Hong Kong: The Facts
Transport

Every day, about 8.93 million passenger journeys are made on a public transport system which includes railways, trams, buses, minibuses, taxis and ferries in 2020.

There are about 373 licensed vehicles for every kilometre of road, and the topography makes it increasingly difficult to provide additional road capacity in the heavily built-up areas.

Buses and Minibuses:

By end December 2020, the Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Limited (KMB) operates 359 bus routes in Kowloon and the New Territories and 65 cross-harbour routes. Fares range from $3.2 to $13.4 for urban routes, from $2 to $46.5 for the New Territories routes and from $8.8 to $39.9 for the cross-harbour routes.

With a fleet of 3 997 licensed air-conditioned buses, mostly double-deckers, KMB is one of the largest road passenger transport operators in the southeast Asia. The total fleet carries an average of about 2.12 million passengers a dayNote 1, 2.

The New World First Bus Services Limited operates 47 Hong Kong Island routes, 33 cross-harbour routes and 14 routes serving Kowloon and Tseung Kwan O, and carries an average of 348 000 passengers daily Note 2 by a fleet of 690 air-conditioned buses. Fares range from $3.4 to $13 for Hong Kong Island routes, $3.6 to $15.6 for Kowloon and Tseung Kwan O routes and from $8.8 to $35.2 for the cross-harbour routes.

Citybus Limited operates two bus networks under two franchises. One of the networks comprises 52 Hong Kong Island routes, three Kowloon routes, one New Territories route and 35 cross-harbour routes. With a fleet of 744 air-conditioned buses, this network carries an average of about 369 000 passengers a day Note 1, 2. Fares range from $2.7 to $13.4 for Hong Kong Island routes, and from $9.8 to $35.8 for the cross-harbour routes.

Citybus Limited has another bus network which mainly provides services between urban areas and Airport/North Lantau. The network comprises 28 routes and 223 air-conditioned buses. Average daily patronage is about 57 000 passengers Note 1, 2 and fares range from $3 to $58.

Long Win Bus Company Limited mainly provides bus services between New Territories and Airport/North Lantau. It operates 38 routes with a fleet of 238 air-conditioned buses. Average daily patronage is about 77 000 passengers Note 1, 2 and fares range from $3.5 to $45.

The New Lantao Bus Company (1973) Limited operates 26 Lantau routes and one route travelling to and from Shenzhen Bay Port and carries an average of 61 000 passengers daily Note 1, 2. Fares range from $3.1 to $43. The fleet consisted of 150 air-conditioned buses.

The bus companies are continuously encouraged to fit their fleet with environmental-friendly engines.

Public Light Buses (PLBs) are minibuses with not more than 19 seats. Their number is fixed at a maximum of 4 350 vehicles. Some PLBs are used for scheduled services (green minibuses) and others for non-scheduled services (red minibuses).

Red minibuses are free to operate anywhere, except where special prohibitions apply, without fixed routes or fares. By end December 2020, there are 1 009 red minibuses.

Green minibuses operate on fixed routes and frequencies at fixed prices. By end December 2020, there are 67 main green minibus routes on Hong Kong Island, 82 in Kowloon and 211 in the New Territories, employing a total of 3 341 vehicles. Red minibuses carry about 183 300 passengers a day, while green minibuses carry about 1 116 200 passengers daily Note 2.

Augmenting franchised buses and PLBs, there are 7 194 non-franchised public buses registered as at end December 2020 to provide services mainly for tourists, students, employees and residents.

Taxis:

The 15 250 urban taxis (red), 2 838 New Territories taxis (green) and 75 Lantau taxis (blue) carry about 660 000 passengers daily Note 2. Urban taxis operate throughout Hong Kong except Tung Chung Road and roads in south Lantau. New Territories taxis mainly operate in the north-eastern (i.e. north of Sha Tin) and north-western (i.e. north of Tsuen Wan) parts of the New Territories. Lantau taxis operate only on Lantau Island and in Chek Lap Kok. All taxis are allowed to provide services at the passenger terminals of Hong Kong International Airport, the Public Transport Interchange at the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge (HZMB) (Hong Kong Port) and Hong Kong Disneyland.

