The existing law stipulates provisions on the use of private cars for the carriage of passengers for hire or reward. According to section 52(3) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374), no person shall drive or use a private car; or suffer or permit a private car to be driven or used for the carriage of passengers for hire or reward unless a hire car permit is in force in respect of the vehicle.
 
Under Regulation 14(1) of the Road Traffic (Public Service Vehicles) Regulations (Cap. 374D), the Commissioner for Transport may for the purpose of authorising the use of a private car for the carriage of passengers for hire or reward, issue in respect of the private car a hire car permit for a specific type of service.  A hire car permit will only be issued to the registered owner of the private car.
 
A hire car permit is non-transferable. It will be cancelled once the ownership of the concerned private car is transferred to another person.
 
Types of Hire Car Permits
Under Regulation 14(3)(b) of Cap. 374D, the Commissioner for Transport may issue to the applicant a hire car permit if he is of the opinion that the type of hire car service specified in the application is reasonably required. Regulation 15(5) further sets out the restrictions on the issue of hire car permits and considerations for issue. At present, the Transport Department mainly issues the following types of hire car permits:
TypePurpose
(a) Hotel Hire Car Service For the carriage of guests of a designated hotel
(b) Tour Hire Car Service For the carriage of clients of a designated tourist agent
(c) Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car For the carriage of clients of a contracted company, or individuals requiring personalized high-end transportation
(d) Private Service (Limousine - Cross Boundary) Hire Car For the carriage of clients of a contracted company, or individuals requiring personalized high-end transportation crossing the boundary.
(e) Private Service Hire Car For the carriage of residents of an area where there is no or inadequate transport

 

Using illegal hire car services can put passengers at risk, as the vehicle's third party insurance may be invalid if there's an accident. The Transport Department has launched the Online Checking System for Hire Car Permit to facilitate the public in checking whether a private car with a particular registration mark has been issued with a valid HCP for carriage of passengers for hire or reward in advance of an intended journey.

To access the Online Checking System for Hire Car Permit, please visit the webpage below:

http://www.gov.hk/hirecarpermit

 

Contract Hire Car Permits Selection Board
All hire car permit applications are to be considered by the Contract Hire Car Permits Selection Board. The Selection Board will assess whether the applicant has met all the established objective criteria and fully demonstrated a genuine need for issue of a hire car permit. The Selection Board will consider the relevant legal requirements and other factors relevant to the application; and then make a recommendation on the approval or rejection of the application to the Commissioner for Transport. On the Selection Board's recommendation, the Commissioner for Transport will decide to approve or reject an application. The Selection Board is chaired by a directorate officer of Transport Department. Its members include official representatives from the Transport and Housing Bureau and Transport Department and non-official members. Please refer to this link for the composition of the Selection Board.
 
Application for Hire Car Permits
Please refer to the relevant application form for application details.
For details about application for operation of cross-boundary hire car services, please refer to the following this link.
 
New Measures with effect from 1 February 2017
 
Pre-application Assessment
In order to provide more flexibility to potential applicants for hire car permits and facilitate new market entrants, the Transport Department introduces an optional "pre-application assessment" for any party who is interested in applying for hire car permits. Interested parties may make a request for "pre-application assessment" without the need to submit private car registration documents. They can therefore be informed of the likelihood of having their applications for hire car permits approved before further investing and purchasing vehicles.
For each and every request submitted for "pre-application assessment", the Contract Hire Car Permits Selection Board will be consulted before Transport Department informs the requestor of the result. It is important to note that the "pre-application assessment" results will only be for reference and will not bind the Commissioner for Transport in exercising the powers to make a decision on an application for hire car permit in accordance with the law when an application is formally submitted.
Requests for "pre-application assessment" are accepted from 1 February 2017. A "pre-application assessment" request can be made by completing the relevant forms, which can be downloaded from this link.
 
Special Considerations to Applications for Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permits
Currently Transport Department considers a whole host of factors when assessing application for Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permits, including hiring records and future service contracts provided by an applicant, to evaluate if the application satisfies the legal requirement of the type of hire car service in the application being "reasonably required". To facilitate new market entrants, special consideration on individuals merit may be given to applicants for Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permits who are unable to produce the required hiring records or future service contracts. Such applicants should provide adequate justifications and supporting information about the proposed business model / case to support their applicants. If applications are approved on grounds of special considerations, brand new vehicles with a taxable value of more than $400,000 should be deployed. For the purpose of this condition, brand new vehicle means at the time of submission of applications, the vehicle is within one year from the date of first registration as a "brand new vehicle" in Hong Kong or, in the case of vehicles not first registered in Hong Kong as a "brand new vehicle", within one year from the "Year of Manufacture". This arrangement comes into effect from 1 February 2017.
 
New Requirements on Age of Vehicles for Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permits
In order to ensure that hire cars are of the quality that befits its positioning as a higher quality point-to-point personalized transport service, with effect from 1 February 2017 vehicles to be deployed under a Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permit application should have a minimum taxable value of over $300,000 and should be less than 7 years old from the date of first registration as a "brand new vehicle" in Hong Kong (viz. aged 6 year or below) at the time of the application. For a vehicle not first registered in Hong Kong as a "brand new vehicle", it should be within 6 years from the "Year of Manufacture" at the time of the application.
In addition, a new hire car permit condition is introduced for all new applications for Private Service (Limousine) Hire Car Permits submitted on or after 1 February 2017. Under the condition, upon replacement of vehicle, if any, the replacement vehicle should not be older than the vehicle being replaced. The same requirement is also applied as a hire car permit condition for all existing private service (limousine) hire cars replaced on or after 1 February 2019.
 
Frequently-asked Questions
A set of frequently asked questions on hire car permits can be found here.
 
