The Government announced on 28 February 2018 the details of the first registration tax (FRT) concessions for different types of electric vehicles (EV) as follows –
(a) electric private cars (e-PCs): A tiered structure will be implemented –
  i. except for eligible private car (PC) owners (see (a)(ii) below), FRT for e-PCs will continue to be waived up to $97,500 from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021, as at present.
  ii. a "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme will be launched from 28 February 2018 to 31 March 2021, allowing PC owners who arrange to scrap and de-register their own eligible old PC1 ("Old PC") (PC with an internal combustion engine or e-PC) and then first register a new e-PC ("Replacement e-PC") to enjoy a higher FRT concession up to $250,000.
(b) other types of EVs (i.e. electric commercial vehicles, electric motor cycles and electric motor tricycles): their FRT will continue to be waived in full from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021.
Registered owner of PCs may consider joining the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme by arranging to scrap and de-register his/her "Old PC" and then first registering a "Replacement e-PC" under his/her own name within the effective period of the Scheme (i.e. 28 February 2018 to 31 March 2021, both dates inclusive), if the eligibility criteria for the Scheme are fully met.
 
You may visit the following website of the Environmental Protection Department for more details on promoting the use of EVs –
http://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/english/environmentinhk/air/prob_solutions/promotion_ev.html
 
1 Eligibility criteria include – (i) the "Old PC" must have been first registered in Hong Kong for at least 6 years when its registration is cancelled owing to scrapping; (ii) the vehicle owner participating in the application under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme must have been the registered owner of the "Old PC" for 3 years or more, without interruption; (iii) the "Old PC", with or without interruption, must have been licensed for at least 20 months (i.e. 608 days or more), within the 24 months immediately before its de-registration.
 
Procedures of participating in the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme
Key steps consist of the following -
(i) Checking eligibility of the "Old PC" concerned for the Scheme;
(ii) Arranging to scrap the "Old PC" concerned;
(iii) Completing de-registration of the "Old PC" concerned; and
(iv) Submitting first registration application for the "Replacement e-PC" and application for higher FRT concession for the "Replacement e-PC" under the Scheme.
   
For step (iv), according to the Motor Vehicles (First Registration Tax) Ordinance (Cap 330), before a motor vehicle is first registered, the registered distributor / registered importer who is selling the vehicle, or the person who is applying for vehicle first registration (where the motor vehicle is imported other than a registered importer) is liable to pay the FRT. Therefore,
  • if the "Replacement e-PC" is purchased from a registered distributor - the application under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme shall be made by the registered distributor selling the "Replacement e-PC"; or
  • if the "Replacement e-PC" is imported by the owner for personal use in Hong Kong - the application under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme shall be made by the owner.
 

The eligibility criteria and application procedures for the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme are detailed in the information note "How to Participate in the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme for Higher First Registration Tax Concession for Electric Private Cars", which can be downloaded here.

We urge PC owners who intend to participate in the “One-for-One Replacement” Scheme to read the abovementioned document carefully to comprehend the eligibility criteria and application procedures of the Scheme before arranging to scrap their existing PCs. If a PC owner is not certain whether his / her PC fulfill the eligibility criteria of the Scheme, he / she shall make an enquiry to us. The enquiry channels are detailed in Frequently Asked Question No. 1 below.

 
The application form for the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme can be downloaded here. For enquiries, please call Hong Kong Licensing Office of the Transport Department at 2804 2270 or the 1823 Call Centre.
 
Frequently asked questions
Q1 How can I know whether my existing PC is eligible for joining the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme?
A1 You can make an enquiry to the Hong Kong Licensing Office of the Transport Department in person (address : 3/F, United Centre, 95 Queensway, Admiralty, Hong Kong), by e-mail (address: hklo@td.gov.hk ) or in writing (address : 3/F, United Centre, 95 Queensway, Admiralty, Hong Kong; attention: Executive Officer/First Registration Tax), accompanied with the digital image or photocopy of the vehicle registration document (with signature of the registered owner) of your existing PC. We will revert to you with the current age (i.e. the period from the first registration date in Hong Kong instead of manufacturing date of the PC concerned), current ownership period, and length of licensed period in the last 24 months of your existing PC so that you will know whether your PC is eligible for the Scheme.
   
Q2 Is there any limit for the number of applications under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme involved by a vehicle owner / an applicant?
A2 No.
   
Q3 Is there any FRT exemption / concession for petrol / electric hybrid cars?
A3 The FRT concessions announced in the Financial Secretary's 2018-19 Budget Speech only applies to vehicles propelled solely by electric power and do not emit any exhaust gas. Since petrol / electric hybrid cars are not propelled solely by electric power, they are not entitled to the related FRT concessions.
   
