Chapter 7 : Advice to Motorists

Before departing for the Guangdong Province, motorists should pay attention to the operating hours and traffic arrangements at the Shenzhen Bay Bridge and Shenzhen Bay Port and plan their journeys well in advance. Since the road design and traffic regulations in Guangdong and Hong Kong are different, motorists should always drive with extra care to ensure safety.

7.1 Notice to motorists driving on the Shenzhen Bay Bridge

Motorists should follow the instructions below when driving on the Shenzhen Bay Bridge:

  • Always follow the instructions of Police officers.
  • Pay attention to and follow the lane signals which are activated.
  • Observe the speed limits which may be adjusted according to prevailing weather and traffic conditions.
  • Pay attention to and follow the messages as shown on variable message signs which are activated.
  • Pay attention to the latest traffic news.
  • Drive with due care when the amber lights flash.
  • Do not drive along or stop on the road shoulder, unless for emergencies.
  • Do not stop or park the vehicle on the carriageway except for vehicle breakdown or emergencies.

7.2 Traffic and crossing arrangements at the Shenzhen Bay Port

Operating hours

The Shenzhen Bay Port operates from 6:30 a.m. to midnight daily. Roads leading from Hong Kong to the Shenzhen Bay Port will be closed about 30 minutes before the Port ceases operation. Motorists should pay attention to the operating hours of the crossing point and the closing time of the approach roads. The Shenzhen Bay Bridge may be closed during inclement weather or serious traffic incidents (please see paragraph 7.3 for details). Motorists should pay attention to the announcements made by the Guangdong and Hong Kong authorities about the closure and re-opening of the Bridge. Motorists may also call the TD's hotline 2804 2600 to enquire the related arrangements.

Crossing arrangements

Private cars with ad hoc quotas should use the designated kiosk for clearance. Motorists should pay attention to the traffic signs installed along the Shenzhen Bay Bridge and select the passenger vehicle lane heading for the passenger clearance area when approaching the Shenzhen Bay Port. Motorists should also follow the instructions displayed on the overhead electronic displays above the kiosks and select the appropriate one for clearance. The TD has produced a short video showing how to proceed to the Shenzhen Bay Port and the crossing arrangements. Motorists may view the video via TD's or other websites using computers or smart phones.

 

Traffic Arrangements to/from the Shenzhen Bay Port

Traffic Arrangements to/from the Shenzhen Bay Port

Traffic Arrangements near Shenzhen Bay Port Hong Kong Passenger Clearance Area

Traffic Arrangements near Shenzhen Bay Port Hong Kong Passenger Clearance Area

 

7.3 Traffic management measures at the Shenzhen Bay Bridge under inclement weather conditions

For the safety of motorists, the Shenzhen Bay Bridge is subject to closure during such inclement weather as strong wind and dense fog. The special traffic management measures to be implemented under strong wind conditions are as follows:

Stage  Wind speed Traffic Management Measures
1 30 kph Amber lights and variable message signs on the Shenzhen Bay Bridge and approach roads will be activated to alert motorists on strong wind conditions.
2 40 kph When weather conditions worsen, the vehicle speed limit will be reduced to 50 km/h.
3 55 kph The middle lanes in both directions will be closed and the vehicle speed should be maintained at 50km/h. Goods vehicles should drive on the left most lane and other vehicles on the right most lane.
4 65 kph The Shenzhen Bay Bridge will be closed. Northbound vehicles will be diverted via Ha Tsuen Interchange.

The following crossing arrangements will be implemented by the Guangdong Province and HKSAR when the Shenzhen Bay Bridge is fully closed due to inclement weather or serious incidents:

7.4 Points to note when driving in the Guangdong Province

Since the rules and regulations as well as the road design and traffic direction, etc. vary considerably between Guangdong and Hong Kong, to ensure driving safety, motorists should familiarise themselves with the local traffic regulations and relevant driving knowledge before departure. According to our understanding, some organisations in Hong Kong are offering training courses on driving in the Mainland. Applicants and/or drivers may consider enroling in these training courses according to their actual needs. Besides, the following organisations also provide information about self-drive in the Guangdong Province vide their websites:

Moreover, motorists should get hold of relevant information of traveling to and from their destinations, including maps, planned routes, and consider using global positioning system to facilitate driving, etc. If applicants or other persons joining the trip do not have previous self-driving experience in the Guangdong Province, they may consider inviting a few friends who have such experience to join in. It would be beneficial to have support among friends during the trip.