Taxi fare scales are stipulated in the law. Urban taxis charge $24 for the first two kilometres or any part thereof. The incremental charge for every subsequent 200 metres or part thereof and for every waiting period of one minute or part thereof is $1.7 until the amount reaches $83.5, and $1.2 after the amount has reached $83.5. New Territories taxis charge $20.5 for the first two kilometres or any part thereof. The incremental charge for every subsequent 200 metres or part thereof and for every waiting period of one minute or part thereof is $1.5 until the amount reaches $65.5, and $1.2 after the amount has reached $65.5. Lantau taxis charge $19 for the first two kilometres or any part thereof. The incremental charge for every subsequent 200 metres or part thereof and for every waiting period of one minute or part thereof is $1.5 until the amount reaches $154, and $1.4 after the amount has reached $154.

Rail Systems:

Mass Transit Railway (MTR) is a heavily patronised railway network with a total length of about 263 km. At present, the MTR system consists of Kwun Tong Line (Tiu Keng Leng – Whampoa), Tsuen Wan Line (Tsuen Wan – Central), Island Line (Chai Wan – Kennedy Town), Tung Chung Line (Hong Kong – Tung Chung), Tseung Kwan O Line (Po Lam/LOHAS Park – North Point), East Rail Line (Hung Hom – Lo Wu/Lok Ma Chau), West Rail Line (Tuen Mun – Hung Hom), Tuen Ma Line Phase 1 (Wu Kai Sha – Kai Tak), Disneyland Resort Line (Sunny Bay – Disneyland Resort) and South Island Line (Admiralty – South Horizons). By December 2020, standard class fares for adult single journey ticket range from $4 to $63.5. The MTR also operates a 35.2 km (with 70.4-kilometre-long track) Airport Express connecting the city centre with the Hong Kong International Airport and the AsiaWorld-Expo. Fares for adult single journey ticket range from $6 to $115. The MTR and Airport Express networks comprise a total of 96 stations.

The MTR system also covers a Light Rail network in north-west New Territories, which comprises 36.2 kilometres of double track (with 73-kilometre-long track) with 68 stops and is supported by feeder bus services. Fares for adult single journey ticket range from $5.5 to $7.5.

Besides, the MTR operates Intercity Through Train services from Hung Hom to Shanghai, Beijing and cities in Guangdong Province. Nine pairs of through trains are available daily between Hung Hom and Guangzhou for which eight northbound and eight southbound trains call at Changping. Trains to Shanghai and Beijing operate on alternate days.

The Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Hong Kong Section) (XRL) commenced operation in September 2018. It connects Hong Kong to the national high speed rail network and reduces the rail journey time between Hong Kong and various major cities in the Mainland. The XRL trains run between Hong Kong West Kowloon Station and 58 Mainland destinations, including six short-haul and 52 long-haul destinations.

By end December 2020, the entire MTR railway system carries an average of 3.5 million passengers each day Note 1, 2.

Trams:

Trams have been running in Hong Kong since 1904. Hong Kong Tramways Limited operates seven routes along the north shore of Hong Kong Island on a 16-kilometre track. A total of 168 double-deck trams are used for the services between Shau Kei Wan and Kennedy Town and around Happy Valley. The adult fare is $2.6 and an average of some 113 000 passengers are carried daily by end December 2020 Note 2. The company’s fleet of trams include two open-balcony trams, one air-conditioned tram, one sightseeing tram for tourists, three trams for private hire and three maintenance trams.

Ferries:

The "Star" Ferry Company Limited, established in 1898, operates two cross-harbour ferry routes. Fares for adult single journey range from $2.6 to $4.2.

Sun Ferry Services Company Limited (formerly known as New World First Ferry Services Limited) took over the operation of the licensed ferry services from Hong Kong and Yaumati Ferry Company Limited since January 15, 2000. It currently operates six inner harbour and outlying island passenger ferry services with fares for adult single journey ranging from $8.5 to $47.1.

