1. Background

To develop Hong Kong into a walkable city, we formulated the overall walkability strategy for Hong Kong in 2020 which places high priority on pedestrians in transport planning to foster a pedestrian-friendly environment and promotes walking as a form of sustainable urban mobility bringing about transport, social, environmental, economic and health benefits in line with the "Walk in HK" initiative.

Under the overall walkability strategy, we have devised new walkability enhancement initiatives/ measures, namely wayfinding signage, decluttering of non-essential traffic signs and railings, raised crossing, level run-in/out and low speed limit zone in selected locations, as well as a new comprehensive pedestrian planning framework to promote walking under four pillars of walkability, i.e. "make it connected", "make it safe", "make it enjoyable" and "make it smart".

Besides, in order to provide more comfortable pedestrian connections to destinations, we have also been providing covers for walkways to public transport facilities and public hospitals where appropriate under the scheme of "Provision of Cover to Walkway".


2. New walkability enhancement measures

Wayfinding Signage

An informative, user-friendly and consistent wayfinding system helps pedestrians better plan their journey. We conducted a pilot scheme in mid-2018 at locations in Tsim Sha Tsui using new pedestrian map board signs modelling on overseas experience. The trial was a success and generally well received by the public. We subsequently commissioned a study, under which a new set of design standards is being developed for pedestrian wayfinding signage system to suit the local urban context.
A pilot scheme conducted in Tsim Sha Tsui using pedestrian map board signs modelling on overseas experience

A pilot scheme conducted in Tsim Sha Tsui using new pedestrian map board signs modelling on overseas experience

Decluttering of non-essential traffic signs and railings

To reclaim space for pedestrians, thereby to foster a pedestrian-friendly environment, we decluttered non-essential traffic signs and adopted a minimum approach in the provision of pedestrian railings. About 290 non-essential traffic signs and 3.5 km of pedestrian railings in both the pilot areas of Central and Sham Shui Po were removed from 2019 to early 2021. The decluttering works will be further extended to other suitable locations progressively.

Decluttering of non-essential "24-hour No-stopping Restriction" traffic signs in pilot areas Before implementation of Decluttering of non-essential "24-hour No-stopping Restriction" traffic signs implemented in pilot areas After implementation of Decluttering of non-essential "24-hour No-stopping Restriction" traffic signs implemented in pilot areas
Before After


Decluttering of non-essential "Vehicles waiting will be prosecuted without warning" traffic signs in pilot areas Before implementation of Decluttering of non-essential "Vehicles waiting will be prosecuted without warning" traffic signs implemented in pilot areas After implementation of Decluttering of non-essential "Vehicles waiting will be prosecuted without warning" traffic signs implemented in pilot areas
Before After


Decluttering of non-essential railings in pilot areas Before implementation of Decluttering of non-essential railings implemented in pilot areas After implementation of Decluttering of non-essential railings implemented in pilot areas
Before After



Raised crossing

Raised crossing provides a continuous flat surface for pedestrians to cross the road and encourages drivers to slow down to give way to pedestrians. It is safer and more comfortable for pedestrians to cross traffic routes. We conducted a trial of a new design of raised crossing on a bus route in Sha Tin. Colour dressing in reddish brown was applied to it to enhance drivers' awareness when passing the pedestrian crossing. Moreover, we have tested out the same type of raised crossing on a coach route at Chung Kong Road, Sheung Wan. We would continue to identify appropriate locations for further implementation.

Trial of raised crossing at Yat Tai Street, Sha Tin Before implementation of Trial of raised crossing at Yat Tai Street, Sha Tin After implementation of Trial of raised crossing at Yat Tai Street, Sha Tin
Before After


Trial of raised crossing at Chung Kong Road, Sheung Wan Before implementation of Trial of raised crossing at Chung Kong Road, Sheung Wan After implementation of Trial of raised crossing at Chung Kong Road, Sheung Wan
Before After

Level run-in/out

We are making attempts to refine the design of vehicular run-in/out so as to provide a continuous pedestrian way at uniform level, which is particularly more friendly to the elderly and mobility challenged as there is no level change when crossing the run-in/out, and making their journey more connected and enjoyable. We implemented a trial of this new design at the Government Primary School at Fuk Wing Street, Sham Shui Po. We would implement further trials at other suitable types of Government premises.

Level run-in/out trial at Fuk Wing Street Government Primary School, Sham Shi Po Before implementation of Level run-in/out trial at Fuk Wing Street Government Primary School, Sham Shi Po After implementation of Level run-in/out trial at Fuk Wing Street Government Primary School, Sham Shi Po
Before After



Low speed limit zone

To enhance pedestrian safety and walking environment, we implemented a trial for low speed limit zone of 30km/h at Wai Chi Street, Sham Shui Po in the neighbourhood of schools and public housing estates. A raised crossing with colour dressing was also built to calm the traffic, thus enhancing pedestrian safety and connectivity. We would keep watch of and evaluate its effectiveness. Subject to the outcome of evaluation, we would explore extending this initiative to other suitable areas.


