Moving off

Before moving off, always use your mirror, but look round as well for a final check. Look out for pedestrians who may be crossing or standing by your vehicle. A small child may be hidden from view. Signal if necessary before moving out, move off only when you can do so safely without making other road users change speed or direction.

Driving along

Keep to the left except when traffic signs or road markings indicate you may do otherwise or when intending to overtake, or turn right, or when you have to pass stationary vehicles or pedestrians on the road. Allow others to overtake if they want to.Do not drive on a footpath or pavement by the side of the road. Do not drive on a hard shoulder, hard strip or verge.

When driving keep away from the edge of the road. Do not drive close to the pavement or verge; allow room for a pedestrian to step onto the roadway. When passing parked vehicles allow room for a door to be opened. Parts of your vehicle may overhang, such as mirrors, if so allow more room.

You must not allow passengers to hold the steering wheel or to lean out of a window.

In a traffic hold-up or in slow moving traffic, do not try to jump the queue by cutting into another lane or by overtaking the vehicles waiting in front of you.

On narrow or winding roads, or where there is a lot of oncoming traffic, drivers of large or slow-moving vehicles should be prepared to pull in, and slow down or stop, as soon as there is a suitable opportunity to do so, to give faster vehicles a chance to overtake.

illustration

Driving for long periods may make you feel sleepy. To help prevent this, make sure there is plenty of fresh air in your vehicle.
If you start to get tired, stop and rest at a suitable parking place.

Do not drive while wearing earphones. Do not play an audio device loudly as it would distract your attention towards emergency siren or horns. You must not watch a television while driving.

Avoid using a hand-held car/mobile telephone whilst driving. You will not have proper control of your vehicle and the conversation may distract you. If you wish to make a call or answer the phone, either stop in a safe place or ask a passenger to make or take the call for you.

Drivers are to be advised to use a hands-free device should they wish to use car/mobile telephone while driving.

Safe and courteous driving

Bad driving habits and manners are more than irksome and rude, they are often dangerous and sometimes illegal. You should be more courteous and co-operative. Bad driving adds to congestion and general aggravation.

Always avoid:

Travelling too fast - Observe the speed limit and match your speed with the traffic flow, taking note of the road and weather conditions and your own ability. Remember that as speed increases, your reaction time, stopping distance and the severity of any accident increases.

Going too slow - Although some consider this to be safer driving, it may be irritating to other drivers. If you observe traffic building up behind you, look for an opportunity to move over or pull off the road to allow other motorists to pass. On a multi-lane road, merge quickly but safely, matching your speed with other traffic. Allow faster moving vehicles to overtake.

Following too close - Following too close to the vehicle in front is a major cause of accidents. Maintain the correct stopping distance between you and the vehicle in front. ( See page 46 'Stopping Distance'.)

Unsafe overtaking - Keep left unless overtaking. Do not overtake unless it is safe to do so; indicate your intention both before and after the manoeuvre and observe other traffic both behind and ahead of you. The manoeuvre should be done quickly but smoothly. When being overtaken, do not increase your speed, but be prepared to slow down if necessary. Overtake only on the offside.

Failure to use direction indicators - accidents can be prevented if other drivers know of your intentions to change direction. Therefore, use the direction indicators in good time before changing direction whether to turn, change lanes or overtake and observe traffic both ahead and behind before the actual manoeuvre. Remember to turn off the direction indicators after the manoeuvre.

Poor lane discipline - The rules are simple, but widely ignored. Stay in your lane. Don't drive over the centre line, drift from side to side, zigzag through traffic, bully your way into another lane or remain in the fast lane. When changing lanes, remember 'Think, Look, Signal, Look again'. Even with your mirrors, there are blind spots which they cannot cover, so it is important to take a quick glance over your shoulder for a final check.

Failure to give way - If there is no give way sign, the rules of the road dictate that cars entering from the minor road or access should give way to those already on the major road, and cars making a right turn must give way to oncoming traffic It is an offence not to pull over for an emergency vehicle with its lights flashing or siren on. Failure to give right of way immediately can endanger you, your passengers and the people the emergency vehicle is carrying or trying to reach. In addition, motorists should always show consideration for pedestrians, even if they are jaywalking; give motor-cyclists and cyclists the same rights and courtesies as any other vehicles.

Bad manners - This includes a host of misbehaviour - cursing, obscene gestures, use of the horn unnecessarily, loud music, refusing to merge, littering ( including cigarette butts ) and just about any other act of rudeness or selfishness that may annoy others. A little more courtesy and consideration by all of us could make driving safer and more pleasurable.

Ignorance - Make sure you have a thorough knowledge of all traffic laws, signs and markings. Once you know them, obey them.

