Objectives
  • The introduction of the Driver Improvement Scheme (DIS) is to promote road safety and make drivers more law abiding through better understanding of their driving behaviour and attitude.  Many developed countries have introduced Driver Improvement Schemes for some years and the effect on reducing traffic accidents and make drivers a positive change in driving attitude are conspicuous. Therefore, the Transport Department has decided to start the Scheme in September 2002 and designated a number of driving improvement schools for the provision of driving improvement course with a view to enhancing safety of drivers and other road users in Hong Kong. From 9 February 2009, persons falling within the following categories shall be required to attend the driving improvement course on a mandatory basis within a specific period of time:

(i) offenders who have been convicted of serious traffic offences, such as dangerous driving and drink driving; or

(ii) traffic offenders who have accumulated 10 Driving-offence Points (DOPs) within two years.  They will be required to attend the Course for every 10 DOPs incurred.

[For the information on Mandatory Attendance of Driving Improvement Course, please click here.]

Q & As

Q1 :  Are all drivers allowed to attend the driving improvement course?
   
A1 :  All driving licence holders, except the following, may attend the driving improvement course -
   
  (i)   learner driving licence holders;
(ii)  temporary driving licence holders; and
(iii) those with Government vehicles driving licence only.
   
Q2 :  What will be the evidence of attendance and completion of a driving improvement course?
   
A2 : The driving improvement school will issue either an attendance certificate or a course certificate to a course participant after he has attended and completed a driving improvement course.  An attendance certificate will be issued if a course participant has fully attended the course and completed all assignments required thereof.  A course certificate will be issued to a course participant if he has fully attended the course and completed all assignments required thereof with satisfactory performance.
   
Q3 : What is meant by satisfactory performance?
   
A3: Satisfactory performance is defined as –
   
  (a)   having full attendance throughout the driving improvement course;
(b)   paying attention during the course;
(c)   participating actively during in-class and group discussions; and
(d)   passing all written and any practical assignments of the course.
   
Q4 : What are the conditions for deduction of driving-offence points other than satisfactory completion of the course?
   
A4 : You will be issued with a course certificate if you have fully attended a driving improvement course and completed all assignments required thereof with satisfactory performance.   In that case, 3 driving-offence points will be deducted from the total number of points you have incurred on the date you have completed the course.  Please note that no points will be deducted if, on the date of completion of course, you -
 
(i) have not incurred any points; or
(ii) have incurred 15 or more points; or
(iii)  have been deducted points from the total number of points incurred within the past 2 years.
All other enquiries regarding the issuance of advice/summons, please address to the Driving-offence Points Office, Transport Department, 3/F., United Centre, 95 Queensway, Hong Kong. (Enquiry Tel. no.: 1823)
   
Q5 : How can one enroll for a driving improvement course?
   
A5 : You may register with any one of the designated driving improvement schools for enrollment for the driving improvement course. The address and contact details of the driving improvement schools as follows:

Name of School

Address of School

Enquiry Hotline

Way of Application

The Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions
Occupational Retraining Centre Limited

5/F, Eastern Commercial Building,
397 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, HK.

2893 3112

Call enquiry hotline or visit the School for application

The Hong Kong School of Motoring Limited

Room 722, 7/F, Hollywood Plaza,
610 Nathan Road, Kln.

2384 8301

Application on-line or call enquiry hotline or visit its shop at Room 1023, Hollywood Plaza, 610 Nathan Road, Mong Kok for application

http://www.hksm.com.hk

Lee Kin Driving School Limited

Unit 1704, 17/F, Nan Fung Centre,
264-298 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, NT.

2413 6222

Application on-line or call enquiry hotline or visit the School for application

http://www.leekin.com.hk

Leinam School of Motoring Limited

Units 2 and 6, 20/F, Richmond Commercial Building, 109 Argyle Street, Mong Kok, Kln.

2780 2272

Application on-line or call enquiry hotline or visit its shop at G/F Shop B, 264 Cheung Sha Wan Road, Sham Shui Po, Kowloon

http://www.leinam.com.hk

(Application can be made in Chinese only)

   
Q6 : What are the course duration and course fee?
   