Trial of low speed limit zone at Wai Chi Street, Sham Shui Po Before implementation of a trial of low speed limit zone at Wai Chi Street, Sham Shui Po After implementation of a trial of low speed limit zone at Wai Chi Street, Sham Shui Po
Before After



3. Provision of Cover to Walkway

To enhance the walking environment continues, we invited District Councils to nominate sections of public walkways suitable for the provision of covers and carried out the feasibility study and design for the construction of selected proposals.
Provision of covered walkway on Po Ping Road, North District

Provision of covered walkway on Po Ping Road, North District

The initiative for the provision of walkway covers was extended to pedestrian connections to public hospitals in 2019. The alignments of walkway serving most of hospital staff and visitors travelling to and from the public transport facilities nearby are identified in consultation with the Hospital Authority. Once the alignments are determined, we would proceed to carrying out feasibility assessment for the provision of walkway covers, followed by implementation of the proposed measure .


4. Pedestrian planning framework

The overall walkability strategy dealing with the three strategic spatial components, including (a) walkable central business districts; (b) walkable urban districts and towns; and (c) walkable green and blue links, to develop Hong Kong as a walkable city. We have developed a pedestrian planning framework based on a pedestrian-oriented approach, which integrates traffic, transport, land use and development projects. Simply put it, the pedestrian planning framework involves the following two key concepts:


Urban Grid for Mobility: by recognising the relative priority for motorised transport and pedestrians in the respective parts of the road network as an urban grid and priortising pedestrians in the respective parts. The pedestrian ways situated at "outer grid" (the main road corridors) where the roads will have higher priority for vehicular movement in transport planning, and that within the "inner grid" (the streets within the "outer grid") will have higher priority for pedestrians.
Illustration of urban grid for mobility
Illustration of urban grid for mobility

"Link and Place" typology: by recognising the two distinctive functions of individual pedestrian way as a "link" (i.e. facilitating movement of people from one place to another) and a "place" (i.e. serving as a destination itself), their significance and the composite relative priorities for the "link" and "place" functions so as to meet different pedestrian needs. 
Illustration of "link" and "place" functions of pedestrian ways

Illustration of "link" and "place" functions of pedestrian ways
["Link" function of pedestrian ways refers to pedestrians walking along footpath while "place" function refers to pedestrians clustering due to a place (e.g. retail, dining)]

The diverse nature of pedestrian ways could be classified into 9 typologies in accordance with its "link" and "place" significance. Coupled with the recommended walkability enhancement measures under each typology, individual pedestrian way can be planned and designed according to its functions and characteristics.
The

"Link ('L') and Place ('P')" Typology for pedestrian ways

For example, a street having both high "link" and "place" significance ("L3/P3" street typology) may be a crucial pedestrian link as well as a key destination in district centre. Major walkability enhancement measures could be planned for such kind of street to provide a pleasant walking environment whilst accommodating efficient movement of pedestrians. On the other hand, a street having both low "link" and "place" significance ("L1/P1" street typology) may be a local street where safe and easy access for pedestrians is required. The recommended walkability enhancement could be of smaller scale such as improving lighting in lanes.

Suitable walkability enhancement measures, such as footpath widening, built-outs or building set-back to increase pedestrian space, provision of building canopies to improve weather protection, low speed limit zone to enhance pedestrian safety, etc. would be considered when applying the link and place concept in the pedestrian planning process.


Footpath widening at Jaffe Road, Wan Chai Before implementation of Footpath widening at Jaffe Road, Wan Chai After implementation of Footpath widening at Jaffe Road, Wan Chai
Before After

The minimum footpath width standard which provides design guidelines on the minimum spaces required for building frontage, pedestrian through movement as well as street furniture and greening has also been refined to integrate the relative priorities for the "link" and "place" functions.

The pedestrian planning framework adopts a plan-based approach which integrates the four pillars of walkability for planning, design, management and upkeep of the pedestrian realm and pedestrian improvement measures. It provides guidelines for designing suitable pedestrian improvement proposals at the district and local levels.


5. Implementation arrangement

We have tested out some of the new walkability initiatives along the four pillars of walkability at various locations to create a pedestrian-friendly environment which encourages people to walk more and enjoy walking. We would continue to identify appropriate locations for implementation of walkability enhancement measures by taking into account the needs of local communities and businesses, local characteristics, and relevant walkability issues with due regard to street management and impact on traffic.

