Customs and Excise Department, Environmental Protection Department and Transport Department will be involved separately in the importation to and registration of motor vehicles in Hong Kong. The following guidelines explain the relevant necessary procedures. For importation and registration of a pure electric vehicle (PEV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), please refer to “Guidelines for Importation & Registration of Pure Electric Vehicle (PEV) and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV)”.

Step 1 : Compliance with the Exhaust and Noise Emissions Standard

You are advised to obtain approval / exemption from the Environmental Protection Department before shipping your vehicle into Hong Kong.

You are required to prove your vehicle is fully compliant with the emission standards in the Air Pollution Control (Vehicle Design Standards)(Emission) Regulation and Noise Control (Motor Vehicles) Regulation. Proof of emission compliance can be documents issued by vehicle manufacturers or emission testing report issued by an approved test laboratory. You should submit application form to the Environmental Protection Department for approval together with all original supporting documents.

Subject to the fulfillment of exemption criteria, certain catergories of vehicles may be exempted from complying the exhaust emission standard. You may apply to the Environmental Protection Department for the exemption. Enquiries on approved test laboratories, emission standards and exemption criteria can be made to telephone numbers: (852)2877 0448 (Exhaust emission); (852)2411 9665 (Noise emission) or fax number: (852)2824 9361.

Step 2 : Importation

Vehicle, no matter whether it is a company car or not, imported into Hong Kong is not subject to any Customs tax, but in general, an importer is required to lodge with the Customs and Excise Department an accurate and complete declaration within 14 days of importation. For importer already registered with one of the three service providers appointed by the Government, he can lodge import declaration to the Government directly from his personal computer. For occasional importer and individual, they can lodge import declarations at the service centres set up by the service providers and their partners to convert paper declarations for electronic transmission. For further information about the electronic lodgement service, or to register for using the service, please call (in alphabetical order) Brio Electronic Commerce Ltd at 2111 1288, Global e-Trading Services Ltd at 8201 0082, or Tradelink Electronic Commerce Ltd at 2599 1700.

Also, within 30 days of the importation of your vehicle, you should submit an Import Return (Form No.: CED336) enclosing with a Declaration Form (Form No.: CED336A) to the Customs and Excise Department or through the Motor Vehicles First Registration Tax System website. Enquiries on the submission of Import Return can be made at Tel No.: (852) 3759 2555.

Any importer of a motor vehicle for use in Hong Kong, fails to file the import return within 30 days of the importation of a motor vehicle into Hong Kong, commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine of $500,000 and to imprisonment for 12 months.

Following the submission of your Import Return, you will receive a "Notification of Motor Vehicle Provisional Taxable Value" of your vehicle from the Customs and Excise Department. You should produce the Notification upon the first registration of your vehicle in the Transport Department.

Step 3 : Vehicle Examination

Before importing a vehicle, you are reminded to ensure that it meets the applicable requirements for registration in Hong Kong, and that documentary evidence is available to demonstrate compliance where applicable.

Upon the arrival of your imported vehicle in Hong Kong, you should approach the following Vehicle Examination Centre to arrange for the vehicle examination. You are required to bring along with the approval letter issued by the Environmental Protection Department to show that your car has complied with the vehicle exhaust emission and noise emission standards and pay the appropriate fee for vehicle examination :-

Address Telephone
To Kwa Wan Vehicle Examination Centre
Long Yuet Street
Kowloon
2333 3112

If you are eligible for the exemption from compliance with the vehicle emission standard as stated in Step 1 above, you should bring along with the approval letter of exemption issued by the Environmental Protection Department for making the appointment of vehicle examination at the Examination Centre. All imported vehicles equipped with internal combustion engine, including new cars imported for personal use, should undergo emission test during vehicle examination if necessary. Your car will be issued with a Certificate of Roadworthiness by the Examination Centre if it can pass the vehicle examination.

