Requirement of Proof of Address

This information page provides guidelines and information on renewal of driving instructor's licence and is targeted for those who have already held a driving instructor's licence. The Transport Department will announce details when applications for new driving instructor's licences are invited.

Requirements for renewal of a driving instructor's licence

  • Holding a valid full driving licence for the vehicle class(es) in the authorized group(s) of the driving instructor's licence
  • Have not been convicted of an offence under Section 36 (Causing death by dangerous driving) or Section 39 (Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of drink or drugs) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) since the driving instructor's licence was issued

How to apply for a renewal?

  • Complete an application form TD557; and
  • Submit it to any Licensing Office.

What to bring?

  • Hong Kong Identity Card or an alterative identity document e.g. passport
  • Payment for driving instructor's licence

Validity period of driving instructor's licence

  • A driving instructor's licence is valid for one year and may be renewed at any time during the 4 months before expiry. However, licences which have expired for a period exceeding 3 years are not renewable.
  • Licence renewed within 15 days after the date of its expiry is to become effective from the date of expiry.
  • Licence renewed after 15 days of its expiry is to be effective from the date of renewal.

How to obtain application forms

Application forms for driving instructor's licence are available at all Licensing Offices of the Transport Department, various District Offices' public enquiry service centres as well as post offices. Application forms can also be obtained by facsimile through the Transport Department's customer service hotline 2804 2600 or downloaded from the Transport Department's website.

Submission of applications

In person / By agent

  • Applications for driving instructor's licence may be submitted in person or through agent. Your agent should produce photocopy of your identity document for authentication and is also required to produce his identity document.

By post

  • Applications may be submitted by post to the Kwun Tong Licensing Office at P.O. Box 68115, Kowloon East Post Office, Kowloon. If your application is in order, the new driving instructor's licence will be sent to you by registered post within 10 working days upon receipt of application. Enquiries may be made to the Kwun Tong Licensing Office at 2349 0200.
  • The relevant application forms should be duly completed, signed and forwarded together with the appropriate fee and relevant supporting documents. Please do not send cash by post. Crossed cheque/cashier order should be made payable to either "The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" or "The Government of the HKSAR". Please write down your name, identity document number and daytime contact telephone number on the back of the cheque/cashier order. Photocopies of Hong Kong Identity Card (or other alternative identity document) are acceptable.
  • Underpaid mail items will be rejected. For proper delivery of your mail items to the department, please ensure your mail items bear sufficient postage with return address.(Details)

By drop-box

  • Applications may also be submitted through the drop-boxes located in the Licensing Offices or specified post offices in 18 districts of Hong Kong (PDF 24 KB) (no postage is needed). Similar to the postal applications, the relevant application forms should be duly completed, signed and forwarded together with the appropriate fee and relevant supporting documents. Payment should be made by crossed cheque/cashier order and should be made payable to either "The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" or "The Government of the HKSAR". Please write down your name, identity document number and daytime contact telephone number on the back of the cheque/cashier order. Photocopies of Hong Kong Identity Card (or other alternative identity document) are acceptable.
  • If your application is in order, the new driving instructor's licence will be sent to you by registered post within 10 working days upon receipt of application.

Notes for Attention

(1)

If a change occurs in the name, address or identity document of a driving licence holder/registered owner previously provided by the driving licence holder/registered owner to the Commissioner for Transport, the driving licence holder/registered owner shall, within 72 hours of the change, notify the Commissioner for Transport in writing or by submitting the completed Transport Department Form (TD559) with the proof of change. Any person who without reasonable excuse contravenes such requirement commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $2,000. For cases of change of name or change of identity document, the driving licence holder/registered owner shall also deliver to the Commissioner for Transport the existing original driving licence (if applicable), original driving instructor's licence (if applicable), original vehicle registration document (if applicable), vehicle licence (if applicable) and Certification of Allocation of Personalized Registration Mark (if applicable) for amendment.

(2)

Applicants are required to produce proof of present address (residential address and correspondence address). Transport Department may suspend the processing of licensing applications until the production of address proof;

(3)

For any change of address notified under any Transport Deparment application form, all vehicle/driving licence records of the applicant under the same identity document held by this Department will also be changed;

(4)

Driving licence holders who apply for renewal of full driving licences, probationary driving licences or driving instructors' licences are not required to produce their existing licences. Also, those who apply for driving instructors' licences or international driving permits do not need to produce their full driving licences; and

(5)

If you have not received the licence concerned 4 weeks after the submission of your application via post or drop boxes, please inform us at 2804 2600 for follow up action.

Enquiries

Please dial the 1823 Call Centre or visit the Transport Department's website http://www.td.gov.hk for enquiries.

