If you position yourself well on the road, not only is it easier to avoid hazards and adjust your speed in time for changing conditions but it will also ensure you can get the best possible view of the road ahead.

You need not follow the basic rule for drivers, 'Keep to the left' too closely -- it is more important that you have the best possible view of the road ahead that safety permits.

If you ride near the kerb then look for pedestrians stepping onto the road or emerging from behind parked vehicles. Look out for people opening vehicle doors into your path. You are riding where they least expect to see a vehicle and they may not see you. Drivers may also turn left across your path. 

illustrationUnder normal traffic conditions ride on the right-hand side of the traffic just to the left of the 'Traffic lane' marking or 'Centre' line.

 

On a normal two-way road ride near the centre of the road -- but always be careful to check behind you and be sure that those coming in the other direction can see you from a good distance away ( even if you do not usually switch on your headlamp when riding near the centre of the road it is wise to do so ). Move to the left to allow overtaking vehicles to pass you. Keep the recommended safe distance from the vehicle in front - see page 47.

On one-way roads and dual carriageways use the correct traffic lane as for other drivers. But take up a similar position in the traffic lane -- that is just to the left of the lane line so that you can see the road well ahead.

illustrationWhen in slow moving traffic or when waiting to go ahead, ride or stop near the centre of the lane.

At junctions with traffic lights, pedestrian crossings or other places where you need to stop or wait before proceeding take up your position in the centre of the appropriate lane well in advance. This helps drivers notice you and means that they are less likely to force you out of the lane than if you are riding close to the edge of the lane on the left or right. This position is also helpful in slow moving traffic. It will also make it easier for you to be prepared for pedestrians emerging from between stopped or slow moving vehicles in adjacent lanes.

 

Riding in these positions as opposed to keeping to the left or riding near the kerb also helps other drivers to see you you will be in the centre of the view of a driver in the same lane and will also be where drivers and pedestrians will expect to see you.

如在路上取得適當的行車位置,一旦交通情況有變,不但能夠容易避免危險,而且可以及時改變車速來應變,更可確保盡量看清楚前面路面的情況。

毋須太嚴格遵守「靠左行車」的基本規則。在安全情況下,盡量看清楚前面路面的情況,才更重要。

駛近行人路時,小心有行人從停放好的車輛後面或從行人路踏出路面。應留意是否有其他車輛的乘客在你前面打開車門。這些乘客根本想不到會有車輛駛近,亦可能看不見你的電單車。此外,有時其他車輛可能轉左,切入你的行車綫。

電單車在車流的右邊行駛示意圖在正常交通情況下,應在車流的右邊行駛,並靠近「行車綫界綫」或「車路分界綫」左邊。

 

在普通雙程路上,應靠近道路中央行駛,但仍要小心察看後面的情況並確保從相反方向駛來的車輛,能隔遠便看見你的電單車(即使平時你不亮著大燈行車,但靠近道路中央駕駛時,亮著大燈,始終是明智之舉)。有車輛要超越你時,應靠左駛,讓其駛過,並和前車保持上文建議的安全距離(請參閱 第 47 頁 。)

在單程路或分隔車路上駕駛時,應和其他駕駛人一樣,使用正確的行車綫,同時靠近「行車綫界綫」左邊駕駛,這樣就可以一早看清楚前面路面的情況。

電單車在車綫內正中位置駕駛示意圖遇上交通緩慢或等候向前駛時,你應沿行車綫內正中位置駕駛或停車。

在交通燈路口、行人過路綫,或其他要先停下來或等候才可繼續向前駛的地方,你應提早駛入適當行車綫內的正中位置。這樣可讓其他駕駛人容易看見你的電單車,當你靠近行車綫的左邊或右邊行駛時,便有可能被逼離行車綫。在交通緩慢的道路上,上述的行車位置也很有用,當有行人從停定或旁邊慢駛的車輛之間走出來時,你便可以及早防範。

 

不靠左或不靠近行人路駕駛,改為在上述位置駕駛,有助其他駕駛人看見你,因為對於在同一行車綫的其他駕駛人來說,你的電單車會出現在他們視綫的中央,亦是駕駛人及行人預料電單車會出現的地方。