Crossing where there is an island on the road
An Island On The Road It is safer to cross the road using islands. Use the Road Crossing Code to cross to the island. Stop there and use the Code again to cross the second part of the road.

Always make sure that there will be sufficient space on the island for you to wait safely and not too close to the traffic. If the island is crowded with other people waiting to cross, wait until it is free and likely to remain so.

Use only kerbed islands. Do not wait in areas of roadway hatched with white lines or on the roadway adjacent to an island. Do not use islands, central reservations, or parts of islands that have guard rails unless there are gaps provided for use by pedestrians.

Crossing a bus lane
Crossing Bus Lane Vehicles in bus lanes may be going faster than traffic in other lanes, and some bus lanes may be in the opposite direction to normal traffic. Do not wait on the white line between the bus lane and other lanes, but cross the road in one go.

Sign warning a pedestrian of a bus lane with advice to look left. The sign may vary to give the advice 'Look right'.

Bus Lane Warning

Crossing tram tracks

Trams cannot swerve to avoid you if, for example, you fall. Look out for other vehicles. If using a tram stop island or a strip dividing the tram lines from the rest of the road look for trams and other vehicles coming from both directions. Do not cross immediately behind or in front of a tram.

Crossing light rail tracks

Light rail vehicles cannot swerve to avoid you. When crossing light rail tracks, use proper crossing facilities such as footbridges or 'Green man' crossings. Where no proper crossing facilities are available, you should still follow the Road Crossing Code and exercise extra care.

Crossing a one-way road

Check which way the traffic is going. On one-way roads there may be more than one lane of traffic going in the same direction. Do not cross until it is safe to cross all the lanes of traffic. Continue to look in all directions while crossing as there may be a vehicle reversing or travelling the wrong way.

Crossing a busy road

Unless there is a pedestrian crossing , do not cross if the traffic flow is heavy without much variation and the gaps in the traffic are too few or too short to cross safely. If the traffic flow varies then be patient and wait for a safe gap in the traffic. Do not cross between stopped vehicles or those moving slowly in a queue.

Crossing a road with fast traffic

Use the Road Crossing Code but cross only if there is no traffic approaching.

Crossing a road at night

It is more difficult for drivers to see you at night and more difficult for you to judge speeds. Try to cross near a street light so that drivers will be able to see you more easily.

Crossing a road during poor weather

Take extra care in poor weather conditions, particularly during heavy rain or in mist or fog. It is more difficult for drivers to see you and for you to see moving vehicles. If the road is slippery cross only if there is no traffic approaching. Allow yourself more time to walk carefully.

Guard rails

Guard Rails
Guard rails and pedestrian barriers are often provided at place where stepping onto or crossing the road would be difficult or dangerous. The traffic may be particular busy or there may be a hidden hazard. Guard rails are also provided to guide you to a nearby crossing place.

You must not climb over or through guard rails or any fence or barrier onto the roadway. On a central reservation, you must not climb over or through a fence or barrier.
Guard Rails Illustration
Do not walk on the road side of guard rails. Do not cross a road where there are guard rails or a barrier on any island you may need to use or on the other side of the road - unless there are gaps provided for pedestrians to cross the road. Check that there is a gap in the guard rails on the other side of the road before crossing.

Not all gaps in guard rails are there to provide a crossing place for pedestrians. Before crossing the road using a gap, or at the end of length of guard rail check that it is a safe place to cross the road. You should always follow Step 1 of the Road Crossing Code before crossing the road.

在設有安全島的地方過馬路

安全島示意圖

除了第1點提及的地點外,使用安全島橫過馬路是較為安全的。先依照《過馬路守則》行往安全島,在該處停步,然後再依照《過馬路守則》,橫過另一邊馬路。 

你在前往安全島前,須確定該處有足夠空位站立,可以讓你安全等候而不致太接近來往的車輛。如果安全島已擠滿等候過馬路的人,便要在路邊等候,直至安全島有足夠空位時,才繼續前行。

橫過馬路時,要使用設有石壆的安全島,不可在髹上白色斜線的路面或在安全島旁邊的路面等候。不可橫越設有護欄的安全島或道路中央分隔帶,如護欄設有開口專供行人通行則例外。

橫過巴士線
橫過巴士綫示意圖 在巴士線的車輛,速度可能比在其他行車線的車輛快。有些巴士線的行車方向,或與一般行車線剛好相反。橫過馬路時,不可在分隔巴士線和其他行車線之間的白線等候,應一次過橫過馬路。 

 

 

巴士綫警告標誌
上圖標誌警告行人有巴士線,指示向左看。另有一款標誌指示行人「望右」。
 

橫過電車軌

電車無法改變行駛方向來避開你,例如,就算你跌倒,電車也無法閃避。橫過電車軌時,也要同時提防有其他車輛駛近,因部分行車線是電車和其他車輛均可使用。當你身處電車站的安全島,或電車軌與道路其餘部分之間的狹長地帶時,應看清楚是否有其他車輛或電車從兩邊駛來。不可貼近電車前後橫過馬路。

橫過輕鐵路軌

輕鐵列車同樣無法改變行駛方向來避開你。橫過輕鐵路軌時,應使用行人天橋或「綠色人像」過路處之類正式的過路設施。如果附近沒有正式的過路設施,行人應遵照《過馬路守則》,加倍小心橫過路軌。

橫過單程路

留意車輛向什麼方向行駛。單程路也可能是單向多線行車,除非你可以安全橫過所有行車線,否則不應過路。橫過時仍須看清楚四周,以防有車輛倒車或行錯方向駛來。

橫過交通繁忙的馬路

如果路上交通繁忙,車輛源源不絕,而車與車之間的空間太少或太窄,以致不能安全橫過,除非有行人過路處,否則不要橫過馬路。如車流疏密不定,便應耐心等候,待車輛之間出現安全空間時才過路。不要在一行正停定或慢駛的車輛之間穿過。

橫過車速較快的馬路

遵守《過馬路守則》的指示,但只可在沒有車輛駛近時,才可橫過馬路。。

在晚上橫過馬路

在晚上,駕駛人較難看見你,你也較難估計車速。盡量在接近有路燈的地方過路,讓駕駛人更容易看見你。

在天氣惡劣時橫過馬路

在天氣惡劣時,過馬路應格外小心;特別是在傾盆大雨或有霧時,更須留神。這時駕駛人較難看見你,你也較難看見正在行走的車輛。如路面濕滑,只應在沒有車輛駛近時才橫過馬路。行人應讓自己有充裕的時間,小心過馬路。

護欄

護欄

有些地點,如果行人踏出或橫過馬路,會遇上困難或危險。這些地點可能交通特別繁忙,或有潛在危險,因此,通常設有護欄或行人防護欄。護欄的另一作用,是把行人引導至附近的過路處。

不可攀過或穿過行車道上的護欄、欄杆、防護欄或中央分隔帶。

護欄引導圖

不可在護欄之外的馬路上步行。如可能要使用的安全島設有護欄,或對面的馬路設有護欄,則除非護欄設有專供行人通過的開口,否則不可在該處橫過馬路。過馬路前,應留意對面馬路的護欄是否亦設有讓行人通過的開口。

不是所有護欄間隙都是專供行人通過的。在護欄開口或盡頭處橫過馬路之前,應確定該處是安全的過路點。在過馬路前,切記遵守《過馬路守則》的第1點。