Vehicles presented for vehicle examination (pre-registration examination) need to comply with the provisions of the Road Traffic Ordinance, Chapter 374 and its subsidiary legislation, and should be maintained in good and serviceable condition. In particular,

  1. The vehicle construction shall comply with the Road Traffic (Construction and Maintenance of Vehicles) Regulation, Cap. 374A;
  2. The seat belts and seat belt anchorage points shall comply with the provisions of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations, Cap. 374F. All seat belts shall be permanently marked with a specification number, mark or symbol indicating compliance with the standards listed in the regulations;
  3. The windscreen and panes on the vehicle shall be of safety glass complying with the standards specified in Cap. 374H. In addition, all vehicle glass shall be of such transparency that it does not obscure the view of the interior of the motor vehicle. Please refer to the notice on latest light transmission rate requirements at our website.(The above ordinance and regulations are available online, URL: http://www.legislation.gov.hk/eng/home.htm); and
  4. For registration and licensing purposes, imported vehicles would be classified in accordance with the Road Traffic Ordinance, Cap. 374.

You are strongly recommended to visit the following website for checking any requirements that may be applicable to your imported vehicle :-www.td.gov.hk/en/public_services/vehicle_examination/vehicle_examination/index.html

Step 4 : Vehicle Registration and Licensing

When applying for first registration of your vehicle, you should submit a completed application form (Form No.: TD22 ) to the Hong Kong Licensing Office of Transport Department (Tel No.: (852) 2804 2637 or Fax No.: 2804 2599) together with the supporting documents as prescribed in the application form. Upon the verification of your submitted document, you are required to pay first registration tax and registration fee for the registration of your vehicle, and pay vehicle licence fee and levy for Traffic Accident Victim Assistance Fund for licensing of the vehicle.

Step 5 : Calculation of First Registration Tax

The first registration tax will be derived from the taxable value of your vehicle times the appropriate tax rate. The rate is as shown below :-

Class of Motor VehicleRate of Tax
I.     Private cars
 
       (a)   on the first $150,000
40%
       (b)   on the next $150,000
75%
       (c)   on the next $200,000
100%
       (d)   on the remainder
115%
II. Motor cycles and motor tricycles
35%
III. (a)  Goods vehicles, other than van-type light goods vehicles (LGV)
15%
       (b)  Van-type LGV not exceeding 1.9 tonnes permitted gross vehicle weight:
 
         (i) on the first $150,000
35%
         (ii) on the next $150,000
65%
         (iii) on the remainder
85%
       (c)  Van-type LGV exceeding 1.9 tonnes permitted gross vehicle weight
17%
IV.   Taxis, Light buses, Buses and Special purpose vehicles
3.7%

Application for the registration and licensing of a left hand drive vehicle will not be accepted unless there are special circumstances.

For the "Procedures for Importation and Registration of Motor Vehicles and Motor Cycles", please click here PDF (571 KB).

Notes for attention :

Applicants are required to produce proof of present address (residential address and correspondence address) which is issued not more than 3 months from the application date when submitting licensing applications. Details of acceptable address proof can be referred to the following link. Transport Department may suspend the processing of licensing applications until the production of address proof.

For reference purposes, the public can search the current highest approved Published Retail Price (PRP) of the vehicle models by using the searching function in the Motor Vehicles First Registration Tax System of the Customs and Excise Department accessed through the websites of Transport Department or Customs and Excise Department.

香港海关、环境保护署及运输署分别负责处理在香港进口及登记车辆的事宜。以下指引阐明有关的所需程序。有关进口及登记纯电动车辆及插电式混合动力车辆的事宜,请参阅“进口及登记纯电动车辆及插电式混合动力车辆指引”。

第一步:符合车辆废气及噪音排放的标准

在把车辆输入香港之前,你宜先向环境保护署申请批准 / 豁免。

你必须证明其车辆已完全符合《空气污染管制(车辆设计标准)(排放)规例》和《噪音管制(汽车)规例》的规定。符合排放标准的证明文件可以是由汽车制造商发出的文件或认可的车辆排放测试实验室签发的排放测试报告。你须将申请表连同所有支持文件的正本递交环境保护署以作审批。

然而,在符合指定的的豁免条件下,若干类别的车辆可获豁免无需符合排放标准。有关排放标准及豁免申请的查询,请致电环境保护署: 2877 0448(废气); 2411 9689(噪音)或传真: 2824 9361。

第二步:进口

任何类别的车辆,进口香港均毋须缴交关税。但一般而言,进口车辆人士必须在车辆进口 14 日内,向香港海关作出准确及全面的申报。如对办理进/出口报关有任何疑问,请参考以下连结
[http://www.customs.gov.hk/tc/cargo_clearance/declaration/index.html]的内容。