The Hong Kong and Kowloon Ferry Limited, Discovery Bay Transportation Services Limited, Park Island Transport Company Limited and some other operators run other cross-harbour and outlying island passenger ferry services. In 2020, local ferry services carry about 85 910 passengers daily Note 2.

In addition to passenger ferry services, there are two vehicular ferry routes for dangerous goods vehicles.

Private Transport:

There are 573 003 licensed private cars, accounting for 71 per cent of all vehicles as at end December 2020.

Parking:

By end December 2020, the Transport Department (TD) manages about 4 400 parking spaces for private cars and 680 parking spaces for motorcycles in 11 government multi-storey car parks. Together with an open-air car park for coaches, these parking facilities are managed by two private operators. There is an estimate of some 730 000 additional off-street parking spaces, of which about 198 000 are for public use and about 532 000 are designated for private use in commercial, residential and industrial premises.

If traffic situation permits, the TD would provide on-street parking spaces at appropriate locations to address the demand. To deter prolonged occupation, on-street parking spaces are metered in areas with limited spaces and high demand. Currently, there are about 35 000 on-street parking spaces, among which about 17 000 are non-metered and about 18 000 are metered. Metered time mostly falls between 8am and midnight on weekdays and between 10am and 10pm on Sundays and public holidays.

Road Tunnels:

There are 22 road tunnels, including three immersed-tube cross-harbour tunnels. The Government owns 19 road tunnels and the other three are private tunnels.

The Lion Rock Tunnel, opened in November 1967, provides a link from north Kowloon to Sha Tin. It is used by around 83 600 vehicles daily. The toll is $8.

The Aberdeen Tunnel was opened in March 1982. It is used by around 56 400 vehicles daily. The toll is $5.

The toll-free Kai Tak Tunnel, opened in June 1982, runs beneath the runway of the former Kai Tak Airport linking the central area of Kowloon with Kwun Tong and is used by around 52 000 vehicles per day.

The Shing Mun Tunnels, opened in April 1990, link up Tsuen Wan to Sha Tin. They are used by around 49 700 vehicles each day. The toll is $5.

The Tseung Kwan O Tunnel, opened in November 1990, provides a road link between Kwun Tong and Tseung Kwan O New Town. On average, around 89 900 vehicles per day use the tunnel. The toll is $3.

The dual three-lane 1.6-kilometre long Cheung Tsing Tunnel, which is within the Tsing Ma Control Area, forms part of Route 3 and links northwest New Territories and Lantau with West Kowloon. It is toll-free.

The Cross-Harbour Tunnel, opened in August 1972, is used by around 104 800 vehicles daily. Upon the expiry of the franchise on August 31, 1999, the tunnel has been vested in the Government. Tolls range from $8 to $30.

The Eastern Harbour Crossing, opened in September 1989, is used by around 72 100 vehicles daily. Upon the expiry of the franchise on August 7, 2016, the tunnel has been vested in the Government. Tolls range from $13 to $75.

The Tate’s Cairn Tunnel, opened in June 1991, is used by around 56 000 vehicles daily. Upon the expiry of the franchise on July 11, 2018, the tunnel has been vested in the Government. Tolls range from $15 to $35.

The Western Harbour Crossing, opened in April 1997, is operated by the Western Harbour Tunnel Company Limited. It is used by around 49 400 vehicles daily. Tolls range from $150 to $770. The tunnel company offers concessionary tolls and the actual tolls range from $25 to $200.

The Tai Lam Tunnel and Yuen Long Approach Road is operated by the Route 3 (CPS) Company Limited. Opened in May 1998, it is used by around 46 200 vehicles daily. Tolls range from $95 to $315. The tunnel company offers concessionary tolls and the actual tolls range from $22 to $168.

The Discovery Bay Tunnel Link, opened in May 2000, is operated by the Discovery Bay Road Tunnel Company Limited. It is used by around 2 100 vehicles daily with tolls ranging from $50 to $250.

The Tai Wai Tunnel, Sha Tin Heights Tunnel, Eagle’s Nest Tunnel and Nam Wan Tunnel, which are within the Tsing Sha Control Area, form part of Route 8 and link Sha Tin with Tsing Yi. Opened in March 2008, the Tai Wai Tunnel, Sha Tin Heights Tunnel and Eagle’s Nest Tunnel are used by around 54 600 vehicles daily. The toll is $8. The Nam Wan Tunnel, opened in December 2009, is toll-free.

