Hong Kong's position as Asia's world city is built on its role as the gateway to the mainland of China and a hub for business in the Asia-Pacific region.

With a land area of 1 110 square kilometres of which about 24 per cent is built up, Hong Kong has a population of about seven million. Every day, over 12.6 million passenger journeys, i.e. about 90% of the total passenger journeys, are made on a public transport system which includes railways, buses, minibuses, trams, taxis and ferries.

With a growing population and continuous development, moving people and goods around in Hong Kong has always been a great challenge. Hong Kong's roads are among the most heavily used in the world, with about 728 000 vehicles on 2 101 kilometres of roads.  There are about 350 licensed vehicles for every kilometre of road, and the dense development and difficult terrain make it increasingly challenging to provide additional road capacity to meet the traffic demands.

While Government has been expanding the road and railway transport infrastructure to cope with the increasing travel demand for economic, social and leisure needs, it is becoming more and more difficult, expensive and environmentally unfriendly to implement such new projects.  We need to find ways to maximize the capacity and to enhance the performance of our existing transport system.

香港是亞洲的世界城市,這個地位,是由於我們位於中國內地的門檻,以及我們是亞太區的商業樞紐而得來。

香港的土地面積為1 110平方公里,其中 24%為樓宇密集區。我們的人口大概700萬。每日乘搭公共交通工具,包括鐵路、巴士、小巴、電車、的士及渡輪的乘客超過 1 260萬人次,約佔本港每日總乘客人次的 90%。

由於人口不斷增加及本港不斷發展,運載乘客及貨物來往本港各區一直是很大的挑戰。本港的道路是世界上最繁忙的道路之一,在共長 2 101公里的道路上,車輛的數目大概 728 000部;平均每公里道路上的持牌車輛約有 350部。加上樓宇密集,地形複雜,要提供更多道路容量以應付交通需求,成為更大的挑戰。

雖然政府一直在擴展道路及鐵路運輸基礎設施,以應付因經濟、社會及旅遊需要而不斷增加的交通需求,但要實施這類新計劃已越來越困難、昂貴及不環保。我們須要尋求方法以盡量增進本港現有運輸系統的容量和提升其表現。