Chapter 4 : Application Procedures

All procedures required by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the HKSAR) will be processed and assessed by the TD in one go for the convenience of the applicants. The TD will also pass on the application information on behalf of the applicants to relevant Mainland authorities for assessment. The application will be assessed by the Governments of the Guangdong Province and the HKSAR separately. After the assessment by both governments, the TD will inform the applicants of the assessment results. Upon the approval of applications by both governments, the applicants need to complete the formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities through their authorised organisations in Hong Kong. The relevant procedures are:

           Step 1: Reserve an ad hoc quota from the Transport Department

           Step 2: Apply for the quota and Closed Road Permit from the Transport Department

           Step 3: Complete formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities

The relevant workflow is provided in the following paragraphs.

Note: The application procedures and fees for the formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities are set by the authorized organisations concerned and may vary from time to time.  Applicants are advised to browse their websites or call their enquiry hotlines to obtain up-to-date information on the required application procedures and fees before submitting applications.

Application Procedures

 

4.1  Step 1: Reserve an ad hoc quota from the Transport Department

Applicants may reserve quotas via the GovHK website www.gov.hk/adhocquota or the reservation hotline 3901 0088. The Quota Start Date available for reservation is any day within the period between the 5th and 8th week from the day the reservation is made. To cope with long Mainland holidays, the reservation period available for certain Quota Start Dates will be adjusted to ensure that there is sufficient time for applicants to complete all necessary application procedures and formalities. Details of the relevant arrangements will be announced at TD's website.

For example, an applicant can reserve a quota through the Internet or by phone on 1 June 2012 with the Quota Start Dates falling within the period between 29 June 2012 and 26 July 2012.

Calendar

When making a reservation, the applicant is required to provide the following information:

  • Vehicle registered in the name of an individual
: Hong Kong Identity Card No. / Passport No.9 (Only applicable if the vehicle is registered using a passport)
  • Vehicle registered in the name of a company
: Hong Kong Certificate of Incorporation (CI) No.

Note:

For example, if a vehicle owner has reserved a quota with Quota Validity Period from 1 to 5 June 2012, he/she can only reserve another quota on 13 July 2012 at the earliest.

A 16-digit "Quota Reservation Number" will be allocated to the applicant upon successful reservation. This number must be kept by the applicant for subsequent enquiry and application for the quota and Closed Road Permit in the next step. In case an applicant forgets the "Quota Reservation Number", he/she can make an enquiry through the website or hotline by providing the identity document number (i.e. HKID/passport/CI number) and the Quota Start Date.

Cancelling reserved quotas

Prior to making reservation, applicants are advised to ascertain their departure dates. Applicants may cancel reserved quotas through the Internet or by phone within 5 days counted from the date of successful reservation. However, once the quota is cancelled, the same vehicle owner can only reserve another quota 1 week after the day of cancellation.

For example, if an applicant has reserved a quota on 1 June 2012 for the period from 29 June 2012 to 3 July 2012, he/she may cancel the reserved quota at any time between 1 and 5 June 2012 through the Internet or the hotline. If the applicant cancels the quota on 3 June 2012, he/she can only reserve another quota on or after 10 June 2012.

4.2  Step 2: Apply for the quota and Closed Road Permit from the Transport Department

Please note that quotas have not yet been allocated at this stage. Applicants must submit to the Cross Boundary Unit of the TD detailed information and other supporting documents (see Table 1) for applying for the quota within a 5-day application period10 from the date of quota reservation. In case there are public holidays during the 5-day application period, applicants should submit applications as early as possible, or submit applications online to avoid postal delay, so as to facilitate timely processing by relevant Government authorities. Since the roads leading to the Shenzhen Bay Port are designated as closed roads, applicants are required to apply for a Closed Road Permit (CRP) for the vehicle at the same time.

The application for ad hoc quota and CRP will be processed together. Late submissions will not be accepted. If the Cross Boundary Unit of the TD does not receive the application by the application deadline, the reserved quota will be cancelled automatically, and the vehicle owner concerned will only be able to reserve another quota 2 weeks after the application deadline (please refer to the example in paragraph 5.3). In this regard, applicants are advised to cancel the reserved quota as early as possible within the application period if their trips cannot proceed as planned, in order to minimise the impact on their subsequent quota reservation.

