handled and / or (e) copy of IRD profit tax return (BIR51 or BIR52) filed with IRD recently.

Upon receipt of all documents required, the Transport Department will notify the applicant in writing of the preliminary result within 14 working days.  If approval-in-principle is given, the applicant shall bring along all of the following documents and fee within one month from the date of the approval-in-principle letter to Counter 7 of the Hong Kong Licensing Office of this Department at 3/F, United Centre, 95 Queensway, Hong Kong for the issue of trade licence:

  1. completed application form (TD24). Please put a "√" against the right-hand side box (□) in part C;
  2. original of the approval-in-principle letter issued by this department;
  3. a certificate of third party risk insurance covering the use of trade licence approved;
  4. a total of $614 for each licence (for payment of the annual fee of $500 plus $114 as a contribution to the Traffic Accident Victims Assistance Scheme).

Generally, an application submitted by a trade licence holder as early as 4 months before the expiry date of his original trade licence will also be accepted.

If you want to apply for a trade licence under the same trade plate number, please read the application information and follow the respective procedures. Please note that you are required to submit a new application for trade licence if you fail to apply for a trade licence under the same plate number before the expiry date of your licence.

If you have any enquiries, please call 2804 2302 or 2804 2330.

持有试车牌照,包括非左軚车辆试车牌照(红牌)及左軚车辆试车牌照(蓝牌)的人士如拟在牌照有效期届满後继续使用原有试车字牌,须向本署预先提出申请,并将所需文件递交或邮寄往香港金钟道95 号统一中心3 楼运输署违例驾驶记分办事处,或传真至2143 6194。

以下为申请继续使用原有试车牌照及字牌的所需交件及安排:

试车牌照持有人须向本署预先提出申请,并将以下文件递交或邮寄往香港金钟道95 号统一中心3 楼运输署违例驾驶记分办事处,或传真至2143 6194:

  1. 注明申请试车牌照(继续使用运输署编配的试车字牌)的原因及用途的信件;
  2. 试车牌照持牌人的身份证明文件副本 / 有限公司注册证副本;
  3. 有效的商业登记证副本;
  4. 最近三个月使用试车牌照的行程纪录副本(附有公司印章及公司负责人签署); 及
  5. 公司用於相关汽车业务的营业地址证明(即汽车陈列室、停车场、车房等用作营运用途的地址) (只接受最近三个月内发出显示公司名称的水电费单据、银行月结单或租约连租金收据)

运输署可视乎情况,要求申请人提供其他业务证明文件以确认申请人仍然从事有关车辆业务,例如: (a)营业地址相片、(b)广告和刊登广告的单据、(c)与其他从事车辆业务的公司的合约、 (d)业务上掌管的车辆的详情等、 及 / 或 (e) 最近一次提交税务局的利得税报税表(BIR51 或BIR52)。

本署在收到所有必须文件後的14 个工作天内会就申请的初步结果以书面通知申请人。如申请获原则上批准,申请人须於「原则上批准签发试车牌照」信件发出日期的一个月内带备以下文件及款项往香港金钟道95 号统一中心三楼本署的香港牌照事务处第七号柜位办理发牌手续:

  1. 填妥的表格(TD24)请在丙部右边空格(□)内加上"√"号;
  2. 「原则上批准签发试车牌照」的信件的正本;
  3. 有关使用所批准之试车牌照的第三保险证书;及
  4. 合共614 元款项。(以用作缴付每个牌照年费500 元及捐助交通意外伤亡援助计划114 元)

一般而言,试车牌照持有人最早可在试车牌照有效期届满前的4 个月向本署提出申请。

如需申请继续使用运输署编配的试车字牌,请参阅试车牌照申请资料。请注意,无论你的试车牌照有效期何时届满,如你未能在试车牌照有效期届满前向本署申请继续使用运输署编配的试车字牌,你便须向本署重新申请新的试车牌照。

如有疑问,请致电2804 2302或2804 2330查询。