Introduction

Pre-service Course for Public Light Bus (PLB) Drivers is designed to enhance the safety and service quality of PLB. Through the introduction of the Pre-service course, it is expected that the new PLB drivers could be equipped with basic knowledge and skills on PLB service to improve their driving attitude, and hence the safety and quality of PLB service could be improved as a whole.
  

Implementation Date of Attendance of the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers

1 June 2015
  

Target Participants of Attendance of the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers

For improving the driving attitude of drivers, and safety and service quality of PLB, the Road Traffic Ordinance, Cap 374 and the Road Traffic (Driving Licence) Regulations, Cap 374B were amended to require applicants for a PLB driving licence on or after 1 June 2015 to attend and complete a Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers, which is specified and approved by Commissioner for Transport, before being issued of the PLB driving licence. (Note: These Regulations do not apply to those who have already applied for the relevant driving test before the implementation date)
  

Content of the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers

The Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers includes 6 modules, 16 hours in total. Participants have to complete the Pre-service Course in not less than 2 separate days or not more than 4 half days. Participants who have completed the course and passed the course-end assessment will obtain a course certificate issued by the designated Pre-service Training Schools for PLB Drivers.
  

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1 : What is the content of the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers?
A1 : The Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers (the Pre-service Course) includes 6 modules, 16 hours in total:

Module 1: Public Light Bus Operations
Module 2: Occupational Health
Module 3: Brief Introduction to Public Light Bus’s Body & Structure
Module 4: Safe Driving & Road Safety
Module 5: Major Contributing Factors for Traffic Accidents & Handling Emergencies
Module 6: Customer Services & Handling Passenger Complaint
  

Q2 : Is there any requirement to apply for the Pre-service Course?
A2 : The Pre-service Course is provided by the Pre-service Training School –

(i) to a person who has applied to take a driving test in respect of public light buses, private light buses, public buses, private buses or franchised buses, or a test in respect of any combination of such types of vehicle; or
(ii) to a person who has passed a driving test in respect of public light buses, private light buses, public buses, private buses or franchised buses, or a test in respect of any combination of such types of vehicle; or
(iii) to a holder of a full driving licence to drive a public light bus, private light bus, public bus, private bus or franchised bus; or
(iv) to a person holding any other driving licence who has been permitted by the Commissioner in writing to take the course
  

Q3 : How can a participant of the Pre-service Course obtain a course certificate?
A3 : Course certificate will be issued to the participants by the designated Pre-service Training Schools for PLB Drivers if they have completed the 6 modules of the Pre-service Course with 100% attendance and passed the course-end assessment.
  
Q4 : How is the Pre-service Course conducted? Can I only take the course-end assessment without attending the course? How is the assessment carried out and what is the passing mark?
A4 : The Pre-service Course is conducted by lectures on knowledge and practical skills of PLB operation. Interactive learning and discussions are encouraged among participants. Course-end assessment will be conducted to ensure that the participants have acquired the basic knowledge and skills on provision of PLB service. According to the regulations, all applicants for a PLB driving licence on or after 1 June 2015 are required to attend and complete a Pre-service Course before being issued of the PLB driving licence (Note: These regulations do not apply to those who have already applied for the relevant driving test before the implementation date). Hence, participants cannot take the course-end assessment without completing the course.

The course-end assessment is conducted during the last 30 minutes of the Pre-service Course. Participants are required to answer 25 multiple-choice questions on course contents of all 6 modules. Those who answer 15 questions (i.e. 60%) or above correctly will pass the assessment. Only participants who have completed the Pre-service Course with 100% attendance can take the assessment.

Participants who have failed in the course-end assessment will be provided two chances free-of-charge to re-take the test. In case any participants still fail in the test, he or she will need to apply and attend the Pre-service Course again.
  