Application Fee

Application for quotas is free of charge and the application fee for CRP is HK$45. The application fees for the formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities are set by the authorized organisations concerned.  Applicants are advised to obtain the information on relevant fees before submitting application.

Channels of Application

1.    Online submission
  Applicants should provide the required information via the GovHK website www.gov.hk/adhocquota and settle the payment by means of online PPS or credit cards.
   
2. Submission by post/drop-in box/over office counter
  Applicants should send the completed application form TD600A11, together with a crossed cheque of HK$45 payable to "The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" or "The Government of the HKSAR", to the Cross Boundary Unit of the TD (Address: Room 1032, 10/F, Harbour Building, 38 Pier Road, Central, Hong Kong) or submit by the drop-in box at the above office. Applicants may also submit applications in person or by agents. Application form can be downloaded from the TD's website or obtained by facsimile through the 1823 Call Centre or at the Cross Boundary Unit and all Licensing Offices of the TD.

Table 1: Supporting Documents to be provided by applicants

Registered Vehicle Owner Required Documents
Vehicles registered in the name of an individual
  1. Copy of the Hong Kong motor vehicle third party risks insurance certificate12
  2. Declaration of the designated driver other than the applicant (if applicable) (sample attached to the application form)
  3. Copy of the applicant's Hong Kong Identity Card (applicable if the vehicle is registered using a passport)
Vehicles registered in the name of a company
  1. Copy of the first page of the latest annual return of the company filed under the Companies Ordinance
  2. Authorization letter issued by the company (sample attached to the application form )
  3. Copy of the authorized person's Hong Kong Identity Card
  4. Copy of the Hong Kong motor vehicle third party risks insurance certificate13
  5. Declaration of the designated driver other than the authorized person (if applicable) (sample attached to the application form )

All applications are subject to separate assessment by the TD and the GDPSD. The TD will notify applicants of the assessment results in about 10 working days (including the processing time of the GDPSD) through email14 and by post after receipt of the application. Applicants may also enquire about the application status via the Internet or the hotline. If the application is unsuccessful, the fee paid for the CRP will be refunded. Successful applicants will receive an approval letter and a CRP from the TD by post. Applicants can then complete the necessary formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities. No refund will be given if the quota is subsequently forgone or cannot be used due to failure of the applicant to complete the necessary formalities with the Mainland Government authorities.

4.3  Step 3: Complete formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities

Application fees

The application fees for the formalities as required by the Mainland Government authorities are set by the authorized organisations concerned.  Applicants are advised to obtain the information on relevant fees before submitting application.

Application Formalities

After obtaining the CRP, applicants are required to take out Mainland compulsory traffic accident liability insurance for motor vehicles for a period of at least 11 days15 for their private cars as required in the Mainland and bring along the relevant supporting documents to the designated entry permit service centres of China Travel Service (Hong Kong) Limited (CTS) to complete the following formalities and make payments:

Moreover, applicants must also complete the formalities of applying for “ATA Carnet” at the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce (HKGCC) as required by the Mainland Customs. Applicants need to pay the application fee and submit Proof of Guarantee. At the same time, applicants may choose to request HKGCC to arrange for Import Pre-notification on their behalf with an additional fee. Applicants are advised to observe the requirements and fees of the Proof of Guarantee before submitting application.

To ensure departure on schedule, applicants should allow ample time, particularly when there are long Mainland holidays during which the relevant agencies would suspend office operation temporarily, to complete all the relevant formalities. To save time, applicants may consider completing the required formalities at CTS and HKGCC on the same day after obtaining the Closed Road Permit.

As the formalities processed by CTS and HKGCC on behalf of the Mainland Government authorities may vary from time to time, applicants are advised to obtain information on the latest arrangements from the websites of CTS and HKGCC or call their enquiry hotlines in advance. Their websites and enquiry telephone numbers are as follows –

CTS   

Website: www.ctshk.com

Enquiry Tel.no.: 2998 7888   

 

HKGCC      

Website:www.atacarnet.hk

Enquiry tel. no.:2823 1275 or 2823 1276       

 

Note: Apart from the statutory insurance required by the Governments of the Guangdong Province and the HKSAR, applicants should also consider taking out other related insurance like travel insurance, commercial third party liability insurance and liability insurance for cross-boundary vehicle owners according to their own situation to extend the scope of coverage of insurance and enhance protection.