Q4 How can I arrange to scrap my existing PC?
A4 You may make use of the services provided by vehicle scrapping companies for scrapping your existing PC. You are reminded to request a scrapping certificate issued by the vehicle scrapping company, which shall contain the following -
  • chassis number and registration mark of the scrapped vehicle;
  • date and location of vehicle scrapping;
  • name and Business Registration Certificate number of the scrapping company; and
  • signature by the representative of the scrapping company, with company chop.
   
Q5 After my existing PC is scrapped, what should I do to de-register it?
A5 After your existing PC is scrapped, you should submit to the Licensing Office of the Transport Department the duly signed and completed "Notification for Cancellation of Vehicle Registration" (form TD184) which can be downloaded here, or "Application to Transfer or Retain a Vehicle Registration Mark" (form TD129) which can be downloaded here if you wish to retain the registration mark of the scrapped PC at the same time, with required documents for de-registering the PC.
   
Q6 Can I scrap and de-register the existing PC registered under my name and allow my relative / friend to use this PC for participating in the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme?
A6 No. The "Replacement e-PC" must be first registered under the name of the registered owner of the "Old PC" when the latter is scrapped and de-registered for enjoying the higher FRT concession under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme.
   
Q7 If my PC was scrapped / de-registered before 28 February 2018, can I participate in the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme?
A7 No. The scrapping and de-registration of the "Old PC", and submission of first registration application for the "Replacement e-PC" must be carried out between 28 February 2018 and 31 March 2021 for the higher FRT concession under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme.
   
Q8 Can I apply for first registering the "Replacement e-PC" before scrapping and de-registering my existing PC under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme?
A8 No. Under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme, the de-registration date of the "Old PC" must not be after the submission date of the "Replacement e-PC" first registration application. The period between the two dates, which must be between 28 February 2018 and 31 March 2021, must not exceed 3 months.
   
Q9 If I purchase an e-PC from a registered distributor to replace my existing PC, can I make an application for higher FRT concession under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme to TD direct?
A9 No. If the "Replacement e-PC" is purchased from a registered distributor, the application under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme must be made by the registered distributor selling the "Replacement e-PC".
   
Q10 I plan to import an e-PC into Hong Kong for use, what are the procedures?
A10 Please refer to the Guidelines for Importation and Registration of Pure Electric Vehicle (PEV) and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV) for details, which can be accessed here.
   
Q11 How is the FRT payable for a "Replacement e-PC" under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme calculated?
A11 Under the prevailing FRT rates for PCs (40% on the first $150,000 of vehicle taxable value, 75% on the next $150,000, 100% on the next $200,000 and 115% on the remainder), if the "Replacement e-PC" is granted with the higher FRT concession and its taxable value is not higher than $377,500, no FRT will be payable upon its first registration. For a "Replacement e-PC" with taxable value of more than $377,500, the FRT payable will be worked out by-

taxable value x prevailing FRT rates - $250,000.

Example - the taxable value of the "Replacement e-PC" is $500,000, if it is granted with the higher FRT concession, the amount of FRT payable will be
= [($150,000 x 40% + $150,000 x 75% + $200,000 x 100%) - $250,000]
= $372,500 - $250,000
= $122,500
   
Q12 My "Replacement e-PC" under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme is granted with the amount of FRT concession less than the cap level (say, amount of FRT concession granted is $230,000). Does the "Replacement e-PC" enjoy the "unused" FRT concession (i.e. $20,000) if I fit optional accessories to / obtain taxable warranties for the "Replacement e-PC" within 6 months after its first registration?
A12 Yes. If the amount of FRT concession granted to a "Replacement e-PC" under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme is lower than $250,000, the "unused" amount of FRT concession will be taken into account for calculating the additional FRT payable upon fitting optional accessories to / obtain taxable warranties for the "Replacement e-PC" within 6 months after its first registration.

Example - the taxable value of the "Replacement e-PC" is $357,500, if it is granted with the higher FRT concession, the FRT concession will be $230,000, i.e. no FRT is payable upon first registration. If accessories of value of $50,000 are fitted to the "Replacement e-PC" within 6 months after its first registration, the amount of payable additional FRT will be
= [($50,000 x 100%) - $20,000]
= $50,000 - $20,000
= $30,000
   
Q13 What should I do if the registered distributor is not willing to submit the application under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme for the "Replacement e-PC" I purchased?
A13 The Transport Department (TD) has presented the details of the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme to registered distributors who sell e-PCs, and explained to them that they shall submit applications under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme for the eligible "Replacement e-PCs" they sell. The vehicle owner concerned can contact Hong Kong Licensing Office of TD (tel: 2804 2270) for follow-up if the registered distributor refuses to submit applications under the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme.
   
Q14 What should I do if I could not enjoy the higher FRT concession in full from the "One-for-One Replacement" Scheme?
A14 The vehicle owner concerned can contact Hong Kong Licensing Office of the Transport Department (tel: 2804 2270) for follow-up.