A6 : A driving improvement course is mainly divided into two sessions with total duration of not less than 7 hours.  The maximum fee to be charged by the proprietor of a driving improvement school for a driving improvement course shall be HK$1,000; and the maximum fee for the issue of an attendance certificate or a course certificate shall be HK$30.  The exact fee may however vary among schools.    Interest persons could contact the Schools for the details.
   
Q7 : Do I need to pay full course fee at the time of registration and complete the whole course in one day?
   
A7 : All Driving Improvement Schools are only allowed to collect up to 10% of the total course fee as a deposit at the time of registration.  The remaining course fee should be paid at the time you attend the course.  A driving improvement course mainly comprises two sessions.  Course participants may choose to complete the two sessions of the course in either one day or two different days.  You will be arranged to attend the course within one month from the date of your registration.  You may also request to attend the course on a date later than one month, but the date so requested must not be later than two months from the date of registration.  If you do not attend the course as scheduled, your deposit paid may be forfeited by the school.
   
Q8: Can I switch to another school for session 2 of the course after completion of session 1 at a school?
   
A8 : Yes. You may choose to discontinue attendance at a school after completing session 1 of the course and re-register with any other driving improvement school for the continuation of the course by presenting the attendance record which you have received from the previous school.  The re-registration should be completed within 2 months from the date of issue of the attendance record of the previous school.
   
Q9 : Is there any time frame for those ordered by the court to attend and complete a driving improvement course? Can one apply for an extension?
   
A9 : Those receiving court orders should, at their own costs, attend and complete a driving improvement course according to the period ordered by the court (generally within 3 months after the date on which the court makes the order but may vary for cases involving disqualification of driving licence and / or imprisonment or detention). If a person is not able to comply with the order, he/she may make an application for extension in writing to the court or magistrate which made the order. If it is considered that he is not able to comply with the order with reasonable excuse, the judge or magistrate may extend the period of 3 months for such period as they considers appropriate. Please note that a person is liable on conviction to a fine of $10,000 and to imprisonment for 2 months if he fails to comply with the order without reasonable excuse.
[For the details on the Obligatory Attendence of Driving Improvement Course Notice issued by Commissioner for Transport, please click here.]
   
Q10 : A person has just committed a traffic offence which may lead to the total driving-offence points to 15 points or above.  Would 3 points be deducted if he/she completes a driving improvement course prior to incurring the driving-offence points from the aforesaid traffic offence?
   
A10 : Yes, 3 points would be deducted if, on the day of completion, the person has not yet incurred 15 points or above.
   
Q11 : After completing the Driving Improvement Course as required, can I get back my driving licence immediately from the Transport Department?
   
A11 : After you have completed the Driving Improvement Course, the school needs to consolidate the course-end assessment result and submit it together with the attendance record to Transport Department (TD) for further processing. As such, if you are disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving licence and ordered to attend the Course, upon the expiry of your disqualification and completion of the Course, you may get back your driving licence at Driving Licence Records Office at least 5 working days after the school issues the Driving Licence Improvement Course Certificate to you. If your driving licence has already expired after the completion of your disqualification period, or if you are required to attend the Course due to accumulation of 10 or more DOP during a period of 2 years, you may issue, re-issue or renew your driving licence at any of the Licensing Offices of TD at least 5 working days after the school issues the Driving Improvement Course Certificate to you.
   
Q12 : Do I need to bring and show the Driving Improvement Course Certificate to the Driving Licence Records Office or Licensing Office for getting back my driving licence?
   
A12 : For easier verification of your records, you are suggested to bring along the Driving Improvement Course Certificate for getting back the driving licence.

 

Enquiries

Enquiries about the Driver Improvement Scheme can be directed to 1823 Call Centre or in writing to the Driving Services Section, Transport Department, 19 Pui Ching Road, Homantin, Kowloon.

Please note that underpaid mail items are subject to surcharge by Hongkong Post. This department will not accept underpaid mail items, which will be returned to the sender or disposed of by the Hongkong Post. For proper delivery of your mail items to the department, and to avoid unnecessary delivery delay or unsuccessful delivery, please ensure your mail items bear sufficient postage with return address before posting. [Please note details about postage]

The above is a general guide.  The relevant legislation is set out in the Road Traffic Ordinance.