The Scenic Hill Tunnel forms part of the HZMB Hong Kong Link Road, while the Airport Tunnel forms part of the road connecting the HZMB (Hong Kong Port) with the Hong Kong International Airport. These two tunnels were both opened in October 2018 and are toll-free.

The Central - Wan Chai Bypass Tunnel connects the Connaught Road Central Elevated Road in Central with the Island Eastern Corridor in North Point. It was fully opened in February 2019 and is toll-free.

The Lung Shan Tunnel connects Fanling and Sha Tau Kok Road Interchange, while the Cheung Shan Tunnel connects Sha Tau Kok Road Interchange and Ta Kwu Ling. They both form part of the Heung Yuen Wai Highway. They were opened in May 2019 and are toll-free.

The Tuen Mun-Chek Lap Kok Tunnel connects Tuen Mun Area 40 with HZMB (Hong Kong Port). It was opened in December 2020 and is toll-free.

Central to Mid-Levels Escalator and Walkway System:

Opened in 1993, the system consists of covered walkways, 16 reversible one-way escalators and three reversible one-way travelators. It starts at Queen’s Road Central, passes through narrow streets in Central and ends at Conduit Road. Managed by the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, the system is used by about 78 000 people daily.

Tsing Ma Control Area (TMCA):

Opened in May 1997, it covers a key section of the highway route to northwest Lantau, Ma Wan, the Hong Kong International Airport and the HZMB (Hong Kong Port). It comprises a 21-kilometre expressway network including Tsing Kwai Highway, Cheung Tsing Tunnel, Cheung Tsing Highway, Northwest Tsing Yi Interchange, Ting Kau Bridge, Tsing Yi North Coastal Road, Lantau Link (which comprises Tsing Ma and Kap Shui Mun bridges), Ma Wan Road and North Lantau Highway (up to Sunny Bay Interchange). On average, the Lantau Link is used by around 54 200 vehicles daily. The Government waived the tolls of the Lantau Link from December 2020 in tandem with the commissioning of the Tuen Mun-Chek Lap Kok Tunnel.

Cross-boundary Traffic:

There are four rail boundary crossings connecting Hong Kong and the Mainland, namely the Lo Wu, the Lok Ma Chau Spur Line, the Hung Hom Station and the Hong Kong West Kowloon Station Crossings. In 2020 Note 1, the Lo Wu boundary crossing handles about 5.5 million travellers in total; whilst Lok Ma Chau Spur Line Crossing handles about 3.5 million travellers (in which about 1.9 million are railway passengers). There are also about 110 000 passengers taking the through train services travelling between Hung Hom Station and various cities in the Mainland, and about 980 000 passengers taking the high speed rail service traveling between the Hong Kong West Kowloon station and various cities in the Mainland.

Apart from rail boundary crossings, there are six road boundary crossings connecting Hong Kong and the Mainland, namely Lok Ma Chau, Man Kam To, Sha Tau Kok, Shenzhen Bay, HZMB (Hong Kong Port) and Heung Yuen Wai road boundary crossings. Heung Yuen Wai is the sixth road boundary crossing which cargo clearance facilities have commenced operation since August 26, 2020. The commencement of the passenger clearance services will be subject to the situation of the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2020 Note 1, the total numbers of cross-boundary travellers using the Lok Ma Chau, Man Kam To, Sha Tau Kok, Shenzhen Bay and HZMB (Hong Kong Port) crossings are about 1.6 million, 240 000, 190 000, 3.7 million and 1.6 million respectively.