In particular, we will seek opportunity to apply the pedestrian planning framework including the link and place concept for pedestrian planning in collaboration with relevant departments in the planning of new development areas and in suitable built up areas.

Drawing on past experiences and evaluation results of on-going trials of new walkability enhancement measures, we are in the process of updating relevant guidelines and manuals with a view to achieving wider application in the long run.

1. 背

為構建香港成為「易行城市」,我們在2020年制定了香港易行度整體策略,貫徹在運輸規劃中給予行人優先考慮的理念,締造行人友善環境及推動步行成為可持續的出行模式,以配合「香港好.易行」此倡議,為交通、社會、環境、經濟及市民健康帶來裨益。

在易行度整體策略下,為鼓勵市民「安步當車」,我們循易行度四大目標,即「行得通」、「行得妥」、「行得爽」及「行得醒」,制定了多項新的步行環境改善措施,當中包括設置行人導向標示、移除非必要的交通標誌及欄杆、設置行人過路平台和與行人路水平一致的車輛出入通道及實施低速行車限制區。此外,我們亦制定了新的行人規劃框架(pedestrian planning framework)

另外,為提供更舒適的步行環境連接目的地,我們繼續積極推展「為行人通道加建上蓋」計劃,在適當位置為行人通道加建上蓋。



2. 改善步行環境的新措施

行人導向標示

在行人網絡沿途設置清晰、易用、連貫的行人導向,有助便利行人妥善規劃行程。我們借鑑海外經驗,在2018年年中於尖沙咀不同地點試行設置新的行人地圖及導向標示板。該次試驗效果良好,普遍受到市民歡迎。我們繼而委聘顧問進行研究,以制訂一套適用於香港的新行人導向標示系統。

借鑑海外經驗,在尖沙咀試行設置的行人地圖導向標示板

借鑑海外經驗,在尖沙咀試行設置新的行人地圖及導向標示板

移除非必要的交通標誌和欄杆

為騰出更多空間以締造行人友善環境,我們移除非必要交通標誌及盡量減少設置行人欄杆。我們於2019年至2021年年初在中環和深水埗的試點地區共移除約290個非必要交通標誌和約3.5公里長的行人欄杆。相關移除工程將逐步擴展至其他合適地點。

在試點地區移除非必要的「24小時停車限制」交通標誌 在中環和深水埗的試點地區移除非必要的交通標誌和欄杆移除前 在中環和深水埗的試點地區移除非必要的交通標誌和欄杆移除後
移除前 移除後


在試點地區移除非必要的「停車等候會被檢控而不予警告」交通標誌 在試點地區移除非必要的「停車等候會被檢控而不予警告」交通標誌移除前 在試點地區移除非必要的「停車等候會被檢控而不予警告」交通標誌移除後
移除前 移除後


在試點地區移除非必要的行人欄杆 在中環和深水埗的試點地區移除非必要的行人欄杆移除前 在中環和深水埗的試點地區移除非必要的行人欄杆移除後
移除前 移除後

行人過路平台

設置行人過路平台可以為行人提供一個連續而平坦的過路步道,並可鼓勵駕駛者減速和讓路予行人橫過馬路,從而使行人在橫過行車路段時更安全和舒適。我們在沙田一條有巴士途經的路段試行新設計的行人過路平台,並在平台上髹上紅褐色,令駕駛者途經行人過路處時提高警覺。此外,我們亦在有旅遊巴士途經的上環中港道試行設置同類的行人過路平台。我們會繼續物色合適的地點進一步試行這項措施。

在沙田逸泰街試行設置行人過路平台 在沙田逸泰街試行設置行人過路平台設置前 在沙田逸泰街試行設置行人過路平台設置後
設置前 設置後


在上環中港道試行設置行人過路平台 在上環中港道試行設置行人過路平台設置前 在上環中港道試行設置行人過路平台設置後
設置前 設置後

與行人路水平一致的車輛出入通道

我們致力改善車輛出入通道的設計,將車輛出入通道提升至和行人路一致的水平。從而讓行人(尤其是長者及行動不便人士)更暢達和舒適地横過車輛出入通道。我們在深水埗福榮街官立小學試行設置這項新設計的車輛出入通道。我們會在其他合適類型的政府建築物進一步試行該措施。

在深水埗福榮街官立小學試行設置與行人路水平一致的車輛出入通道 在深水埗福榮街官立小學試行設置與行人路水平一致的車輛出入通道設置前 在深水埗福榮街官立小學試行設置與行人路水平一致的車輛出入通道設置後
設置前 設置後

低速行車限制區

為構建更安全舒適的行人環境,我們在毗鄰學校及公共屋邨的深水埗偉智街試行實施車速限制為每小時30公里的低速行車限制區,並建造髹上顏色的行人過路平台,進一步使車輛途經偉智街時減慢車速,務求為行人提供更安全和暢達的步行環境。我們會繼續觀察及評估其成效。視乎評估的結果,我們會探討把該措施推展至其他合適地區。