Be cautious of long/heavy vehicles

Don't brake quickly or cut in front of a heavy vehicle. Heavy vehicles need almost 50 percent more distance than cars do to stop. Always leave a lot more distance between your car and a tractor-trailer. You should:

Pass with care - A long vehicle takes longer to overtake, so allow yourself more room and time to pass. Start the overtaking manoeuvre farther back to see that the road is clear, pass quickly and wait until you can see the front of the cab in your rear-view mirror before returning to the same lane. If it is raining, be extremely cautious. The water spray from long/heavy vehicles can impair vision.

Don't drive too close - The vehicle driver may not see your vehicle and you can't see any of the road ahead and anticipate any potential hazards. In bad weather, vehicle spray reduces visibility.

Be aware of air turbulence - when passing, being passed or meeting long/heavy vehicles, be aware that they push a large volume of air, like the bow of a ship, causing air turbulence, particularly affecting small vehicles.

Allow long vehicles room to turn - Long vehicles require a wide turning area. These vehicles need extra road space before making their turns. Watch for signals and give them room.

Let heavy vehicles pass - To conserve fuel, heavy vehicle drivers tend to maintain a steady speed. They need more braking time and accelerate more slowly than cars, because they usually go faster downhill and slower uphill. Many drivers don't like to follow them and sometimes speed up when the heavy vehicle tries to pass. The result is often 20 tonnes of heavy vehicle riding your bumper-definitely not a good situation and should be avoided.

Don't travel in the long vehicle's blind spot - Alongside a long vehicle, just behind the doors, is another blind spot. Don't hang around there. The driver of the long vehicle may try a lane change and not be able to see you. If you can, always allow long vehicles enough room to change lanes.

U-turns

Regulatory sign - you must not carry out a U-turn

Regulatory sign - you must not carry out a U-turn

You must not carry out a U-turn or turn your vehicle around in a road, unless you can do so without endangering or obstructing other road users. A U-turn may be banned at some junctions or along some lengths of road. 'No U-turn' signs will indicate this.

Use your mirror often so that you know what is behind you.

Headlamp flashing

The flashing of headlamps has only one meaning - like sounding your horn it lets another road user know you are there. Do not flash head-lamps for any other reason.

Use of horn

Regulatory sign - Marks the beginning of a 'Silent zone'

Regulatory sign - Marks the beginning of a 'Silent zone'

You must not sound your horn other than as warning or sound it in a 'Silent zone'. Signs mark the beginning and end of a 'Silent zone'. 'Silent zones' are usually found near hospitals and operate at night. A 'Time plate' may show the period of operation.

When your vehicle is moving use your horn when it is necessary as a warning of your presence to other road users - but never use it as a rebuke.

When your vehicle is stopped on the road you may only use your horn at times of danger due to another vehicle moving. You must not use it if traffic is temporarily stopped and there is no danger.

Reversing

Before you reverse make sure that there are no pedestrians - particularly children - behind you. Be especially careful about the 'blind spots' behind you - that is, the parts of the road which cannot be seen from the driving seat. If there is any doubt, get out - or ask a passenger to check - to make quite sure.

If you cannot see clearly behind or if driving a large vehicle, get someone to guide you when you reverse.You must not reverse unless it can be done in safety and you must not reverse for an unreasonable distance or time. Never reverse from a side road on to a main road.

Give way to other traffic and to pedestrians when reversing.

White reversing lights let another road user know you are reversing or about to reverse - to not rely on them. Only reverse if you can do so safely and without making other road users change speed or direction. Do not rely on reversing alarms - always look - pedestrian may not hear your alarm or may be deaf.

Reckless and careless driving

You must not drive in a manner that endangers other road users, your passengers or yourself. You must not drive in a manner that would increase the risk of a traffic accident or increase the risk of injury or death.

You must drive with care and attention and with reasonable consideration for other road users and your passengers.

The rules and advice in this chapter will help you drive safely and with consideration for others.

Police signs

Temporary regulatory sign - you must stop at the sign

Temporary regulatory sign - you must stop at the sign

Police Roadblock

Temporary informatory sign -be prepared to stop if signalled to do so by a Police Officer or if indicated by a traffic sign In an emergency, or for other purposes, the police may erect temporary signs and barriers. In addition to the temporary police signs shown other traffic signs and flashing blue and amber lights may be used to warn and guide you.