As affected by the pandemic, the total number of cross-boundary travellers and vehicles using the above land boundary crossings dropped significantly as compared with last year. By end December 2020, the total number of cross-boundary travellers using the above crossings was about 17.5 million, among which 8.5 million passengers used rail, 1.5 million passengers used cross-boundary coaches, 400 000 passengers used shuttle buses at Lok Ma Chau, 1.2 million passengers used shuttle buses at HZMB (Hong Kong Port), 1.2 million passengers used other cross-boundary passengers vehicles and 4.6 million cross-boundary passengers used other local public transport services to/from boundary crossings. For cross-boundary vehicular traffic, the total number of vehicular trips recorded at Lok Ma Chau, Man Kam To, Sha Tau Kok, Shenzhen Bay, Heung Yuen Wai and HZMB (Hong Kong Port) crossings are 3.5 million, 1.1 million, 300 000, 1.8 million, 60 000 and 300 000 respectively, amounting to about 7.1 million vehicular trips in total.

Note 1: As affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, passenger clearance services at various land boundary crossings have been adjusted as follows (as at the end of December 2020):

Crossing Passenger Clearance Service
Hung Hom Station, Hong Kong West Kowloon Station, Man Kam To, Sha Tau Kok Temporarily suspended from January 30, 2020
Lo Wu, Lo Ma Chau Spur Line, Lo Ma Chau Temporarily suspended from February 4, 2020
Shenzhen Bay Service hours shortened to 10 am to 8 pm from April 3, 2020
HZMB (Hong Kong Port) Service hours shortened to 10am to 8pm from April 5, 2020

Note 2: The average daily patronage of public transport are calculated based on calendar days in 2020, not operation days.

 

Click here to download the printed version

GovHK Website: https://www.gov.hk
Information contained in this publication may be freely used. No acknowledgement is necessary.

Transport Department Home Page address: https://www.td.gov.hk

April 2021

香港便覽
交通

香港各類公共交通工具,包括鐵路、電車、巴士、小型巴士、的士和渡輪,在2020年全年每日載客約893萬人次。

以車輛密度而言,每公里道路約有373輛領有牌照的車輛行走。由於地勢所限,在建築物林立的地區增闢道路已日益困難。

巴士及小型巴士:

截至2020年12月底,九龍巴士(1933)有限公司(九巴)經營359條九龍和新界區的巴士路線及65條過海路線。市區路線的收費由3.2元至13.4元,新界路線的車費由2元至46.5元,過海路線的車費則由8.8元至39.9元不等。

九巴有3 997輛領有牌照的空調巴士(大部分是雙層巴士),是東南亞規模最大的陸路客運公司之一。該公司旗下巴士平均每日載客約212萬人次註1、註2

新世界第一巴士服務有限公司擁有690輛空調巴士,經營47條港島線、33條過海路線及14條行走九龍和將軍澳區的路線,平均每日載客約348 000人次註2。港島路線的車費由3.4元至13元、九龍及將軍澳區路線的車費由3.6元至15.6元、過海路線的車費則由8.8元至35.2元不等。

城巴有限公司(城巴)根據兩項專營權分別經營兩個網絡的巴士服務。其中一個網絡包括52條港島線、三條九龍線、一條新界線及35條過海路線,有744輛空調巴士,平均每日載客約369 000人次註1、註2。車費方面,港島路線的收費由2.7元至13.4元,過海路線的車費則由9.8元至35.8元不等。

城巴的另一個巴士網絡主要提供來往市區及機場/北大嶼山的巴士服務。該網絡有28條路線及223輛空調巴士,平均每日載客約57 000人次註1、註2,車費由3元至58元不等。

龍運巴士有限公司主要提供來往新界及機場/北大嶼山的巴士服務。該公司經營38條巴士路線及有238輛空調巴士,平均每日載客約77 000人次註1、註2,車費由3.5元至45元不等。

新大嶼山巴士(1973)有限公司經營26條大嶼山路線及一條往返深圳灣口岸的路線,平均每日載客約61 000人次註1、註2,收費由3.1元至43元不等。該公司共有150輛空調巴士。

當局不斷鼓勵各巴士公司為旗下車隊安裝符合環保標準的引擎。

公共小型巴士(公共小巴)的數目,規定最多為4 350輛,每輛的座位最多為19個。有些公共小巴行走固定路線(綠色專線小巴),有些則行走非固定路線(紅色小巴)。

除禁區外,紅色小巴可行駛香港各區,沒有固定的收費和路線。截至2020年12月底,全港有1 009輛紅色小巴。

綠色專線小巴則按固定路線、班次和收費提供服務。截至2020年12月底,全港有3 341輛綠色專線小巴,行走的主路線包括港島67條、九龍82條及新界211條。每日載客量方面註2,紅色小巴約183 300人次,綠色專線小巴約1 116 200人次。