Before departure, applicants are advised to browse through the checklist at Appendix. Attention should be paid to the points to note before departure and documents to be carried on board the vehicle, so as to avoid missing out any of the required documents and personal belongings for the journey. In the Guangdong Province, motorists should always pay attention to the latest local traffic news.

Dial 110 for assistance of the local police in the unfortunate event of traffic incidents in the Guangdong Province. The applicant, vehicle and the driver/passengers concerned may be requested to remain in the Guangdong Province to assist the Mainland enforcement agencies with their investigation.

7.5 General enquiries

In case of emergency or when assistance is needed, call the following hotlines:

Within Hong Kong 

Name of Organisation Telephone No.
999 Emergency Call Centre 999
Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit, Immigration Department (24-hour hotline)                                             (852)1868           
Shenzhen Bay Port Police Reporting Centre 3154 6510
Transport Department Enquiry Hotline (non-emergency, 24-hour service) 2804 2600
1823 Call Centre (non-emergency, 24-hour service) 1823

Source: The Government of the HKSAR

Within Guangdong Province Name of Organisation Telephone No.
Police reporting centre 110
Fire services 119
Hospital first aid centre 120
Traffic Management Bureau of GDPSD:
 Enquiry on handling arrangement when the applicant / vehicle is unable to return to Hong Kong as scheduled due to emergency incidents and General enquiry

(8620) 3622 0804   or
(8620) 8311 1536

 

Economic and Trade Office of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in Guangdong (GDETO)

(Address: Flat 7101, Citic Plaza, 233 Tian He North Road, Guangzhou; Office hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. and 1:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.)

(8620) 3891 1220 Ext. 608

Fax: (8620) 3877 0466

Source: Guangdong Public Security Department of Guangdong Province / Economic and Trade Office of the Government of the HKSAR in Guangdong

第7章:給駕駛者的提示

駕駛人士出發往廣東省前必須清楚深圳灣公路大橋及深圳灣口岸的運作時間和交通安排,並妥善策劃行程。另外,粵港兩地的道路設計和交通法律法則均有所不同,駕駛人士應加倍留意,注意行車安全。

7.1駕駛人士使用深圳灣公路大橋須知

駕駛人士行經深圳灣公路大橋時應遵從以下指示:

  • 在任何情況下須依照警務人員的指示。
  • 當行車線訊號啟動時,留意並遵從指示。
  • 遵從車速限制(車速限制會隨着天氣及交通情況而調節)。
  • 當可變訊息標誌啟動時,留意並配合有關指示。
  • 留意最新的交通消息。
  • 黃色燈號閃動時,要特別小心駕駛。
  • 除非遇到緊急事故,否則不可在路肩上行駛或停在路肩上。
  • 除非車輛故障或遇到緊急事故,否則不可在行車道上停車或泊車。

7.2深圳灣口岸的交通及過境安排

開放時間

深圳灣口岸的開放時間為每日上午6時30分至午夜12時。由香港前往深圳灣口岸的道路則會在口岸關閉前約三十分鐘封閉。駕駛人士應留意口岸的開放時間及有關道路的封閉時間,深圳灣公路大橋可能會在惡劣天氣或發生嚴重交通事故時封閉(詳情見第7.3段)。駕駛人士應留意粵港兩地相關部門公布有關大橋封閉及解封的消息,亦可致電運輸署熱線2804 2600查詢有關安排。

