Permitted operating areas of taxis

There are 3 types of taxis. They operate in different parts of Hong Kong. MS Word (239KB)

(a) Urban taxis (red taxis) are available for hire throughout Hong Kong (except Tung Chung Road and roads in South Lantau).

(b) New Territories taxis (green taxis) are available for hire in-

  • Tuen Mun District
  • Yuen Long District
  • Tai Po District
  • North District
  • Ma On Shan District
  • Most areas of Sai Kung District (except Tseung Kwan O New Town)
  • Lok Ma Chau Control Point (from 11:00 pm to 06:30 am on the following day)
  • Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Public Transport Interchange
  • Shenzhen Bay Port Hong Kong Port Area

They are also permitted to carry passengers along specified routes to/from the following locations:

  • Passenger Terminals and the Ground Transportation Centre of the Hong Kong International Airport in Chek Lap Kok
  • Tsing Yi Station of Airport Railway
  • Tsuen Wan MTR Station
  • Prince of Wales Hospital
  • The Accident and Emergency Department of Tseung Kwan O Hospital
  • Sha Tin Racecourse
  • Shun Lee Estate in Kwun Tong
  • Hong Kong Disneyland
  • Hang Hau MTR Station
  • The Public Transport Interchange at the Hong Kong Port of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge

(c) Lantau taxis (blue taxis) are available for hire on Lantau Island, Chek Lap Kok and the Public Transport Interchange at the Hong Kong Port of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge.


Details of permitted areas for New Territories and Lantau taxis are stipulated in the Schedule 7 to the Road Traffic (Registration and Licensing of Vehicles) Regulations, Chapter 374E. 

Note: New Territories taxis carrying passengers via Sha Tin to and from Tsuen Wan MTR Station, Tsing Yi AR Station, Hong Kong Disneyland and Hong Kong International Airport Passenger Terminal 1 have to use Shing Mun Tunnels.