除專營巴士和公共小巴外,截至2020年12月底,本港還有7 194輛已登記的非專營公共巴士,主要承辦接送遊客、學生、僱員和住客的服務。

的士:

本港現有15 250輛市區的士(紅色)、2 838輛新界的士(綠色)及75輛大嶼山的士(藍色),每日載客約66萬人次註2。市區的士可在全港行駛(東涌道及南大嶼山的道路除外);新界的士主要在新界東北(即沙田以北)及西北(即荃灣以北)部營運;大嶼山的士只可在大嶼山及赤鱲角行駛。所有的士均可在香港國際機場客運大樓、港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)公共運輸交匯處及香港迪士尼樂園提供服務。

的士收費率在法例上列明。市區的士首兩公里或其任何部分收費24元,其後每200米或其任何部分/每1分鐘等候時間或其任何部分收費1.7元,直至款額達83.5元。在款額達83.5元後,有關收費為1.2元。新界的士首兩公里或其任何部分收費20.5元,其後每200米或其任何部分/每1分鐘等候時間或其任何部分收費1.5元,直至款額達65.5元。在款額達65.5元後,有關收費為1.2元。大嶼山的士首兩公里或其任何部分收費19元,其後每200米或其任何部分/每1分鐘等候時間或其任何部分收費1.5元,直至款額達154元。在款額達154元後,有關收費為1.4元。

鐵路系統:

港鐵是使用率高的鐵路網絡,截至20216整個系統全長266.3公里。港鐵系統包括觀塘(調景嶺至黃埔)、荃灣(荃灣至中環)、港島(柴灣至堅尼地城)、東涌(香港至東涌)、將軍澳(寶琳/康城至北角)、東鐵(紅磡至羅湖/落馬洲)、屯馬線(屯門至烏溪沙)、迪士尼(欣澳至迪士尼)及南港島(金鐘至海怡半島),成人普通等單程票價由4元至62.5元。港鐵亦營運全長35.2公里(軌道長70.4公里)的機場快連接市中心香港國際機場及亞洲國際博覽館,成人單程車費由6元至115元。港鐵及機場快這兩個網絡共設97個車站。

港鐵系統同時覆蓋新界西北的輕鐵網絡。輕鐵系統全長36.2公里,以雙軌行車(軌道長73公里),沿途設有68個車站,並輔以接駁巴士提供服務,成人單程車費由5.5元至7.5元。

此外,港鐵提供城際直通車服務,來往紅磡至上海、北京及廣東省內城市。來往紅磡與廣州之間的直通車每日對開9班,其中北行8班、南行8班停靠常平站。前往上海和北京的直通車則分別隔天開出。

廣深港高速鐵路(香港段)(高鐵)於2018年9月投入服務,連接香港與國家高速鐵路網絡,縮短由香港以鐵路來往內地多個主要城市的時間。高鐵列車來往香港西九龍站與58個內地站點,包括六個短途站點及52個長途站點。

截至2020年12月,整個港鐵鐵路系統每日平均載客量約350萬人次註1、註2

電車:

電車自1904年起投入服務。香港電車有限公司沿港島北岸經營七條路線,電車軌道總長16公里。該公司現有168輛雙層電車,往來筲箕灣至堅尼地城,以及環繞跑馬地。成人車費為2.6元。截至2020年12月底,每日平均載客約113 000人次註2。該公司的電車中,包括有兩輛開篷電車、一輛冷氣電車、一輛供遊客觀光的電車、三輛供私人租用的電車,以及三輛特別維修電車。

渡輪:

天星小輪有限公司於1898年成立。該公司現時經營兩條來往港內的渡輪航線,成人單程收費分別由2.6元至4.2元不等。

新渡輪服務有限公司(前稱新世界第一渡輪服務有限公司)於2000年1月15日起接手經營以往由香港油蔴地小輪船有限公司以持牌形式營運的渡輪航線,現時經營六條港內及離島客運渡輪航線,成人單程收費由8.5元至47.1元不等。