過境安排

私家車應使用指定的一次性特別配額私家車查驗亭辦理出入境手續。駕駛人士請留意沿深圳灣公路大橋設置的交通標誌。當駛近深圳灣口岸時,應選用前往旅檢區的客車行車線,並根據查驗亭車道上的電子顯示屏幕的指示,使用適當的查驗亭辦理出入境手續。運輸署製作了一條介紹如何前往深圳灣口岸及有關過境安排的短片,駕駛人士可使用電腦或智能手機經運輸署或其他網頁觀看。

 

往來深圳灣口岸的交通安排

往來深圳灣口岸的交通安排

深圳灣口岸近港方旅檢區的交通安排

深圳灣口岸近港方旅檢區的交通安排

 

7.3深圳灣公路大橋在惡劣天氣下的交通管理措施

為確保駕駛人士的安全,在惡劣天氣下(例如強風、濃霧),深圳灣公路大橋將可能封閉。以下是深圳灣公路大橋在強風情況下實施的特別交通管理措施:

階段 風速 交通管理措施
每小時30公里 沿深圳灣公路大橋及附近道路的黃色燈號及可變訊息標誌將會啟動,以提醒駕駛人士小心強風。
每小時40公里 當天氣情況漸趨惡劣,車速限制將下調至時速50公里。
每小時55公里 來回方向的中線將會封閉,車速限制亦會維持於時速50公里。貨車須靠最左的行車線行駛,而其他車輛須靠最右的行車線行駛。
每小時65公里 深圳灣公路大橋將會全面封閉,所有北行車輛須經廈村交匯處折返。

在深圳灣大橋因惡劣天氣或嚴重事故而全綫封閉時,粵港雙方會實施以下過境安排: 

7.4廣東省境內駕駛應注意事項

由於粵港兩地法律法規不同,以及道路設計、車輛行駛方向等都有頗大差別,駕駛人士應在出發前了解當地的交通法例法規及相關駕駛知識,以確保行車安全。據我們了解,本港現時已有一些團體提供教授有關內地駕駛知識的培訓課程。申請人或司機可按實際需要,自行報讀這些培訓課程。此外,以下機構的網站均有提供有關在廣東省自駕遊的參考材料:

此外,駕駛人士在出發前應準備好往來目的地的相關資訊,例如地圖、擬定行車路線等,亦可考慮使用全球衞星定位系統,以協助駕駛。若申請人或隨行人員沒有在廣東省駕車旅遊的經驗,可考慮相約幾個有經驗的朋友一同前往,以便在旅途中有所照應。

申請人在出發前可檢視載於「附錄」的一覽表,留意有關出發前須注意的事項及需帶備的隨車文件,避免遺漏攜帶行程所須文件及個人物件。在廣東省內駕駛時,駕駛人士亦應留意當地最新的交通消息報導。

若車輛不幸在廣東省境內發生交通事故,可致電110報警求助。申請人、有關車輛及當事司機可能需要留在廣東省內,協助當地執法人員就事故進行調查。

7.5查詢服務

如遇到緊急事故或需要協助,可致電以下熱線:

在香港

機構名稱 電話號碼
999緊急電話中心 999
入境事務處協助在外香港居民小組(24小時熱線電話)                                             (852)1868           
深圳灣口岸警察報案中心 3154 6510
運輸署查詢熱線(非緊急事項、24小時服務) 2804 2600
1823電話中心 (非緊急事項、24小時服務) 1823

資料來源:香港特別行政區政府

在廣東省 機構名稱 電話號碼

報警電話

110

火警電話

119

醫院急救中心

120

廣東省公安廳交通管理局:

查詢有關車輛遇上緊急事故未能如期回港的安排及一般查詢

(8620)3622 0804  或
(8620)8311 1536

香港特別行政區政府駐粵經濟貿易辦事處

(地址:廣州市天河北路233號中信廣場 71 樓7101室;辦公時間:星期一至五上午8時30分至下午12時30 分及下午1時30 分至5時30 分)

(8620) 3891 1220  内線608

Fax: (8620) 3877 0466

資料來源:廣東省公安廳/香港特區政府駐粵經濟貿易辦事處