Addresses of Licensing Offices

地址證明的要求

本文旨在為現時已持有駕駛教師執照的人士提供續領駕駛教師執照的指引及相關資料。運輸署在接受新駕駛教師執照申請時,會公布有關詳情。

續領駕駛教師執照的要求

  • 持有你在駕駛教師執照內註明可給予駕駛訓練的車輛類別的有效正式駕駛執照
  • 自獲簽發駕駛教師執照後,未曾就《道路交通條例》(第374章)第36條(危險駕駛引致他人死亡)或第39條(在酒類或藥物影響下駕駛汽車)所訂罪行被定罪

怎樣申請續領?

  • 填妥指定表格TD557
  • 將表格交回各牌照事務處辦理

所需文件?

  • 香港身份證或其他身分證明文件(例如護照);
  • 應繳駕駛教師執照費用
  • 四十毫米闊x五十毫米高的正面全新近照一張,照片的背景應無任何裝飾,頭部不可戴帽或類似的其他物品 (只適用於私人駕駛教師執照申請人)。

駕駛教師執照的有效期

  • 駕駛教師執照的有效期為一年,你可於執照有效期屆滿前四個月內,或執照屆滿日起計三年內任何時間續領。如執照有效期屆滿超過三年,則不得續領。
  • 在執照屆滿後十五日內續領的新執照將於先前執照屆滿當日起生效。
  • 在執照屆滿期十五日後續領的新執照將於續領日起生效。

索取申請表格

你可向運輸署各牌照事務處、各區民政事務處諮詢服務中心及郵政局索取駕駛教師執照的申請表格,你亦可以透過運輸署顧客服務熱線2804 2600索取傳真表格或在運輸署網頁 下載表格。

交回申請辦法

親自或由代理人代為遞交

  • 你可親自或由代理人代為遞交駕駛教師執照的申請。你的代理人須出示你的身分證明文件副本以供核實身分。

郵遞申請

  • 你可將填妥的申請表格 寄交東九龍郵政信箱68115號運輸署觀塘牌照事務處。如果你的申請符合規定,本署會在收到申請後,於十個工作天內將新的駕駛教師執照以掛號信寄回給你。查詢請電2349 0200與觀塘牌照事務處聯絡。
  • 申請表格必須清楚填妥及簽署,並連同應繳費用及有關的證明文件一併寄出。請勿郵寄現金,寄出的劃線支票/ 銀行本票須註明支付「香港特別行政區政府」,並在支票/ 銀行本票背面寫上你的姓名、身分證明文件號碼  及日間聯絡電話。身分證(或其他認可的身分證明文件) 的影印本可予接納作核對之用。
  • 郵資不足的信件將不獲接收。為使郵件能妥善送達本署,請確保郵件貼上足夠郵資及註明回郵地址。(詳情

投遞申請

  • 你亦可利用設於運輸署各牌照事務處的投遞箱或全港18 區指定郵政局內特設的投遞箱 (PDF 68KB) ( 毋須貼上郵票)遞交申請。一如郵遞申請,申請表格必須清楚填妥及簽署,並連同應繳費用及有關的證明文件一併投遞。請勿於投遞的申請書內附上現金。劃線支票/ 銀行本票 須註明支付「香港特別行政區政府」,並在支票/ 銀行本票背面寫上你的姓名、身分證明文件號碼  及日間聯絡電話。身分證(或其他認可的身分證明文件) 的影印本可予接納作核對之用。
  • 如果你的申請符合規定,本署會在收到申請後,於十個工作天內將新的駕駛教師執照以掛號信寄回給你。

注意事項

(1) 如任何駕駛執照持有人/ 登記車主先前向運輸署署長提供其姓名、地址或身分證明文件 有所改變,他/ 她須在改變出現後72 小時內以書面或遞交已填妥的運輸署表格(TD559) ,將有關改變通知運輸署署長。任何人無合理辯解而違反此規定,即屬犯罪,可處罰款港幣2,000 元。如屬姓名的改變或身分證明文件的改變,駕駛執照持有人/ 登記車主亦須將現有的駕駛執照正本(如持有) 、駕駛教師執照正本(如持有) 、車輛登記文件正本(如持有) 、車輛牌照(如持有) 及自訂登記號碼分配證明書(如持有)送交運輸署署長,以作修改。
(2) 申請人在提交各類牌照申請時需出示其現時地址的證明(住址及通訊地址)。運輸署在收到申請人的地址證明前,可暫停處理該等申請
(3) 所有在本署以你的身分證明文件號碼登記的車輛牌照或駕駛執照的記錄,會根據你在運輸署表格內填報的地址而同時更改;
(4) 由二○○七年五月十九日起,申請續領正式駕駛執照、暫准駕駛執照或駕駛教師執照的人士,無須出示他們現有的駕駛執照,而申請駕駛教師執照或國際駕駛許可證者,亦無須出示他們的正式駕駛執照;以及
(5) 如你經郵寄或投遞箱遞交申請後四個星期仍未收到有關執照,請致電2804 2600與我們聯絡,以便作出跟進。


查詢

如有查詢,可致電 1823 電話中心或瀏覽運輸署網頁http://www.td.gov.hk

牌照事務處地址