港九小輪有限公司、愉景灣航運服務有限公司、珀麗灣客運有限公司及其他營辦商經營其他港內及離島客運渡輪航線。於2020年,本地渡輪每日平均載客約85 910人次註2

除客運渡輪服務外,本港現有兩條汽車渡輪航線,提供運載危險品車輛的服務。

自用交通工具:

截至2020年12月底,有573 003輛領有牌照的私家車,佔本港車輛總數的71%。

停車設施:

截至2020年12月底,運輸署轄下11個多層停車場約有4 400個私家車泊位及680個電單車泊位,本署亦有一個旅遊巴士露天停車場,這些停車設施現交由兩間私營公司管理。除此之外,估計現時另有約730 000個非路旁停車位,其中約198 000個供公眾使用,其餘約532 000個車位位於商業、住宅及工業樓宇內供私人使用。

如交通情況許可,運輸署會在適當的地點設立路旁停車位以應付有關需求。有些地區因停車位數目有限但需求甚殷,故設有停車收費錶,藉以阻止車輛長時間停泊。現時約有35 000個路旁停車位,其中不設停車收費錶的約有17 000個。設有停車收費錶的車位則約有18 000個,大部分車位的收費時間為星期一至六上午八時至午夜十二時,以及星期日及公眾假期上午十時至晚上十時。

行車隧道:

現時,本港有22條行車隧道(包括三條海底隧道),其中19條是政府隧道,三條是私營隧道。

獅子山隧道連接北九龍與沙田,在1967年11月通車,平均每日行車量約83 600架次,收費為8元。

香港仔隧道在1982年3月啟用,平均每日行車量約 56 400架次,收費為5元。

啟德隧道建於前啟德機場跑道下,連接九龍中部和觀塘,在1982年6月通車。這條隧道不收取費用,平均每日行車量約為52 000架次。

城門隧道在1990年4月通車,連接荃灣和沙田。隧道平均每日行車量約49 700架次,收費為5元。

將軍澳隧道在1990年11月啟用,連接觀塘和將軍澳新市鎮,平均每日行車量約89 900架次,隧道費為3元。

長青隧道在青馬管制區範圍內,為三號幹線的一部分,將新界西北及大嶼山與西九龍連接起來,全長1.6公里,雙程三線行車。這條隧道不收取費用。

海底隧道在1972年8月通車,平均每日行車量約104 800架次。專營權於1999年8月31日屆滿後,隧道已歸政府所有。隧道費由8元至30元不等。

東區海底隧道在1989年9月落成啟用,平均每日行車量約72 100架次。專營權於2016年8月7日屆滿後,隧道現已歸政府所有。收費由13元至75元不等。

大老山隧道於1991年6月通車,平均每日行車量約  56 000架次。專營權於2018年7月11日屆滿後,隧道現已歸政府所有。隧道收費為15元至35元不等。

西區海底隧道在1997年4月通車,由香港西區隧道有限公司營運,平均每日行車量約49 400架次。隧道收費為150元至770元不等。隧道公司現正提供優惠,每程收費實為25元至200元不等。

大欖隧道及元朗引道由三號幹線(郊野公園段)有限公司營運,在1998年5月通車,平均每日行車量約46 200架次,隧道收費為95元至315元不等。隧道公司現正提供優惠,每程收費實為22元至168元不等。

愉景灣隧道及連接道路由愉景灣隧道有限公司營運,在2000年5月通車,平均每日行車約為2 100架次,收費由50元至250元不等。

大圍隧道、沙田嶺隧道、尖山隧道及南灣隧道在青沙管制區範圍內,為八號幹線的一部分,將沙田與青衣連接起來。大圍隧道、沙田嶺隧道及尖山隧道在2008年3月啟用,平均每日行車量約54 600架次。隧道費為8元。南灣隧道在2009年12月啟用及不收取費用。