Slow Police

Temporary regulatory sign - you must slow down to a speed, slower than normal, at which you can stop quickly and safely

開動車輛

開車前,經常要從倒後鏡察看車後的情況,並須回頭作最後察看。留意是否有行人正在橫過或站近你的車旁。提防幼童可能站在「盲點」範圍。如有需要,開車前應發出信號。在安全而不礙其他車輛改變車速或方向的情況下,方可開車。

駕駛時

靠左行駛。除非交通標誌或道路標記另有指示,或者你有意超車、右轉或須駛避停定的車輛或行人,否則盡量靠左行駛。如其他車輛有意超車,應該讓路。切勿駛上行人徑或路旁的行人路。切勿在路肩邊帶或路旁帶駕駛。

勿貼路邊駕駛。不可駛貼行人路或路旁帶,預留空間,提防行人突然踏入行車道。駛經停放好的車輛時,亦應預留空間,以防有人推開車門。應預留較多空位給伸出車身的配件,如車旁的倒後鏡等。

切勿讓乘客握持駕駛盤,或把身體伸出車窗外。

遇上交通擠塞或行車緩慢時,切勿貪圖快捷而切入另一條行車綫,或超越前面正在等候的車輛。

車身較大或速度較低的車輛,在窄路、迂迴道路或尾隨車輛繁多的道路上,須盡量靠左行駛,並且減速或停車,讓其他較快的車輛超前。

感到疲乏時,在適當的泊車處停車休息示意圖

長時間駕駛,可能使人睏倦欲睡。為免行車時感到睏倦,須確保車內有充足新鮮空氣。如途中感到疲乏,應在適當的泊車處停車休息。

駕駛時切勿載上耳筒機,不要將音響的聲量放大以致分散注意力及聽不到緊急車輛的響號、不要收看電視機。

駕駛時,應避免使用汽車電話或無綫電話,否則便不能適當地控制車輛;同時,與人通電話也會使駕駛人分心。假如要在車上打電話或接聽電話,應先在安全的地方停車,或請車上的乘客代勞。

駕駛時如要使用汽車電話/無綫電話,應使用免提話筒的通話裝置。

安全駕駛,禮讓他人

駕駛時壞習慣和惡劣態度,尤甚於粗魯無禮和惹人討厭,而且易生危險,有時甚至違法。駕駛時應禮讓和合作,否則路面只會更加擠塞,交通問題更趨嚴重。因此,駕車時應

避免: 

車速太快── 遵守車速限制,並因應交通情況、道路及天氣環境和個人的駕駛能力,以調校車速。切記車速越快,緊急時可作反應的時間便越少,煞車距離也較長,一旦發生意外,傷亡程度會越大。

車速太慢── 雖然有人認為以慢速駕駛比較安全,但很容易引致其他駕駛人不悅及引致交通意外。如發現多輛汽車尾隨,應找機會駛離車道或駛往路旁,以便尾隨的車輛超車。如在多咏道路上駕駛,應在安全情況下,因應其他車輛的速度,迅速匯合,並讓車速較高的汽車超前。

跟車太貼── 貼近前車是導致交通意外的主因。駕駛時,應與前車保持適當距離(參閱第 46頁「停車距離」。)

危險超車── 如非超車,應靠左行駛。只可在安全的情況下超車。在超車之前及後,均須發出信號,並且留意你前後的車輛。應迅速並流暢地完成超車動作。如果有人想超車,切勿加速,如有需要,更應減速遷就。切記只可在右面超車。

沒有使用方向指示燈── 如果其他駕駛人知你要轉向,便可避免意外。因此,在轉彎、轉綫或超車之前,應提早亮起方向指示燈,而且要留意前後的車輛。轉向後,切記關掉指示燈。

胡亂轉綫── 有關規則其實很簡單,但很多駕駛人卻不遵守。選定行車綫後,保持在原綫行駛,不要駛越對流行車綫或經常切綫,或在車輛中間左穿右插,或強行駛入其他行車綫,或者逗留在快綫。轉綫時,要依從例行程序:「想一想──看一看──發信號──再看看。」倒後鏡有反映不到的地方,所以,在即將轉綫的一刻,應該回頭察看,確定後面的情況。

沒有讓路── 如果路旁不設「讓路」標誌,按照一般道路規則,從小路或通道駛出的車輛,須讓路給在大路上的車輛;右轉的車輛,則須讓路給迎面而來的車輛。遇上亮起閃燈或響起警號的緊急服務車輛,應即讓路,否則便屬違法,而且會危及你和乘客,以及緊急服務車輛所接載或前往救援的人。此外,駕駛人應顧及行人(即使是胡亂過路的行人),並且同樣注意騎電單車者和騎單車者的行車權利,以禮相待。

態度惡劣── 謾罵、作出不雅的手勢、濫用響號、音響聲浪過大、不肯匯入行車綫、亂拋垃圾(包括煙頭),以及其他粗魯自私、有礙駕駛的舉動,都是不當的行為。人人禮讓,顧及他人,駕駛時自然更安全、更愉快。

