Section 1Transport Infrastructure

Existing Transport Infrastructure and That Under Planning

Existing Transport Infrastructure

The existing major road infrastructure and railway networks as at the end of 2019 is shown in Figures 1 and 2 respectively.

Major Road and Railway Infrastructure Projects

The major road infrastructure proposals on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon and the New Territories as at the end of 2019 are shown in Figure 3. Details of major road projects under construction and planning are given in Tables 1.1 and 1.2 respectively. The information on those railway projects under construction is provided in Table 1.3.

The widening of Fanling Highway between Tai Hang and Wo Hop Shek Interchange was completed in August 2019. The Central – Wan Chai Bypass and Island Eastern Corridor Link accomplished Stage 1 commissioning on 20 January 2019 and full commissioning on 24 February 2019.

Heung Yuen Wai Highway (the section between Fanling Highway and Sha Tau Kok Road, and that between Sha Tau Kok Road and Liantang/Heung Yuen Wai Boundary Control Point) was completed and opened to traffic on 26 May 2019.

Major road projects under construction include Tuen Mun – Chek Lap Kok Link (Northern Connection), Tseung Kwan O – Lam Tin Tunnel, Cross Bay Link in Tseung Kwan O, Central Kowloon Route, Hiram’s Highway Improvement Stage 1, Widening of Tai Po Road (Sha Tin Section) and Trunk Road T2 and Cha Kwo Ling Tunnel. Besides, major road projects under planning include Tuen Mun Western Bypass, Fanling Bypass, Hiram’s Highway Improvement Stage 2, Widening of Castle Peak Road – Castle Peak Bay, Widening of Western Section of Lin Ma Hang Road (between Ping Yuen River and Ping Che Road), Widening of Tsuen Wan Road, Trunk Road T4 in Sha Tin and Route 11 (between North Lantau and Yuen Long).

The 17 km Shatin to Central Link (SCL) is a new rail link between Tai Wai and Central through South East Kowloon. It is a territory-wide strategic railway project linking up several existing and future railways. Upon completion of the SCL, two strategic railway corridors - the "East West Corridor” (or named as Tuen Ma Line) and the "North South Corridor" - will be formed. The SCL has ten stations, namely Tai Wai Station, Hin Keng Station, Diamond Hill Station, Kai Tak Station, Sung Wong Toi Station, To Kwa Wan Station, Ho Man Tin Station, Hung Hom Station, Exhibition Centre Station and Admiralty Station. The construction of the SCL commenced in July 2012. The target commissioning of the full Tuen Ma Line and the “Hung Hom to Admiralty Section” of the SCL is by end 2021 and the first quarter of 2022 respectively.

To further develop the railway network in Hong Kong to facilitate the daily commute of the public and promote district development, we will continue to invest resources in implementing the new railway projects recommended under the Railway Development Strategy 2014. Having considered the urgency and the potential of housing development that might be brought about by these projects, the Government would invite the MTR Corporation Limited (MTRCL) to commence detailed planning and design for the Tung Chung Line Extension, Tuen Mun South Extension and Northern Link in the coming year, so that work on these three railway projects could commence as early as possible. The Government is actively following up relevant issues with MTRCL, and will consult the public on the new railway schemes after confirming their details. The taking forward of individual railway projects is still subject to the outcome of detailed engineering, environmental and financial studies relating to each project, as well as updated assessment of passenger transport demand and availability of resources at the time. Details of the Railway Development Strategy 2014 can be found at the following website of the Transport and Housing Bureau:

Go Top