_____________________________

9.   Applicants using telephone reservation service are required to enter only the digits of their HKID or Passport number and date of birth for verification.

10. For postal applications, date of the stamp chop will be used as the submission date.

11. Applicants may also use the Chinese Form TD600B for the application.

12. Must be valid for at least 11 days from the Quota Start Date.

13. Must be valid for at least 11 days from the Quota Start Date.

14. Applicable if email address has been provided by the applicant.

15. Counted from the Quota Start Date.

16. CTS also offers procurement service for such insurance through their Mainland agencies.

第4章:申請程序

為方便申請人,所有涉及香港特別行政區政府的手續會由運輸署統一處理和審批。運輸署亦會將申請資料代交內地有關機關審批。粵、港兩地政府會各自審批申請,申請經兩地審批後,運輸署會將結果通知申請人。配額申請獲得兩地政府批准後,申請人便可以在香港向內地政府機關委託的機構辦理內地要求的手續。有關程序如下:

           程序一: 向運輸署預留一次性特別配額

           程序二: 向運輸署申請配額及封閉道路通行許可證

           程序三: 辦理各內地政府機關所需手續

有關申請流程可參閱以下章節。

請注意,辦理內地政府機關所需手續的細則(包括收費)由各在港代理機構自行釐訂,並可能不時更新,故申請人宜在提交申請前瀏覽相關代理機構的網頁或以電話查詢,了解所需手續要求及費用。

申請程序

 

4.1   程序一:向運輸署預留一次性特別配額

申請人可登入香港政府一站通網站www.gov.hk/adhocquota或致電配額預留熱線3901 0088預留配額。可供預留的配額生效日期是在預留配額當日起計的第五至第八個星期內的任何一天。為配合內地長假期,部份配額生效日期可供預留的期限將有所調整,以確保申請人有足夠時間完成所需申請程序及辦理相關手續。有關安排會在運輸署網頁公佈。

例如:申請人可在2012年6月1日上網或致電熱線,預留在2012年6月29日至7月26日期間開始有效的配額。

月曆

預留配額時,申請人須提供以下資料:

請注意:

例如:申請人預留了一個有效期為2012年6月1日至5日的配額,他最快可以在2012年7月13日再次預留另一個配額。

成功預留配額者將即時獲發一個16數位的「配額預留編號」,申請人必須記錄該編號,以便日後查詢及辦理下一步申請配額及封閉道路通行許可證手續之用 。若申請人忘記該編號,可登入網站或致電熱線,輸入身份證明文件/公司註冊證號碼及配額生效日期,以查詢「配額預留編號」。

取消已預留配額

申請人應先確定出發日期後才預留配額。如欲取消已預留的配額,申請人可以在成功預留配額當日起計五天內,登入網站或致電熱線取消已預留的配額。不過,配額一經取消,同一申請人只可在取消配額當日起計一星期後才可再次預留配額

例如:申請人在2012年6月1日預留了出境有效期為2012年6月29日至2012年7月3日的配額,他可以在2012年6月1日至5日期間的任何時間內,登入網站或致電熱線取消該配額。假設他在2012年6月3日取消了該配額,他只可以在6月10日或以後再次預留另一個配額。

4.2   程序二:向運輸署申請配額及封閉道路通行許可證

至此階段,申請人仍未正式獲得有關配額。申請人必須在預留一次性特別配額當天起計的五天申請限期內10,向運輸署過境服務分組遞交申請配額的詳細資料及相關證明文件(列於表一)。倘若該五天申請限期當中有公眾假期,申請人應盡早遞交有關申請,或經網上遞交,避免郵遞延誤,以便有關政府機關適時處理。由於通往深圳灣口岸的道路為封閉道路,申請人需要同時為進入廣東省的私家車申請封閉道路通行許可證(簡稱「許可證」)。

一次性特別配額及「許可證」的申請會一併處理。逾期遞交的申請概不受理。若運輸署過境服務分組在申請限期內未收到申請,已預留的配額會被自動取消,而有關申請人須在申請限期過後的兩個星期後才可預留另一配額(可參閱第5.3段的例子)。因此,申請人若在預留配額後發現未能如期成行,應盡早在申請限期內取消配額,以減低對其後預留配額的影響。