Contact
For enquiries on hire car permits, please contact the Public Vehicles Unit of this Department at 2804 2577.

现有法例订有有关使用私家车作出租或取酬载客用途的条文。根据《道路交通条例》(第374章)第52(3)条,任何人不得驾驶或使用私家车,或容受或允许他人驾驶或使用私家车,以作出租或取酬载客用途,除非该车辆领有生效的出租汽车许可证。
 
根据《道路交通(公共服务车辆)规例》(第374D章) 第14(1)条,运输署署长可为授权使用私家车以出租或取酬方式运载乘客,而就该私家车发出提供指定类型服务的出租汽车许可证。出租汽车许可证只发给私家车登记车主。
 
出租汽车许可证不得转让。当有关私家车过户予他人时,就该车辆发出的出租汽车许可证会随即取消。
 
出租汽车许可证的类别
根据《道路交通(公共服务车辆)规例》(第374D章) 第14(3)(b)条,如运输署署长认为申请中所指明出租汽车服务的类型是有合理理由需要的,可向申请人发出出租汽车许可证。该规例第15(5)条亦订明发出出租汽车许可证的限制及有关考虑因素。现时,运输署主要发出以下类别的出租汽车许可证:
类别用途
(a) 酒店服务出租汽车 用以接载指定的酒店宾客
(b) 旅游服务出租汽车 用以接载指定的旅行社游客
(c) 私家服务(豪华房车) 出租汽车 用以接载已订有合约,或已预约使用贵宾式服务的人士
(d) 私家服务(豪华房车 –过境)出租汽车 用以接载已订有合约,或已预约使用贵宾式过境服务的人士
(e) 私家服务出租汽车 用以接载交通服务不足的地区的居民

使用非法出租汽车服务会令乘客蒙受风险,因为当发生交通事故时,提供非法出租汽车服务的车辆其第三者责任保险可能会失效。运输署已推出「出租汽车许可证网上查询系统」,以方便公众在打算乘坐出租汽车出行前,於互联网上查询某登记号码的私家车是否已获发有效的出租汽车许可证,以出租或取酬方式运载乘客。

要使用「出租汽车许可证网上查询系统」,请浏览以下网址:

http://www.gov.hk/hirecarpermit

 

 
出租汽车许可证遴选委员会
现时所有出租汽车许可证的申请均由出租汽车许可证遴选委员会考虑。遴选委员会会审视申请人是否符合所有既定的客观要求及是否充分证明有确实需要领取出租汽车许可证,并会考虑相关法例要求及与申请有关的其他因素,然後向运输署署长就是否批准有关申请提出建议。运输署署长会根据遴选委员会的建议,决定是否批准有关申请。遴选委员会由运输署一名首长级人员担任主席,成员包括运输及房屋局和运输署的官方代表和不同非官方成员。有关遴选委员会的成员组合,请参阅此连结
 
出租汽车许可证的申请
有关申请手续,请参考相关的申请书
有关申请营办过境出租汽车服务的详情,请参阅此网页
 
由2017年2月1日起实行的新措施
 
预先评估
为向有意申请出租汽车许可证的人士提供更大弹性,并且利便新服务提供者加入出租汽车市场,运输署引入一项可供自由选择的「预先评估」安排,让有意申请出租汽车许可证的人士可选择在无需提交私家车登记文件的情况下,提出「预先评估」提求,从而获悉如申请出租汽车许可证可获批准的机会,才进而投资和购买车辆。
对於每项「预先评估」请求,运输署都会先徵询出租汽车许可证遴选委员会的意见,然後才把所得结果告知请求方。请注意,「预先评估」所得结果只供参考之用,絶不会於申请人提出正式申请时,对运输署署长根据法例行使权力决定是否发出许可证具约束力。
本署将由2017年2月1日起接受「预先评估」请求。申请人可从此连结下载并填写相关表格,向本署请求进行「预先评估」。
 
就私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证申请给予特别考虑
现时,运输署审批私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证申请时,会考虑多项因素,包括申请人提供的出租记录和将履行的服务合约,以评审有关申请中的服务类别是否符合「有合理理由需要的」这项法定要求。为进一步便利新服务提供者加入市场,就私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证申请人未能提供所需出租记录或将履行合约的个案,运输署会按个别情况给予特别考虑。申请人须就其拟议经营模式/计划提供充分理据及证明资料,以支持有关申请。如有关申请以获给予特别考虑为理由获得批准,申请人便须使用应课税值为港币400,000元或以上的全新车辆。就这项条件而言,全新车辆是指在申请时的车龄,由以「全新车辆」在香港首次登记的日期起计,少於1年;或如车辆并非以「全新车辆」在香港首次登记,则申请时车龄应距「出厂年份」不多於1年。这项安排由2017年2月1日起生效。
 
私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证所使用车辆的车龄新规定
为确保出租汽车的质素符合更高质素点对点个人化交通服务的定位,由2017年2月1日起,私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证申请中拟使用的车辆,应课税值应至少达300,000元以上;在申请时的车龄,由以「全新车辆」在香港首次登记的日期起计,应少於7年(即车龄为6年或以下);如车辆并非以「全新车辆」在香港首次登记,则申请时车龄应距「出厂年份」不多於6年。
此外,在2017年2月1日或以後提交的所有私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车许可证新申请,会新增一项出租汽车许可证条件,订明如须更换车辆,替换车辆的车龄不应高於原来车辆。对於在2019年2月1日或以後更换的所有现有私家服务(豪华房车)出租汽车,这项规定亦会适用而成为出租汽车许可证条件。
 
常见问题
有关出租汽车许可证的常见问题,可浏览此处
 
联络方法
如对出租汽车许可证有任何查询,请致电2804 2577与本署公共车辆分组联络。