Private cars, taxis, light buses, goods vehicles and buses

illustration

You must wear an approved seat belt, if fitted, when driving except when you are carrying out a manoeuvre which involves reversing, for example a three-point turn, or moving forward and reversing into a parking place.

For private cars, you as a driver must make sure that all your passengers wear seat belts, if fitted. As private light bus and goods vehicle drivers, you are responsible for ensuring that your front seat passengers aged below 15 wear seat belts, if fitted.

Seat belts that are fitted to your vehicle must be of an approved type. The seat belt must be worn properly - it must securely fasten the wearer to the seat. Two or more persons must not share a seat belt at the same time. 

A child passenger under the age of 3 must be securely fastened to the seat by means of an approved child restraint when travelling in the front seat of private car, goods vehicle or private light bus. It would be much safer to put your children in the rear seats of a vehicle than in the front seats. (For more information on child safety in cars, see page 45)

Pregnant drivers or passengers are also subject to the above requirement of wearing seat belt. In case of a crash, pregnant women who wear seat belts sustain fewer injuries than those who do not, hence the risk to the baby is reduced.

Wearing a seat belt can reduce your chance of death or serious injury by about half. Seat belts are also very effective in reducing the effects of traffic accidents occurring at quite low speeds. A head-on collision involving two vehicles each moving at only 25 km/h produces an impact speed of 50 km/h - the same as falling head first from the third floor window of a building.

Legal requirements for wearing seat belts
  Drivers Front Seat
Passengers
Rear Seat
Passengers
 Private Cars Seat belt must be
worn if fitted
Seat belt must be
worn if fitted
Seat belt must be
worn if fitted
 Taxis
 Public Light Buses
 Private Light Buses
 and Goods
 Vehicles
 Not applicable
 Buses  Seat belt must be worn  Not applicable

Exemption on medical grounds

The Commissioner for Transport may consider granting you an exemption from wearing a seat belt if you can present a valid medical certificate from a doctor. However, very few people could be exempted on medical grounds. There is no list of health reasons, including pregnancy, which will automatically exempt you.

Wearing your seat belts correctly

Most seat belts fit automatically. But there are still some points to watch. And these are more important with static type belts. The lap belt must restrain your hip bones by lying across the top of your thighs not stomach. The diagonal strap should lie mid-way across your shoulder, staying in contact with your chest up to about your collar bone. See that the buckle is well down to your side and not lying on your body. You may have to change the length of the straps. Make sure the straps are not twisted or trapped and then fasten the buckle. If necessary, tighten the belt - as tight as possible but allowing for comfort.

You must not put on clips onto the seat belt as this would seriously reduce the effectiveness of the seat belt and also be illegal.

Looking after your seat belts

Seat belts should be looked after and checked regularly. Worn, damaged or defective seat belt cannot protect you or your passenger, and is also illegal. Seat belts will wear, even if not used very much. Check your belts for signs of damage and make sure that they run freely through the upper anchorage guides. If you have inertia reel belts, check that the unused webbing goes back into the reel easily.

Make sure that no part of a belt becomes trapped in a door or under a seat. This can cause serious damage to the belt. If the buckles are on flexible stalks, do not bend them back behind the seats or out of the way when they are not in use.

If a seat belt is worn, damaged or defective, it should be replaced immediately.

Static belts should always be stowed on the clip provided. Do not allow them to dangle on the floor.

Making a seat belt more comfortable

Some people may find seat belts uncomfortable. For example, for smaller persons, the upper part of the belt may be across their neck instead of across the shoulder. Usually such problem may be overcome by using a booster seat.

Even if a seat belt is uncomfortable, it must be worn. It is safer to wear a seat belt that does not fit comfortably than to travel without using it. It will still protect you in an accident.

How to wear seat belts during pregnancy

How to wear seat belts during pregnancy

Lap belts, as well as the lap portion of a lap-shoulder belt combination, should be placed low, across the hips, under the bump and over the upper thighs. They must lie snugly over the pelvis, one of the stronger bones of the body.

Never place the belt over the abdomen.

The shoulder strap should be placed between the breasts, above the bump. Adjust the shoulder belt for a snug fit. If it cuts across your neck, reposition your car seat for a better fit.

Give you and your baby the best protection available by buckling up.