目的
  • 運輸署推行駕駛改進計劃,旨在加深駕駛人士對自己的駕駛態度及行為的了解,從而推廣道路安全意識及鼓勵駕駛人士遵守交通條例。其實,很多先進國家已於多年前推行駕駛改進計劃,並發現該計劃確實有助於減少交通意外及改進駕駛人士的駕駛態度。故此,運輸署決定於 2002 年 9 月正式推行駕駛改進計劃,並指定數間駕駛改進學校提供駕駛改進課程,以加強保障駕駛人士及其他道路使用者的安全。由 2009 年 2 月 9 日起,以下類別人士須於限期內 強制 修習駕駛改進課程:

(i) 因嚴重交通違例事項 ( 例如危險駕駛及酒後駕駛等) 被定罪者;或

(ii) 因違反交通規例於兩年內在違例駕駛記分制度下累積被記十分者。每被記滿十分,即須修習該課程一次。

[有關「強制修習駕駛改進課程」的資料,請按此進入]

駕駛改進計劃的常見問題

問1: 是否所有駕駛人士均可修習駕駛改進課程?
   
答1: 除了以下人士,所有駕駛執照持有人均可修習駕駛改進課程:
   
  (甲)     學習駕駛執照持有人;
(乙)     臨時駕駛執照持有人;及
(丙)     只持有政府車輛駕駛執照的人士。
   
問2: 駕駛人士於修習及完成駕駛改進課程後,會收到什麼證明文件?
   
答2: 駕駛改進學校會發出修習證書或課程證書予修習及完成駕駛改進課程的學員。若學員修畢整個課程及完成所有習作,便會獲發修習證書。若學員修畢整個課程及完成所有習作,而表現令人滿意,便會獲發課程證書。
   
問3: 何謂表現令人滿意?
   
答3: 甲.   出席課程的全部課堂;
乙.   留心聽課;
丙.   積極參與課堂和小組討論;及
丁.   課程的所有書面習作及任何實習均取得及格成績。
   
問4: 除了要於課程中表現令人滿意之外,學員還需要符合什麼條件才能獲扣減違例駕駛記分?
   
答4: 若你修畢整個課程及完成所有習作,而表現令人滿意,便會獲發課程證書。而於你完成課程當日,便可從你的違例駕駛記分總分中扣減 3 分。不過,以下人士不會獲扣減違例駕駛記分:
   
 
(甲) 於完成駕駛改進課程當日,並未有任何累積的違例駕駛記分;或
(乙)  於完成駕駛改進課程當日,其違例駕駛記分總分已達 15 分或以上;或
(丙)   於兩年內其違例駕駛記分總分已曾獲扣減。

有關發出違例駕駛記分通知書或傳票的任何疑問,可致函香港金鐘道 95 號統一中心 3 樓運輸署違例駕駛記分辦事處或致電政府熱線 1823 查詢。

   
問5: 市民報讀駕駛改進課程的手續為何?
   
答5: 有興趣的駕駛人士可前往任何一間指定的駕駛改進學校,報名參加駕駛改進課程。指定駕駛改進學校的地址及查詢電話如下:

學校名稱

學校地址

查詢電話

報名方法

工聯會職業再訓練中心有限公司

香港灣仔軒尼詩道397號東區商業大廈5

2893 3112

致電查詢電話或親身前往該學校報名

香港駕駛學院有限公司

九龍彌敦道610
荷李活商業中心7722

2384 8301

網上報名或致電查詢電話或親身前往彌敦道610號荷李活商業中心10樓1023室報名

http://www.hksm.com.hk

李健駕駛學校有限公司

新界荃灣青山公路264-298
南豐中心171704

2413 6222

網上報名或致電查詢電話或親身前往該學校報名

http://www.leekin.com.hk

利南駕駛學校有限公司

九龍上海街638號旺角海景中心15

2780 2272

網上報名或致電查詢電話或親身前往校址或深水埗長沙灣道264號(欽州街交界)地下B鋪或土瓜灣靠背壟道121號(落山道交界)富裕閣地下F鋪報名

http://www.leinam.com.hk

   
問6: 駕駛改進課程的課程時間及收費為何?
   
