ROLE OF TAXIS

Taxi is one of the key public passenger transport service providers in Hong Kong. At present there are 18,163 taxis in Hong Kong, of which 15,250 are urban taxis (red), 2,838 are New Territories taxis (green) and 75 are Lantau taxis (blue). The average daily taxi patronage is near 1 million.

Taxi provides a personalized point-to-point transport service for passengers. In accordance with the law, taxi can carry personal hand baggage, but no goods. Hence, passenger should not hire a taxi for carrying goods.

 

TAXI OPERATING AREAS

In Hong Kong, different taxis have designated operating areas. Urban taxis operate in most areas in Hong Kong (except Tung Chung Road and roads in south Lantau). New Territories taxis mainly operate in the north-eastern part (i.e. north of Sha Tin) and north-western part (i.e. north of Tsuen Wan) of the New Territories. Lantau taxis operate only on Lantau Island and Chek Lap Kok. All taxis are allowed to provide services at the passenger terminals of Hong Kong International Airport and Hong Kong Disneyland.

 

TAXI FARE

The scale of fares for the hiring of taxis in Hong Kong is specified in the Road Traffic (Public Service Vehicles) Regulations. Taxis are installed with a taximeter to calculate the fare based on the distance travelled together with any waiting time incurred while the taxi is hired. The fare on a taximeter is in Hong Kong dollars and cents. Passengers shall pay taxi fare as recorded by the taximeters in accordance with the law. Also, passengers are required to pay additional charges according to the circumstances.

 

IMPROVING TAXI SERVICES

The Transport Department plays an active role in encouraging taxi trade to improve the quality of taxi services. In 1999, the Transport Department formed the Quality Taxi Services Steering Committee (QTSSC), which has since taken forward a wide range of initiatives for improving taxi services, including launching the Taxi Driver Commendation Scheme to give commendation to those taxi drivers who have shown good conduct and quality performance; production of self-learning kits of the Taxi Operation Self-learning Video Programme and the Workplace English / Putonghua Programme for Taxi Drivers to enhance the service standard and language proficiency of taxi drivers; publication of "Hong Kong Taxi Service Guidelines"; and erection of information plates at major taxi stands to provide information about taxi services to taxi drivers and passengers.

To strengthen the interaction and cooperation with the taxi trade and other important stakeholders with a view to upgrading the taxi service level under existing regulatory regime, the Government restructured the QTSSC and renamed it as Committee on Taxi Service Quality ("CTSQ") with effect from 9 January 2018. The CTSQ consists of non-official members from various sectors, including the taxi trade, Legislative Council, District Councils, academia, the Consumer Council, the Hong Kong Tourism Board and persons with disabilities groups, etc. All of these non-official members possess vast experience and rich knowledge in their own professions / sectors. The CTSQ will serve as a multi-party platform to discuss strategies and measures to drive changes to enhance the taxi service quality.

 

BE A SMART TAXI PASSENGER

Please record the taxi registration number or information on the Taxi Driver Indetity Plate (e.g. taxi driver identity plate number) if you have compliment or comment on taxi service. On the other hand, you can ask for a machine-printed fare receipt. It is an offence if taxi drivers refuse, without reasonable excuse, to issue receipts to passengers upon request. In case the receipt printing device fails to operate, the taxi driver should issue a hand-written receipt. Please note that passengers shall pay taxi fare as recorded by the taximeter in accordance with the law

TAXI DRIVER COMMENDATION SCHEME

Transport Department and the Committee on Taxi Service Quality launch the Taxi Driver Commendation Scheme as a way to establish a channel for passengers to give commendation to taxi drivers who are of good conduct and performance to provide quality taxi service to public. We are now accepting application of nomination from members of the public. The public can fill out the "Taxi Driver Commendation Scheme - Nomination Form of Quality Taxi Driver" and return to TD through one of the suggested ways stated in the form. The nomination period ends on 31 October 2018, followed by the online voting of quality taxi drivers to be conducted shortly. The Taxi Driver Commendation Scheme Prize Presentation Ceremony will be held in late January 2018.

 

USEFUL TAXI INFORMATION
 

Taxi Drivers / Owners

Taxi Passengers

Training Courses for Enhancing the Service Quality of In-service Taxi Drivers

  • Communication skills and building relationship with passengers (Cantonese Version Only)
    WMV (147MB)  MP4 (117MB)   AudioMP3 (7.06MB)   TextPDF (203KB)
  • Handling customer conflicts (Cantonese Version Only)
    WMV (177MB)  MP4 (148MB)   AudioMP3 (8.08MB)   TextPDF (164KB)
  • Basic customer service skills (Cantonese Version Only)
    WMV (159MB)  MP4 (167MB)   AudioMP3 (7.32MB)   TextPDF (175KB)

Road Co-op Lost & Found 24-Hour Free Hotline For Lost Property on Taxi  1872920

运输署 - 的士

 

的士的角色

在香港,的士是主要的客运公共交通工具之一。现时,本港有18,163辆的士,包括15,250辆市区的士(红色)、2,838辆新界的士(绿色)和75辆大屿山的士(蓝色),平均每日载客量接近一百万人次。

的士为乘客提供直达目的地的个人化运输服务。法例规定,除个人手提行李外,的士不可以用作运载货物,所以乘客不应租赁的士作运载货物用途。

 

的士经营范围

在香港,不同类型之的士有其指定的经营范围。市区的士可在本港大部分地方行驶(东涌道及南大屿山的道路除外)。新界的士主要在新界东北部(即沙田以北)及西北部(即荃湾以北)营运。大屿山的士只可在大屿山及赤鱲角行驶。所有的士均可在香港国际机场客运大楼及香港迪士尼乐园提供服务。

 

的士收费

香港的士的收费,是根据《道路交通(公共服务车辆)规例》所指明的收费率计算。每辆的士均装有计程表(俗称「咪表」),按的士被租用时所行驶的车程及等候时间而计算车费。咪表上所显示的车费币值为港币。乘客须依法按照咪表所显示的金额缴付的士车费,并按情况另付规定的附加费用。

 

改善的士服务

运输署积极鼓励的士业界提高的士服务质素,在1999年成立「优质的士服务督导委员会」,推动了多项工作以改善的士服务,包括举办的士司机嘉许计划,以表扬行为良好及表现优异之的士司机;提供的士运作自学录像课程及的士司机职业英语/普通话自学教材,以提高的士司机的服务水平及语言能力;编制《香港的士服务指引》;以及在主要的士站设置资讯牌,为的士司机及乘客提供有关的士服务的资讯。

为加强与的士业界及其他重要持份者的互动合作,从而在现行规管制度下提升的士服务水平,政府于2018年1月9日改组「优质的士服务督导委员会」,改称为「的士服务质素委员会」。该委员会的非官方委员来自不同界别,包括的士业界、立法会、区议会、学术界、消费者委员会、香港旅游发展局和残疾人士团体等。他们均在本身的专业/界别具备丰富经验及广博知识。委员会将提供一个多方参与平台,用以讨论各项推动改革的士服务的策略及措施,以提升的士服务质素。

 

做个精明的士乘客

如你对的士服务有所表扬或提出意见,请记下的士车牌号码的士司机证的资料(如:的士司机证号码)。另外,你可向的士司机索取机印车费收据。如无合理辩解,的士司机不得拒绝按乘客要求发出收据,否则即属违法。如果收据打印机失灵,的士司机应发出手写收据。请留意,乘客须依法按表缴付的士车费

 

的士实用资讯  
   

的士司机/车主

的士乘客

 

「马路的事 不容有失」24小时免费的士失物热线  1872920