Q5 : Is there a validity period for the Pre-service Course certificate?
A5 : The Pre-service Course certificate is valid for 1 year, from the issue date of the certificate. Applicants for the PLB driving licence can attend the Pre-service Course after passing the PLB driving test. For applicants who have attended the Pre-service Course before taking the PLB driving test, they must pass the PLB driving test within 1 year after the issue of the course certificate so that they can fulfill the criteria for issuance of the PLB driving licence.
  
Q6 : If I want to apply for a PLB (code 5) driving licence, when should I apply for a Pre-service Course?
A6 : According to the legislation, starting from 1 June 2015, applicants for a PLB driving licence are required to pass the PLB road test and attend and complete a Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers in order to obtain a PLB driving licence. Hence, if you want to apply for a PLB driving licence on or after 1 June 2015, you should first apply for and purchase test form at the Transport Department. Then, you can consider when to apply for the Pre-service Course according to your own schedule.

Please note that since the Pre-service Course certificate is valid for 1 year only, if course participants decide to attend the course before passing the PLB road test, they should consider whether they have sufficient time for learning driving and passing the PLB road test after they have completed the pre-service course.
  

Q7 : How much is the Pre-service Course fee? Is there any subsidy for the Pre-service Course?
A7 : The course fee for the Pre-service Course is capped at $1,500 by the Transport Department. The Pre-service Course is offered by Pre-service Training Schools designated by the Transport Department. Please refer to Q&A 11 of this page for details of the Pre-service Training Schools. The Employees Retraining Board (ERB) also offers the Pre-service Course under its Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus. Eligible applicants with low income may apply for course fee subsidy. For details, please visit the web site of ERB (Chinese version only).
  
Q8 : I have passed the PLB driving test before the implementation date of mandatory attendance of the Pre-service Course (i.e. before 1 June 2015) but I apply for a PLB driving licence at the Transport Department Licensing Office on or after 1 June 2015. Do I need to attend and complete the Pre-service Course in order to obtain a PLB driving licence?
A8 : No. According to the new regulation 8A of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations, Cap 374B, if you have applied for the PLB driving test before the implementation date of the mandatory attendance of the Pre-service Course (i.e. before 1 June 2015), you are not required to attend and complete the Pre-service Course in order to obtain a PLB driving licence. Certainly, you must apply for a PLB driving licence at the Transport Department Licensing Offices within 3 years after passing your PLB driving test.
  
Q9 : I have passed the bus driving test but did not complete the Pre-service Course, am I entitled to apply for a PLB (code 5) driving licence? Can I apply for a PLB driving licence after having completed the Pre-service Course later?
A9 : With effect from 1 June 2015, if you have passed the PLB (code 5) driving test but yet to complete the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers as approved by the Transport Department and obtain the course certificate issued by the Pre-service Training School concerned, you are entitled to apply for a private light bus (code 4) driving licence only. Similarly, if you have passed the public bus (code 10) driving test but yet to complete the Pre-service Course and obtain the course certificate, you are entitled to apply for the driving licence of private / public bus (code 9, 10) and private light bus (code 4) only.

Having completed the Pre-service Course and obtained the course certificate, you can apply for a PLB (code 5) driving licence after 7 working days from the date that you passed your private / public bus (code 9, 10) or private light bus / PLB (code 4, 5) driving test and within the validity period of the course certificate. The course certificate is valid for 1 year from the date of completion of the Pre-service Course.
  

Q10 : I am a holder of PLB (code 5) driving licence but not an incumbent PLB driver. Do I need to attend and complete the Pre-service Course if I am going to work as a PLB driver in the future?
A10 : The Pre-service Course is introduced by the Transport Department to provide training to applicants of PLB driving licence in order to equip them with basic knowledge and skills on PLB service before they work as PLB drivers, with a view to improving the safety and quality of PLB service. Existing holders of PLB driving licenses are not required to attend the Pre-service Course according to the existing regulation. They can decide to attend the course on a need basis.
  