缺乏交通常識── 駕駛人對所有交通法例、標誌和標記都應該瞭如指掌,而且樂於遵守。

小心長車/重型車輛

駛在重型車輛前面時,切勿急速煞車或切綫。重型車輛停車的距離,比一般汽車所需差不多長一半。因此,和貨櫃車保持的距離,經常要比一般車輛長得多。 你應該:

小心越過長車── 長車需要較多時間,所以,應讓自己有較多空間和時間駛過。在距離長車較後的位置開始超車,看清楚道路無阻,便迅速駛過,從倒後鏡看見長車車頭後,才可返回原綫。下雨時更應加倍小心。長車/重型車輛濺起的水花,足以阻礙視綫。

切勿跟車太貼── 長車司機可能看不見你,你也會因為看不到前路,不能預見潛在的危險。天氣惡劣時,前面長車濺起的水花,會阻礙你的視綫。

小心湍流── 越過長車/重型車輛時,或當這些車輛超車或迎面駛來時,小心它們引起的一股強烈氣旋。碰上這股氣旋,就像船頭破浪一樣,可以產生湍流,小型車輛尤其會受影響。

讓長車有空間拐彎── 長車需要很大的轉彎空間。這些車輛在轉彎前,需要額外的路面轉動車身,因此,應注意長車的轉向燈號,並且讓出空間。

讓重型車輛駛過── 為節省燃油起見,重型車輛通常保持穩定的車速。重型車輛需要較長的煞車和加速時間。下坡較快,上坡較慢。因此,很多駕駛人不喜歡尾隨重型車輛,有時遇有重型車輛嘗試超車時,即加速行駛,結果給 20噸重的車輛壓著防撞槓。這種危險情況,理應避免。

切勿在長車的「盲點」內駕駛── 長車側門後面,是另一個「盲點」,不宜久留。長車的司機在換綫時,未必看見你。可以的話,應經常保留足夠空位,讓長車轉綫。

掉頭

禁止掉頭標誌牌

限制標誌──禁止掉頭

除非不會危及或阻礙其他道路使用者,否則不可在道路上掉頭。某些路口或某一段路可能禁止掉頭,在這些地方,會有‘「禁止掉頭」’的標誌示明。

駕駛人應經常從倒後鏡觀察車後的情況。

閃動車頭燈

閃動車頭燈就像使用響號一樣,只有一個意思,就是讓其他道路使用者留意自己。不可為別的緣故閃動車頭燈。

使用響號

「寂靜地帶」起點標誌牌

限制標誌──「寂靜地帶」起點

響號只能作警告用,而且不可在「寂靜地帶」內使用。「寂靜地帶」的起點及終點,均有標誌示明。「寂靜地帶」通常在醫院附近,並在晚上生效,附在標誌的時間牌上會註明管制的時間。

在駕駛時,如須警告其他道路使用者,可響號示意,但不可用響號斥責別人。

在路上停下的車輛,只可以因為其他行駛中的車輛對其構成危險,方可響號。在交通暫時受阻和沒有危險的情況下,不可響號。

倒車

倒車前,應確保車後並無行人,尤其沒有兒童。特別小心車後的「盲點」(即坐於駕駛座位時看不到的車後的部分路面)。如有懷疑,應下車看清楚,或請乘客察看,以確定情況。

如沒法看清楚後面情況,或駕駛的是大型車輛,倒車時應請別人引導。除非情況安全,否則切勿倒車。倒車時,路程切勿過長或時間過久。絕不可從橫路倒車進入大路。

倒車時,應先讓路給其他車輛及行人。

雖然使用白色倒車燈,可讓其他道路使用者知道你正在或將要倒車,但切勿依賴這些燈號。在安全和不會導致其他道路使用者改變車速或方向的情況下,方可倒車。切勿依賴倒車響號,應留意四周,行人可能聽不到警號,或其本身可能失聰。

魯莽和不小心駕駛

駕車時,要小心不可危及其他道路使用者、你的乘客或你自己本身,避免釀成交通意外及傷亡。

駕駛時必須小心及專注,並且顧及其他道路使用者和你的乘客安全。

本章的守則和忠告有助你安全駕駛,並顧及他人安全。

警方用的交通標誌

臨時限制標誌牌

臨時限制標誌──必須在此標誌前停車

臨時提示標誌牌

臨時提示標誌──應準備按警務人員或交通標誌的指示,隨時停車。在緊急事件時或其他原因,警方會豎立臨時標誌及路障。除這些標誌外,還會有其他交通標誌,以及閃動的藍燈和黃燈,用以警告和指導駕駛人。

慢駛標誌牌

臨時限制標誌──必須把車速減至低於正常速度,以便迅速和安全停車。