答6: 駕駛改進課程主要分為兩節,合共不少於 7 個小時。駕駛改進學校東主就一項駕駛改進課程所收取的最高費用為港幣 1,000 元;及發出一份修習證書或一份課程證書的最高費用為港幣 30 元。但不同學校的收費會略有不同。有興趣的駕駛人士,可親身或致電駕駛改進學校查詢有關資料。
   
問7: 學員在完成第 1 節的課程後,可否轉往另一間駕駛改進學校上第2 節的課程?
   
答7: 可以。在完成第 1 節之後,你可選擇不在同一間駕駛改進學校繼續上第2 節的課程。你可前往另一間駕駛改進學校,註冊報讀第 2 節的課程。在登記時,你必須出示先前一間學校所發出的修習記錄。而你亦須於修習記錄發出後的兩個月內重新登記。
   
問8: 如受法庭命令參加駕駛改進課程的人士,是否須在一定的限期內修習及完成整個課程?上述期限可否延長?
   
答8: 那些受法庭命令參加駕駛改進課程的人士,須根據法庭命令要求的期限內(一般情況下為發出命令後的 3 個月內,惟涉及被法庭取消持有駕駛執照或/及被判服一段監禁或拘留刑期的個案則可能除外)自費修習及完成整個課程。如該人士未能遵照法庭的命令,他 / 她可以書面提出理由,向發出該命令的法庭或地方法院申請延期。如申請的理由被接納,法官會延長有關的限期。倘若有關人士未有遵照法庭的命令修習及完成課程而又未能提出合理原因,一經定罪最高刑罰是罰款港幣 10,000 元及監禁 2 個月。

[有關由運輸署署長所發出的「強制性修習駕駛改進課程通知書」的資料,請按此處]
   
問9: 某人觸犯一項交通規例,一經定罪可能導致其違例駕駛記分總分達至 15 分或以上,倘若他於定罪前即時參加駕駛改進課程,會否獲扣減 3 分?
   
答9: 如上面第 4 條問題的答案中所述,如在完成駕駛改進課程當日,他的違例駕駛記分總分仍未滿 15 分或以上,便可從他的違例駕駛記分總分中獲扣減 3 分。
   
問10: 我已按要求完成了修習駕駛改進課程,是否可以即時從運輸署取回我的駕駛執照?
   
答10: 你在完成修習駕駛改進課程後,學校需要整理課後評核試成績及將其與出席紀錄一起呈交運輸署作進一步處理。因此,如你被法庭判令取消持有或領取駕駛執照的資格及修習和完成駕駛改進課程,當你被取消駕駛資格的期限屆滿後,你應待學校發出駕駛改進課程證書日起計至少5個工作天後,才可到運輸署駕駛執照記錄辦事處取回你的駕駛執照。如在取消駕駛資格的期限後,你的駕駛執照已到期,或你是因在兩年內記滿10分或以上而須修習和完成駕駛改進課程,你亦應待學校發出駕駛改進課程證書日起計至少5個工作天後,才可到運輸署牌照事務處申請發出、重新發出或續發駕駛執照駕駛執照。
   
問11: 我到駕駛執照記錄辦事處或牌照事務處取回駕駛執照時,要否需要帶備及出示駕駛改進課程證書?
   
答11: 本署建議你帶同駕駛改進課程證書作證明以取回駕駛執照,以便本署核對你的資料。

 

查詢

如欲查詢有關駕駛改進計劃的詳情,請致電 1823 電話中心或致函九龍培正道 19 號運輸署駕駛事務組。

請注意,若郵件郵資不足,香港郵政會收取欠資及相關費用。本署不會接收郵資不足的郵件,有關郵件將由香港郵政退回寄件人或予以銷毀。為確保郵件能妥善送達本署,並免卻不必要的派遞延誤或失誤,請切記投寄郵件前支付足額郵資及註明回郵地址。[請參閱郵費的詳情]

以上所述,只是一般指引,相關的法例請參閱道路交通條例。