Q11 : Where could I enroll in the Pre-service Course?
A11 : You may register with any one of the Pre-service Training Schools for enrollment for the Pre-service Course. Details of the Pre-service Training Schools as follows: 
  
   

 Name of School

 Address of School

 Enquiry Hotline

 Way of Application

The Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions Occupational Retraining Centre Limited 3/F, Fok Sing Building,
234-238 Shau Kei Wan Road,
Sai Wan Ho, HK.
2568 8922 Call enquiry hotline or
visit the School or other centres of the School for application
The Hong Kong School of Motoring Limited No. 138, Sha Tin Wai Road,
Siu Lek Yuen, Shatin, NT.
2384 8301

Call enquiry hotline or
visit the School for application

http://www.hksm.com.hk

Lee Kin Driving School Limited Unit 1704, 17/F, Nan Fung Centre,
264-298 Castle Peak Road,
Tsuen Wan, NT.
2390 0700
2577 9921
2691 5757

Call enquiry hotline or
visit the School for application

http://www.leekin.com.hk

The Good Luck Motoring School Limited Room H, 5/F, Cheong Ming Building,
86 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kln.
2392 8700

Call enquiry hotline or
visit the shop at Room F, 2/F, Cheong Ming Building, 86 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kln. for application

Hung Chun Driving School Limited Office B, 1/F, Po Hong Building,
37 Po Heung Street, Tai Po, NT.
2341 1322
2638 8300
Call enquiry hotline or
visit branches of the School for application
Tak On Driving School Limited Shop 2013, 2/F, United Centre,
95 Queensway, Admiralty, HK.
2550 0227 Call enquiry hotline or
visit branches of the School for application

Note: The Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions offers the Pre-service Course for PLB Drivers under the Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus of the Employees Retraining Board (ERB). Eligible applicants may apply for course fee subsidy. For details, please visit the web site of ERB (Chinese version only).

 
Q12 : When could I apply for a public light bus (PLB, code 5) driving licence after completing the Pre-service Course?
A12 : After you complete the Pre-service course, the school needs to mark the course-end assessment paper and submit the result to Transport Department (TD)for processing. You may submit your application for PLB driving licence to any Licensing Offices of TD at least 5 working days after the School issues the Pre-service Course Certificate to you. For details of the timing, please consult the school that you took the Pre-service course. 
  
 

Enquiries

Enquiries may be directed to the Transport Department hotline at 2804 2600.

The above is a general guide. The relevant legislation is set out in the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) and the Road Traffic (Driving Licence) Regulations (Cap 374B).

引言

公共小巴司機職前課程是為了提升公共小巴的安全和服務質素而設。推行該課程是期望讓新入職公共小巴司機能掌握公共小巴服務的基本知識和技巧,並提升其駕駛態度,從而令公共小巴的安全和服務質素獲整體提升。
  

修習公共小巴司機職前課程的實施日期

2015 年 6 月 1 日
  

須修習公共小巴司機職前課程的人士

為改善公共小巴司機的駕駛態度及提升公共小巴的安全和服務質素,《道路交通條例》(第374章)及《道路交通(駕駛執照)規例》(第374B章)經修定後規定,由2015年6月1日起申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士,均須修習並完成由運輸署署長指明並認可的職前課程,才可獲發公共小巴駕駛執照。(註:此規定不適用於在實施日前已申請有關駕駛考試的人士)
  

公共小巴司機職前課程內容

公共小巴司機職前課程的內容包括六個單元,合共16小時。學員須在不少於2個全日或不多於4個半日的時間內完成課程。完成修習並通過課程考試的學員會獲取由運輸署指定的公共小巴司機職前訓練學校所發出的課程證書。
  

常見問題

問1: 公共小巴司機職前課程有什麼內容?
答1: 公共小巴司機職前課程(下稱職前課程)的內容包括六個單元,合共16小時:

單元一:公共小巴的營運
單元二:職業健康
單元三:公共小巴結構的簡介
單元四:駕駛安全及道路安全
單元五:交通意外主要成因及應急工作
單元六:客户服務及投訴的處理

 

問2: 報讀職前課程需符合甚麼資格?
答2: 職前訓練學校會向以下人士提供職前課程:

(i) 已申請參加公共小巴、私家小巴、公共巴士、私家巴士或專利巴士駕駛考試(或該等車輛類型的任何組合的駕駛考試)的人;
(ii) 已在公共小巴、私家小巴、公共巴士、私家巴士或專利巴士駕駛考試(或該等車輛類型的任何組合的駕駛考試)中及格的人;
(iii) 公共小巴、私家小巴、公共巴士、私家巴士或專利巴士正式駕駛執照的持有人;或
(iv) 獲署長書面准許報讀該課程的任何其他駕駛執照持有人

 

問3: 修習職前課程的學員怎樣才會獲發證書?
答3: 學員的出席率必須達100%完成六個單元的課程,並在課程考試取得及格成績,方可獲取由有關職前訓練學校所發出的課程證書。

 

問4: 職前課程以甚麼形式上課,我可否豁免上課,只參加考試?考試形式和及格標準如何?
答4: 職前課程是透過課堂學習,由導師將課程內各項實際操作公共小巴的知識和技巧教授給學員,並鼓勵學員互動學習和討論。最後,課程會透過評核測驗的方式確定學員是否已能掌握提供公共小巴服務的基本知識和技巧。根據法例規定,所有在2015年6月1日或之後申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士,均須修習職前課程並在課程考試取得及格成績(註:此規定不適用於在實施日前已申請有關駕駛考試的人士),故此,學員不能只參加考試而不用上課。

考試會在整個課程的最後30分鐘舉行,學員須回答共25題多項選擇題,答對15題(即60%)或以上方為及格,範圍包括課程六個單元的所有內容。學員必須達到100%出席率完成整個職前課程,才可參加考試。

未能通過課程考試的學員,會獲兩次免費補考機會。如在兩次補考後仍未能取得及格成績,便須重新報讀課程。

 

問5: 職前課程證書有否有效期限?
答5: 職前課程證書有效期為1年,由證書發出日起計算。申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士可選擇在公共小巴駕駛考試及格後才修習職前課程。若申請人在參加公共小巴駕駛考試前修習該課程,必須在獲發課程證書之後1年內通過公共小巴駕駛考試,方可申請及獲發公共小巴駕駛執照。

 

問6: 如我要申請公共小巴(即代號5)駕駛執照,應於何時報讀職前課程?
答6: 法例規定由2015年6月1日起申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士,在通過公共小巴路試的同時必須修習並完成職前課程,才可獲發公共小巴駕駛執照。因此,在2015年6月1日或以後申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士,須先向運輸署申請及購買駕駛考試表格(俗稱路票),然後才自行選擇何時報讀職前訓練課程。

請注意,由於職前課程證書有效期為1年,因此學員如準備在路試及格前完成職前課程,須衡量在獲得課程證書後是否有足夠時間完成駕駛學習及通過公共小巴路試,以取得公共小巴駕駛執照。

 

問7: 職前課程的學費為多少?修讀職前課程有否學費資助?
答7: 運輸署現訂定公共小巴司機職前課程的最高收費為1,500元。職前課程由運輸署指定的公共小巴司機職前訓練學校提供,有關學校的資料可參閱本頁問答11。僱員再培訓局亦會在其「新技能提升計劃」下提供該職前課程,低收入的合資格申請人,可申請學費資助。詳情請瀏覽僱員再培訓局網頁

 

問8: 我在強制修習職前課程生效日期前(即2015年6月1日前)已在公共小巴的駕駛考試取得及格成績,但我在2015年6月1日或之後才向運輸署牌照組申請公共小巴駕駛執照。請問我是否需要修習及完成職前課程才可獲發公共小巴駕駛執照?
答8: 否。根據《道路交通(駕駛執照)規例》(第374B章)新加入的第8A條規定,如你在強制修習職前課程生效日期前(即2015年6月1日前),已申請參加公共小巴駕駛考試,便不需修習及完成職前課程才可獲發有關執照。當然,你必須在通過公共小巴駕駛考試後的3年內向運輸署牌照組提交公共小巴駕駛執照申請。

