Warn other drivers of an obstruction by switching on the four-way hazard warning lights. If you carry a red warning triangle display it at a suitable place. If necessary switch on other lights or use any other means of warning approaching traffic.

At night or in poor visibility do not stand at the rear of your vehicle ( nor allow anyone else to do so ) as you may block the rear lights.

On an expressway or a high speed road, do not attempt to place a warning triangle or any warning objects on the carriageway as it is a dangerous action and the objects placed may pose danger to other road users. Just switch on your hazard warning lights.

When the obstruction is cleared do not forget to remove any warning signs placed on the road.

Hazard warning lights

Hazard warning lightsA vehicle's hazard warning lights must only be used when the vehicle is stationary to indicate that the vehicle is causing a temporary obstruction to traffic flow, for example, if it has broken down or is being loaded or unloaded. They must not be used if the vehicle is in motion or be regarded as an excuse for stopping where and when you should not.

 

 

Warning triangles

 
Warning triangles Carry a suitable warning triangle for use in an emergency, or when you have a break down, to warn other drivers of your vehicle's presence or other obstruction. The triangle should have a red reflective and fluorescent surface so that it can be easily seen in all conditions.
 
stand the warning triangle on the road If your vehicle could be an obstruction to traffic stand the warning triangle on the road, preferably in the same lane, at least 50 metres ( or at 100 metres on dual carriageways and roads with faster traffic ) before the obstruction and on the same side of the road. If the road is not straight and level, stand the warning triangle where an oncoming driver will see it before he comes to any bend or hump in the road. If it is not safe for you to do so then place the triangle nearer the vehicle.

When the obstruction is cleared do not forget to remove the warning triangle.

如你的车辆在路上造成障碍时,便须亮着车身四边的警告灯,警告其他驾驶人。如果车上备有红色警告牌,应把警告牌放在适当的地点,警告来往的车辆。如有需要,应亮起其他车灯,或用其他方法,警告驶近的车辆。

在高速公路或快速路上,切勿尝试摆放三角型警告牌或任何警告物品在公路上,以免发生危险和对其他道路使用者构成危险。祗需亮着警告灯。

在晚上或能见度低时,不可站在坏车后面(也不可让他人这样做),以免遮挡车尾灯。

把坏车移走后,切勿忘记搬走放置于路上的警告牌。

危险警告灯

危险警告灯祗准在车辆停止不动时,并会暂时阻塞交通,对其他道路使用者构成危险,才使用危险警告灯,例如坏车或正在上落客货。行车时,切勿使用危险警告灯,也不可藉着亮起警告灯,故意在不准停车的地方或时段内停车。

 

 

三角形警告牌

 
三角形警告牌 驾驶人应自备一块合用的三角形警告牌,以便在遇到紧急事故或中途坏车时,可用以警告其他驾驶人,让他们知道前面有坏车或有其他障碍物。三角形标志牌应有红色反光及萤光的表面,以便在任何情况下都容易被看得见。
 
三角形警告牌 如果你的车辆发生故障,可能会阻塞交通,你应在距离坏车至少 50米前(如果是分隔车路或车速较快的道路,则在 100米前)的路上(最好能够在同一行车线上)放置一个三角形警告牌。如果路面不够平直,三角形警告牌的位置,应该是从后而至的驾驶人可以在弯位或隆起路面之前看得见的地方。这样做如不安全,可把三角形警告牌放在距离坏车不远的地方。

移走坏车后,不要忘记搬走三角形警告牌。