觀景山隧道為港珠澳大橋香港連接路的一部分,而機場隧道則為連接港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)與香港國際機場的道路的一部分。這兩條隧道均在2018年10月通車及不收取費用。

中環及灣仔繞道隧道連接中環干諾道中高架道路及北角東區走廊,在2019年2月全面通車及不收取費用。

龍山隧道連接粉嶺及沙頭角公路交匯處,而長山隧道則連接沙頭角公路交匯處及打鼓嶺。這兩條隧道均是香園圍公路的一部分,並在2019年5月通車及不收取費用。

屯門—赤鱲角隧道連接屯門第40區與港珠澳大橋香港口岸,在2020年12月通車及不收取費用。

中環至半山自動扶梯系統:

在1993年啟用的中環至半山自動扶梯系統,是由有蓋行人道、16條可轉換方向的單向自動扶梯和三條可轉換方向的單向自動行人道組成,以皇后大道中為起點,貫穿中環多條狹窄的街道至干德道止。每日約有78 000人次使用。該自動扶梯系統由機電工程署負責管理。

青馬管制區:

青馬管制區是通往西北大嶼山、馬灣、香港國際機場及港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)的主要高速公路網,覆蓋長達21公里的快速公路,包括青葵公路、長青隧道、長青公路、青衣西北交匯處、汀九橋、青衣北岸公路、青嶼幹線(包括青馬大橋及汲水門橋)、馬灣路及北大嶼山公路(至欣澳交匯處)。青馬管制區於1997年5月通車,青嶼幹線平均每日行車量約54 200架次。政府由2020年12月起豁免青嶼幹線的收費,以配合屯門—赤鱲角隧道的開通。

過境交通:

現時有四條鐵路過境通道連接香港及內地,即羅湖、落馬洲支線、紅磡站及香港西九龍站過境通道。在2020年註1,羅湖過境通道處理的總旅客量約為550萬人次,而落馬洲支線過境通道處理約350萬人次(其中約190萬人次為鐵路乘客)。同時,全年共約有11萬名旅客乘搭鐵路直通車往返紅磡站及內地多個城市,以及約有98萬名旅客乘搭高鐵往返香港西九龍站及內地多個城市。

除了鐵路過境通道外,香港還有六條過境道路通道連接內地,即落馬洲、文錦渡、沙頭角、深圳灣、港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)及香園圍過境道路通道。香園圍為第六條過境道路通道,其貨檢設施於2020年8月26日啟用,而旅檢服務的啟用日期則須視乎2019冠狀病毒病疫情發展而定。在2020年註1,經落馬洲、文錦渡、沙頭角、深圳灣和港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)通道過境的旅客分別為約160萬、24萬、19萬、370萬和160萬人次。

受疫情影響,使用以上陸路過境通道的整體旅客人次及車次較去年大幅下降。截至2020年12月底,全年整體使用以上過境通道的旅客總人次為1750萬;當中使用鐵路的約850萬人次,過境旅遊巴士約150萬人次,落馬洲穿梭巴士約40萬人次,港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)穿梭巴士約120萬人次,其他過境客車約120萬人次,以及使用其他本地公共交通工具往返過境通道約460萬人次。過境車輛方面,整體使用以上過境通道的車輛總架次約為710萬,當中使用落馬洲、文錦渡、沙頭角、深圳灣、香園圍和港珠澳大橋(香港口岸)通道的車輛架次分別約350萬、110萬、30萬、180萬、6萬和30萬。

註1: 受2019冠狀病毒病疫情影響,各陸路過境通道的旅客清關服務調整如下(截至2020年12月底):

過境通道 旅客清關服務
紅磡站、香港西九龍站、文錦渡和沙頭角 由2020年1月30日起暫停
羅湖、落馬洲支線和落馬洲 由2020年2月4日起暫停
深圳灣 由2020年4月3日起,服務時間縮短為上午十時至下午八時。
港珠澳大橋(香港口岸) 由2020年4月5日起,服務時間縮短為上午十時至下午八時。

註2: 各公共運輸服務的平均每日載客人次以2020年全年日數,而非營運日數計算。

 

按此下載列印版本

資料截至2020年年底,除非另有註明。

2021年8月