 

問9: 我通過了巴士的駕駛考試,但沒有修習職前課程,我是否可獲同時簽發公共小巴(即代號5)的駕駛執照?如我稍後才完成職前課程,是否可再申領公共小巴駕駛執照?
答9: 由2015年6月1日起,如你通過了公共小巴(即代號5)駕駛考試,但未完成經本署核准的公共小巴司機職前課程及獲取由有關職前訓練學校所發出的課程證書,你只可獲簽發私家小巴(即代號4)駕駛執照;同樣地,如你只通過了公共巴士(即代號10)駕駛考試,但未完成職前課程及獲取課程證書,只可獲同時簽發私家/公共巴士(即代號9、10)及私家小巴(即代號4)的駕駛執照。

然而,如你日後才完成職前課程及獲取課程證書,你可在私家/公共巴士(即代號9、10)或私家/公共小巴(即代號4、5)駕駛考試及格日起計7個工作日後及課程證書有效期內,申領公共小巴(即代號5)駕駛執照。該課程證書於完成課程日期起計1年內有效。

 

問10: 我持有公共小巴(即代號5)駕駛執照但非在職公共小巴司機,如我日後打算入行成為公共小巴司機,是否亦需先修習職前課程?
答10: 運輸署引入公共小巴司機職前課程,旨在為申請公共小巴駕駛執照的人士提供合適的培訓,讓他們在入職公共小巴司機前掌握提供公共小巴服務的基本知識和技巧,以提升公共小巴的安全和服務質素。法例現時未有強制規定所有公共小巴駕駛執照的持有人修習職前課程,駕駛者可按其需要決定是否報讀課程。

 

問11: 我可在何處報名修習職前課程?
答11:

你可向任何一間職前訓練學校報讀職前課程。有關學校的資料如下:

 

 學校名稱

 學校地址

 查詢電話

報名方法

工聯會職業再訓練中心有限公司 香港西灣河筲箕灣道234-238號
福昇大廈3字樓
2568 8922 致電查詢電話或
親身前往該學校或該學校其他中心報名
香港駕駛學院有限公司 新界沙田小瀝源沙田圍路138號 2384 8301

致電查詢電話或
親身前往該學校報名

http://www.hksm.com.hk

李健駕駛學校有限公司 新界荃灣青山路264-298號
南豐中心17樓1704室
2390 0700
2577 9921
2691 5757

致電查詢電話或
親身前往該學校報名

http://www.leekin.com.hk

好運駕駛專業學校有限公司 九龍旺角亞皆老街86號
昌明大廈5樓H室
2392 8700 致電查詢電話或
親身前往九龍旺角亞皆老街
86號昌明大廈2樓F室報名
鏗鏘駕駛學校有限公司 新界大埔寶鄉街37號
寶康大廈1樓B室
2341 1322
2638 8300
致電查詢電話或
親身前往該學校各分校報名
德安駕駛學校有限公司 香港金鐘金鐘道95號
統一中心2樓商場2013號鋪
2550 0227 致電查詢電話或
親身前往該學校各分校報名

備註: 香港工會聯合會為僱員再培訓局的「新技能提升計劃」提供公共小巴司機職前課程,合資格的申請人可申請學費資助。詳情請瀏覽僱員再培訓局網頁

 
問12: 我在完成修習職前課程以後多久才可申領公共小巴(即代號5)駕駛執照?
答12:

你在完成修習職前課程後,學校需時評改期末評核試卷及將成績呈交運輸署處理,因此,你須待學校發出職前課程證書日起計至少5個工作天後,才可到本署各牌照事務處申領公共小巴駕駛執照。詳細時間,請向你修習職前課程的學校查詢。

 

請致電運輸署熱線2804 2600查詢。

以上所述,只是一般指引,相關的法例請參閱《道路交通條例》(第374章)及《道路交通(駕駛執照)規例》(第374B章)。