政府于2018年2月28日公布,电动车首次登记税的宽减安排如下:
(一) 电动私家车 : 将会实施分级制的宽减安排 –
  i. 由2018年4月1日至2021年3月31日期间,除符合条件的私家车车主(见(一)(ii)段)外,一般电动私家车的首次登记税宽减额上限会维持在现时的水平,即$97,500。
  ii. 由2018年2月28日至2021年3月31日期间推行「一换一」计划,让安排拆毁及取消其拥有符合条件的旧私家车1 (「旧私家车」)(配备内燃引擎的私家车或电动私家车)的登记,而之后首次登记一辆新的电动私家车(「替代电动私家车」)的车主,可获较高的首次登记税宽减额,上限为$250,000。
(二) 其他种类的电动车,包括电动商用车、电动电单车及电动机动三轮车 : 其首次登记税将会于2018年4月1日至2021年3月31日期间继续全数豁免。
具备所有相关条件的私家车登记车主可考虑于「一换一」计划期间(即2018年2月28日至2021年3月31日,包括首尾两天),安排拆毁及取消其名下的一辆「旧私家车」的登记,然后再以其名义首次登记一辆「替代电动私家车」以参加「一换一」计划。
 
推广使用电动车的详情,请参考以下环境保护署的网页:
http://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/tc_chi/environmentinhk/air/prob_solutions/promotion_ev.html
 
1 相关条件包括: (i) 在被拆毁而取消登记时必须已在香港首次登记最少6年; (ii) 紧接在「旧私家车」取消登记前,参加「一换一」计划的车主必须是「旧私家车」的登记车主连续3年或以上; (iii) 紧接在「旧私家车」取消登记前的24个月期间内须有最少20个月(即608天或以上),连续或不连续皆可,领有有效车辆牌照。
 
参加「一换一」计划的程序
主要步骤包括:
(i) 检查有关「旧私家车」是否符合参加「一换一」计划的条件;
(ii) 安排拆毁有关「旧私家车」;
(iii) 为有关「旧私家车」完成取消登记; 以及
(iv) 提交「替代电动私家车」的首次登记申请及「一换一」计划申请以获取较高的首次登记税宽减。
   
关于步骤(iv),根据《汽车(首次登记税)条例》(第330章),任何汽车在首次登记前,正在出售该辆汽车的注册分销商/注册进口者,或正在申请将汽车首次登记的人(如该辆汽车由注册进口者以外的人进口)须缴付首次登记税。因此:
  • 如「替代电动私家车」是向注册分销商购买,「一换一」计划申请须由该注册分销商提出; 或
  • 如「替代电动私家车」是由车主进口香港自用,「一换一」计划申请须由车主提出。
 

《如何参加为电动私家车提供较高首次登记税宽减的「一换一」计划》详细阐述计划的参加资格及申请程序,可在此下载。

本署促请有意参与「一换一」计划的私家车车主在安排拆毁其现有的私家车前,先细阅上述文件,清楚了解计划的参加条件及申请程序。如私家车车主不肯定其私家车是否符合计划的参加条件,应先向本署查询。查询方法见常问问题第一条。

 
「一换一」计划的申请表格可在此下载。如有查询,可致电运输署香港牌照事务处(电话: 2804 2270)或1823电话中心。
 
常问问题
问1 我如何去确认我现有的私家车符合参加「一换一」计划的条件?
答1 你可以亲临运输署香港牌照事务处(地址: 香港金钟道95号统一中心3楼)、透过电邮(地址: hklo@td.gov.hk)或书面(地址: 香港金钟道95号统一中心3楼,行政主任/首次登记税收启)向我们查询,并请带同/夹附你现有的私家车的车辆登记文件(俗称「牌簿」,需有登记车主签署)的数码相片或影印本。我们会向你提供现有的私家车的现时车龄(即由有关车辆在本港首次登记日而非制造日计算)、现时登记车主拥有车辆期间、及在最近24个月中已领牌期间,让你知悉你现有的私家车是否符合参加「一换一」计划的条件。
   
问2 「一换一」计划会否限制每位车主或申请人参与申请的数目?
答2 不会。
   
问3 油电混能车是否获豁免/宽减汽车首次登记税?
答3 财政司司长于《2018-19年度财政预算案》公布的汽车首次登记税的宽减只适用于纯粹以电力驱动及并不排放任何废气的汽车;油电混能车并不是纯粹以电力驱动的汽车,因此不能获宽减汽车首次登记税。
   
问4 我应如何安排拆毁我现有的私家车?
答4 你可使用由商营废车回收公司提供的服务以拆毁你现有的私家车。你应要求废车回收公司发出载列以下资料的车辆拆毁证明书:
  • 被拆毁车辆的底盘号码及登记号码(即车牌号码);
  • 拆毁车辆的日期及地点;
  • 废车回收公司的名称及商业登记证号码; 以及
  • 废车回收公司代表的签署,连同公司盖印。
   