申請費用

申請配額費用全免,申請「許可證」的費用則為每張港幣45元。至於辦理內地政府機關所需手續的費用,則由各在港代理機構自行釐訂。申請人宜在申請前先了解有關收費。

申請方法

1.    互聯網
  登入香港政府一站通網站www.gov.hk/adhocquota填妥有關資料,並以網上繳費靈或信用咭付款。
   
2. 郵寄/投遞/辦事處櫃枱
  填妥申請表格TD600B11,連同港幣45元的劃線支票(抬頭為「香港特別行政區政府」),郵寄至運輸署過境服務分組(地址:香港中環統一碼頭道38號海港政府大樓10樓1032室),或投入設於上址的投遞箱內。申請人亦可親身或經代理人遞交申請。申請表格可於運輸署網頁下載,透過1823電話中心以傳真方式或在運輸署過境服務分組及各牌照事務處索取。

表一:申請人須提供的證明文件

登記車主 所需文件
以個人名義登記
  1. 私家車的香港汽車第三者風險保險證明副本12
  2. 另一名指定司機(如適用)的聲明書(樣本附於申請表)
  3. 申請人的香港身份證副本 (私家車以申請人護照號碼登記的情形下適用)
以公司名義登記
  1. 根據《公司條例》提交的最新週年申報表首頁副本
  2. 公司授權書(樣本附於申請表)
  3. 獲授權人士的香港身份證副本
  4. 私家車的香港汽車第三者風險保險證明副本13
  5. 另一名指定司機(如適用)的聲明書(樣本附於申請表)

所有申請均需要通過運輸署及廣東省公安廳的各自審批。運輸署會在收到申請後約十個工作天(包括廣東省公安廳審批的時間)以電郵14及郵寄方式通知申請人有關審批結果。申請人亦可自行在網上或致電熱線查詢審批情況。若申請不獲接納,所繳付申請「許可證」的費用將予以退還。成功的申請人會收到由運輸署寄出的批准通知書及「許可證」。申請人可隨即辦理內地政府機關所需手續。若申請人獲發配額後放棄使用配額或未能完成各內地政府機關所需的手續,以致不能使用配額,已繳付的費用均不予退還。

4.3   程序三:辦理各內地政府機關所需的手續

申請費用

辦理內地政府機關所需手續的費用由各在港代理機構自行釐訂。申請人宜在申請前先了解有關收費。

申請手續

申請人取得「許可證」後,需根據內地要求為有關私家車購買不少於十一天15的內地「機動車交通事故責任強制保險」(「交強險」),並攜帶所需證明文件到香港中國旅行社(「港中旅」)的指定證件服務中心辦理以下手續及繳付相關費用:

此外,申請人還須到香港總商會辦理內地海關所需的「暫准進口證」。申請人需要繳付申請費及呈交保證金證明。同時,申請人可選擇繳付額外費用要求香港總商會代辦暫准進口證預錄。申請人宜在申請前先了解香港總商會的保證金證明要求和收費。

申請人必須確保出發前預留足夠時間(特別在內地長假期期間相關辦事機構會暫停辦公)完成所有相關手續,以便順利按時駕車過境。為節省時間,申請人在取得封閉道路通行許可證後,可考慮同一天到「港中旅」及香港總商會辦理所需手續。

有關「港中旅」及香港總商會代內地政府機關辦理的手續可能不時更新,申請人可在辦理手續前瀏覽「港中旅」及香港總商會的網址或以電話查詢最新的安排。有關網址及查詢電話如下:

「港中旅」

網址:www.ctshk.com

電話:2998 7888   

 

香港總商會

網址:www.atacarnet.hk

電話:2823 1275 或 2823 1276       

 

注意:除粵港兩地要求的法定保險外,申請人亦應根據個人情況考慮是否需要投保其他相關保險,例如,旅遊保險、商業第三者責任險及跨境車主責任保險,以擴大保障範圍及提高保障。

_____________________________

9.以電話預留配額者只須按入香港身份證/護照號碼的數字部分,並輸入出生日期以作核對之用。

10.若以郵遞方式提出申請,則以郵戳日期為準。

11.申請人亦可以英文表格TD600A提出申請

12.必須在配額生效日期起計最少十一天內有效

13.必須在配額生效日期起計最少十一天內有效

14.如申請人已提供電郵地址

15.在配額生效日期起計

16.「港中旅」同時接受委託代購中國內地保險公司承保的「機動車交通事故責任強制保險」