在深水埗偉智街試行低速行車限制區 在深水埗偉智街試行低速限制區試行前 在深水埗偉智街試行低速限制區試行後
試行前 試行後


3. 為行人通道提供上蓋


為改善步行環境,我們邀請區議會建議合適的公共行人通道加建上蓋,並在施工前就選定的建議進行可行性研究和設計。


在北區保平路設置的有蓋行人通道

在北區保平路設置的有蓋行人通道

此外,「為行人通道加建上蓋」計劃在2019年擴展至連接公立醫院的行人通道。經諮詢醫院管理局後,我們已檢視有大部分醫院員工及訪客經常使用,並且連接鄰近公共交通設施的行人通道走線。當確定有關走線後,我們會為在其上加設通道上蓋進行可行性研究,以落實有關措施。

4. 行人規劃框架

作為構建香港成為易行城市,易行度整體策略涉及如何處理策略性空間,其中涵蓋三個部份,包括易行核心商業區、易行市區及市鎮,以及易行綠色及藍色自然資源的連接繫。我們以行人為本的方式,制定了一套綜合考慮交通、運輸、土地用途和發展項目的行人規劃框架。簡單來說,行人規劃框架包含以下兩個概念:

方便出行的城市網格:透過分析機動車輛和行人在城市道路網絡內不同部分的相對優次,從而訂定行人在這些道路網絡內的優先次序。在進行運輸規劃時,處於「外網格」(主要行車幹道)的街道給予車輛使用的優先次序會較高,而在「內網格」(「外網格」內的街道)則給予行人使用的優先次序會較高。
方便出行的城市網格示例
方便出行的城市網格示例

「連繫與地方」功能分類:透過訂定行人網絡上各行人路線的「連繫」(便利市民在地方之間往來) 與「地方」(行人道本身亦可以是一個目的地) 兩大獨特功能及綜合功能的重要性,從而按其重要性配合行人的相應需求。

行人道的「連繫與地方」功能示例

行人道的「連繫與地方」功能示例
[行人道「連繫」功能即行人沿著行人道行走;而行人道「地方」功能即行人因地方(如 零售、餐飲地點)而聚集]


根據不同程度的「連繫」與「地方」重要性,我們可將行人道分為九個類型。結合每個街道類型下所建議的步行環境改善措施及考慮個別行人道的功能和特點,我們可為行人道進行規劃和設計。

行人道的「連繫與地方」類型

行人道的「連繫("L")與地方("P")」類型

例如,「連繫」與「地方」功能較高的街道("L3/P3"街道類型)則可視為區域中心的重要行人連接通道及主要的目的地,所規劃的主要步行環境改善措施提供一個宜人的步行環境,及同時方便行人有效率地通過該街道。另一方面,「連繫」與「地方」功能較低的街道("L1/P1"街道類型)可視為地區性街道,則較需要注重行人安全和街道的暢達性。所建議的步行環境改善措施的規模會較小,例如改善街道的照明設施。

在行人規劃過程中,我們會應用「連繫與地方」概念,以設計適當的提升易行度措施,包括擴闊行人路或把樓宇後移以增加行人空間、設置樓宇簷篷讓市民免受日曬雨淋之苦,以及設置低速行車限制區以提升行人安全等等。

在灣仔謝斐道擴闊行人路 在灣仔謝斐道擴闊行人路擴闊前 在灣仔謝斐道擴闊行人路擴闊後
擴闊前 擴闊後

為融入行人道的「連繫」與「地方」功能相對優次的概念,我們亦調整了行人道最低闊度的標準,為行人道上需要預留給行人的通道、建築物毗鄰空間,以及街道設施及綠化地帶所需的空間提供了設計指引。

綜合上述概念,行人規劃框架採用以規劃為本的方針,把易行度四大目標融入行人區域及行人改善措施的規劃、設計、管理和保養之中。它亦為設計區域和地區性的行人改善方案提供指引。


5. 落實易行度整體策略的安排

我們已按照易行度四大目標在多個地點試行新的步行環境改善措施,以締造行人友善環境,從而鼓勵市民「安步當車」,並享受步行的好處。我們會因應地區人士及商戶需求,考慮地區特色,並兼顧街道管理和對交通的影響,繼續物色合適地點推行步行環境改善措施。

具體來說,我們會尋求與相關部門合作的機會,在新發展區和適合的市區地方的行人規劃中,採用行人規劃框架與及其中的「連繫與地方」概念。

我們會總結實務經驗及參照持續試行各項新易行度措施的評估結果,更新有關指引和手冊,為長遠和廣泛地推行有關措施奠定基礎。