问5 我现有的私家车被拆毁后,该做什么去取消其登记?
答5 在你现有的私家车被拆毁后,你须向运输署的牌照事务处提交已填写及签署的《取消车辆登记通知书》(表格TD184)(表格可在此下载) 如你欲同时保留该私家车的车辆登记号码,则提交《转移或保留车辆登记号码申请书》(表格TD129)(表格可在此下载)及所需文件,以取消该私家车的登记。
   
问6 我可否拆毁及取消我名下的私家车的登记之后,让我的亲属/朋友运用此私家车去参加「一换一」计划?
答6 不可以。「替代电动私家车」在首次登记时的登记车主必须是「旧私家车」在拆毁及取消登记时的登记车主,才可以享有「一换一」计划下较高的首次登记税宽减。
   
问7 如果我的私家车在2018年2月28日前已被拆毁/取消登记,我可否参加「一换一」计划?
答7 不可以。「旧私家车」的拆毁和取消登记,以及提交「替代电动私家车」的首次登记申请须在2018年2月28日至2021年3月31日期间进行,才可以享有「一换一」计划下较高的首次登记税宽减。
   
问8 在「一换一」计划下,我可否先首次登记「替代电动私家车」,之后才拆毁及取消「旧私家车」的登记?
答8 不可以。在「一换一」计划下,「旧私家车」被取消登记的日期不可迟于提交「替代电动私家车」首次登记申请当日。上述两个日期须在2018年2月28日至2021年3月31日期间,并不可相隔超过3个月。
   
问9 如果我从注册分销商购买一辆电动私家车以替换我现有的私家车,我可否直接向运输署提交「一换一」计划申请以享有较高的首次登记税宽减?
答9 不可以。如「替代电动私家车」是从注册分销商购买,有关的「一换一」计划申请须由该注册分销商提出。
   
问10 我计划进口一辆电动私家车到香港自用,有关程序为何?
答10 请于此连结参阅《进口及登记纯电动车辆及插电式混合动力车辆指引》。
   
问11 在「一换一」计划下的「替代电动私家车」的应缴首次登记税税款是如何计算的?
答11 在现行的私家车首次登记税税率下(最初的$150,000应课税价值 - 40%; 其次的$150,000 – 75%; 其次的$200,000 – 100%; 剩余的应课税价值 – 115%),如「替代电动私家车」获较高的首次登记税宽减额而其应课税价值不高过$377,500,无需为「替代电动私家车」的首次登记缴付税款。如「替代电动私家车」的应课税价值高过$377,500,应缴首次登记税税款将等于 -

应课税价值 x 现行的私家车首次登记税税率 - $250,000

例子 : 「替代电动私家车」的应课税价值为$500,000,如获较高的首次登记税宽减额,其应缴首次登记税税款
= [($150,000 x 40% + $150,000 x 75% + $200,000 x 100%) - $250,000]
= $372,500 - $250,000
= $122,500
   
问12 我的「替代电动私家车」在「一换一」计划下获得的首次登记税宽减额少于上限(例如: 获得的宽减额为$230,000)。如果我在「替代电动私家车」首次登记后6个月内为其安装配件/取得应课税保证,「替代电动私家车」是否还享有「未用」的首次登记税宽减额(即$20,000)?
答12 是。如一辆「替代电动私家车」在「一换一」计划下获得的首次登记税宽减额低于$250,000,本署在计算因应「替代电动私家车」首次登记后6个月内安装配件/取得应课税保证而应缴的额外首次登记税税款时,会将「未用」的首次登记税宽减额包括在计算之内。

例子 : 「替代电动私家车」的应课税价值为$357,500,如获较高的首次登记税宽减额,其获得的宽减额为$230,000,即在首次登记时无需缴付税款。如「替代电动私家车」在首次登记后6个月内安装价值$50,000的配件,应缴的额外首次登记税税款
= [(50,000 x 100%) - $20,000]
= $50,000 - $20,000
= $30,000
   
问13 如注册分销商不愿意为我所购买的「替代电动私家车」提交「一换一」计划申请,我应怎办?
答13 运输署已向销售电动私家车的注册分销商介绍「一换一」计划的细节,并解释他们应就其销售而符合条件的电动私家车提交「一换一」计划的申请。如有注册分销商拒绝提交「一换一」计划的申请,有关车主可致电香港牌照事务处(电话: 2804 2270),牌照事务处职员会作出跟进。
   
问14 如我未能从「一换一」计划申请获得全数应享较高的首次登记税宽减额,我应怎办?
答14 有关车主可致电香港牌照事务处(电话: 2804 2270),牌照事务处职员会作出跟进。