此外,你亦须在车辆进口后 30 日内,填报进口申报表〔表格 CED336 〕,连同声明书〔表格 CED336A 〕送交香港海关车辆评值课,或透过「汽车首次登记税系统」网站递交申请。有关提交进口申报表的查询,请致电3759 2556,或参考以下连结
[http://www.customs.gov.hk/tc/trade_facilitation/vehicles/index.html]的内容。

凡进口汽车以供在本港使用的人士,而未能遵照在汽车进口 30 日内提交进口申请表,即属违法,一经定罪,可处罚款 $500,000 及监禁 12 个月。

你提交进口申报表后,香港海关会发出「汽车暂定税值通知书」。该通知书为车辆申请作首次登记时须向本署提交的文件之一。

第三步:车辆检验

进口车辆前,请确定该车辆符合在香港作登记的适用规定,并备存有关证明文件以备查核。

车辆进口香港后,你必须到以下验车中心为车辆安排检验。届时,请带同由环境保护署签发的批准书,证明该车辆符合车辆废气排放标准和噪音排放标准,并缴交所需的验车费用:

地址 电话
九龙朗月街土瓜湾验车中心 2333 3112

如合资格获豁免符合上文第1段所述的车辆废气排放标准,则须带同由环境保护署签发的豁免批准书,到验车中心预约车辆检验时间。所有装有内燃引擎的进口车辆,包括进口作私人用途的新车,如有需要,在验车时会接受废气测试。通过检验的车辆会获验车中心签发检验汽车机械及格证书。

拟进行车辆检验(登记前的车辆检验)的车辆必须符合《道路交通条例》(第374章)及其附属规例的规定,以及保持在良好及可使用的状态,特别是:

  1. 车辆构造必须符合《道路交通(车辆构造及保养)规例》(第374A章)的规定;
  2. 安全带及安全带固定点须符合《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(第374F章)的规定。所有安全带均须注上规格编号、标记或符号的永久标记,显示该安全带符合规例订明的标准;
  3. 车辆的挡风玻璃及窗须为符合法例第374H章所定标准的安全玻璃。另外,所有车辆玻璃就透明度而言,不得令该汽车内部景观不清晰。有关車辆玻璃最新的透光率规定,请参阅本署网页上的通告。(上述条例及规例均可在以下网址查阅:http://www.elegislation.gov.hk);
  4. 进口车辆办理登记及领取牌照时,会按《道路交通条例》(第374章)的规定予以分类。

本署强烈建议你到此网址,就拟进口的车辆查阅本署的相关规定。

第四步:车辆登记及领牌

申请车辆的首次登记时,你须将已填妥的运输署表格 TD 22 ,连同该表格中指定的所须文件,交往运输署香港牌照事务处。当核实你提交的资料后,你须先缴付适当的首次登记税、登记费、车辆牌照费及交通意外伤亡援助基金的征费,我们才可为你的车辆登记及发牌。关于车辆登记及领牌的查询,请电: 2804 2637 或传真: 2804 2599 。

第五步:计算首次登记税

车辆的首次登记税是按由香港海关评定的应课税价值乘以下列的税率计算,其税率如下:

汽车类别税率
I. 私家车
 
      [a] 最初的 $150,000
40%
  [b] 其次的 $150,000
75%
  [c] 其次的 $200,000
100%
  [d] 余额
115%
II. 电单车及机动三轮车
35%
III. [a] 客货车以外的货车
15%
  [b] 许可车辆总重不超过 1.9公吨的客货车
 
    [i] 最初的 $150,000
35%
    [ii] 其次的 $150,000    
65%
    [iii] 余额
85%
  [c] 许可车辆总重超过 1.9公吨的客货车
17%
IV. 的士、小巴、巴士或特别用途车辆
3.7%

除非有特殊情况,否则当局不会接纳左軚车的登记及发牌。

有关「 汽车和电单车的进口及登记程序 」,请按这里下载。PDF (1.69 MB).

注意事项 :

申请人在提交各类牌照申请时需出示其现时地址的证明(住址及通讯地址)。运输署在收到申请人的地址证明前,可暂停处理该等申请

公众人士现时可透过运输署或海关网页登入海关的「汽车首次登记税系统」中的搜寻公布零售价目表功能,查询某汽车型号现时最高的核准公布零售价,以作参考。