The twelve tunnels in Hong Kong continue to play an important role in the internal movements of people and goods. Government owns seven road tunnels, namely the Lion Rock Tunnel, Aberdeen Tunnel, Airport Tunnel, Shing Mun Tunnels, Tseung Kwan O Tunnel, Cheung Tsing Tunnel and Cross Harbour Tunnel. These seven government tunnels are managed and operated by private companies under management contracts awarded by Transport Department.

The other four tunnels, namely the Eastern Harbour Crossing, Western Harbour Crossing, Tate’s Cairn Tunnel and Tai Lam Tunnel, were built by private sector under “build, operate and transfer” franchises and are operated by private companies.

The Discovery Bay Tunnel Link was built by private sector under “build and operate” arrangement and is operated by private company.

The Lantau Link is the only toll road in Hong Kong. It comprises the Tsing Ma Bridge, Ma Wan Viaduct and the Kap Shui Mun Bridge. This toll road is a strategic link between the Chek Lap Kok Airport and the rest of Hong Kong.

| Home | Section 1 | Section 2 | Section 3 | Section 4 | Section 5 | Section 6 | Section 7 | Section 8 | Section 9 |

© Copyright 2005 Transport Department. All Rights Reserved