私家車、的士、小巴、貨車及巴士

佩戴安全帶

在駕駛時,你必須佩戴合規格的安全帶(如裝有),但如進行涉及倒車的操作時(例如用「三手軚」掉頭,或要向前及倒後駛入泊車位)則除外。

如你是私家車駕駛人,你須確保所有乘客佩戴安全帶(如裝有)。如你是私家小巴或貨車駕駛人,則有責任確保前座未滿15歲的乘客佩戴安全帶(如裝有)。

車內安裝的安全帶須為認可類型。佩戴方法要正確,確保安全帶可使人緊扣在座位上。不可兩人或多人同時共用一條安全帶。 

未滿3歲的幼童乘坐私家車、貨車或私家小巴的前座時,必須使用認可兒童束縛設備穩妥繫於座位上。兒童乘坐後座座位較前座安全(有關兒童乘車安全的更多資料,請參閱第45頁)。

懷孕婦女,不論是駕駛人或乘客,亦同樣受佩戴安全帶規定約束。車輛一旦發生碰撞,佩戴安全帶可減輕孕婦在意外中所受的損傷,因而可減低對胎兒造成的危險。 

佩戴安全帶可將死亡或重傷的機會減半。在較低車速時發生意外,安全帶也可發揮很大的保護作用。 如果兩輛時速 25 公里的汽車迎頭相撞,產生的衝力會高達時速 50 公里,相等於一個人從三樓窗口墮下而頭部首先著地的衝力。

佩戴安全帶的法定要求
  駕駛人 前座乘客 後座乘客
私家車 如已裝有安全帶,
必須佩戴
如已裝有安全帶,
必須佩戴
如已裝有安全帶,
必須佩戴
的士
公共小巴
私家小巴及貨車 不適用
巴士 必須佩戴安全帶 不適用

因健康理由而豁免佩戴安全帶

你如能提交有效的醫生證明書,可獲運輸署署長考慮豁免佩戴安全帶。不過,很少人可以以健康理由獲豁免佩戴安全帶。當局並沒有列出在什麼健康情況下(包括懷孕),你可自動得到豁免。

佩戴安全帶的正確方法

大多數安全帶都是自動式,但仍須注意以下數點(尤其是手調式安全帶):安全帶的橫帶應橫過你的上大腿,而非腹部,用以固定你的臀部;斜帶應橫過你的肩膊中間,緊貼你的胸部至鎖骨位置;帶扣應垂於身旁而非身上;必要時,可調校安全帶長度;確保安全帶沒有其他物件纏着或壓着,並且沒有扭曲,然後才扣緊。如有需要,可把安全帶適當地盡量收緊,但應讓用者感到舒適。

切勿使用夾子於安全帶上,因為這會令安全帶的功能大大降低,而且也屬違法。

安全帶的保養

安全帶應該妥善保養及定期檢查。殘舊、損壞或有毛病的安全帶不能保護你或你的乘客,而且也屬違法。安全帶即使不是常用,也會變殘舊。檢查時,要留意安全帶有沒有損壞,以及能否暢順地拉過頂部的扣孔。如果你用的是慣性捲軸式安全帶,便要檢查未使用的部分能否輕易滑回捲筒中。

確保安全帶不會給車門夾着或給座椅壓着,以免嚴重毀壞安全帶。如果安全帶的扣子配上彈性套柄,在不使用安全帶時,不可把套柄扭置於椅背或別的地方,也不應把扣子拉離套柄。

安全帶如果殘舊、損壞或有毛病,便應立即更換。

手調式安全帶應經常懸置於特定的夾子上,不可隨意垂在車廂地板上。

怎樣更舒適地佩戴安全帶

有些人佩戴安全帶時或感不舒適,例如身材比較細小的人會被安全帶上端箍着頸部而非肩部。類似的問題,通常都可以通過使用高墊解決。

佩戴安全帶即使不舒適,仍須佩戴。一旦發生意外,安全帶可以發揮保護作用,因此,扣上略欠舒適的安全帶,仍勝過不佩戴。

孕婦如何佩戴安全帶

孕婦佩戴安全帶

環腰式安全帶或安全帶的橫帶一段部分應調低至兩臀骨位置,即腹之下及大腿骨之上,將帶緊貼盤骨 - 人體最堅固的骨骼之一。

不可把安全帶橫越腹部。

斜帶一段部分應橫越兩乳中間及腹部之上,調校安全帶至舒適為止。如安全帶跨正頸部,可把座位適當調校。

為保障孕婦及胎兒的安全,最要緊是扣上安全帶。